We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved everything about the Marina Motel!”
Review of Marina Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina Motel
Ranked #93 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Campbell, California
1 review
“Loved everything about the Marina Motel!”
Reviewed May 13, 2010

I Just loved everthing about the Marina Motel, My daughter and I stayed one night for Mother's day, we wanted a place where we could take our pets, our room had the kitched, we made a wonderful pasta meal, walked to the near by very clean beach with our dogs, perfect Mother's day weekend!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soup101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    244
    72
    38
    26
See reviews for
160
255
27
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cloppenburg, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2010

We definitly recommend the Marina motel for SF travelers. It`s a very pretty motel from the 1930`s, and the owners did a very good work on the re-newing. They saved the original architecture. The yard got elegant wall painting with lots of well-cut trees and flowers. The rooms got the furniture that reminds to the 1930`s.

The area is safe, also we saw a few junkies and homeless walking around (what seems to be typical in every part of SF !?) Especially Chestnut Street is a good place for dining and shopping.

The owner is very nice. She gave us some good advise what to do and where to go. Do the bike tour over the bridge to sausalito.

No Breakfast, but all the facilities are in the neighbourhood. There is a main street in front of the Motel. We got a room in the backyard and it was quiet at night.

All in all it is a interesting place different to all the modern spa & restaurants hotels.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2010

I almost opted for a boutique hotel, but after much searching and reviews, I made plans to stay at the Marina Motel. The room is small, but it has a nice sized bathroom, is dog friendly, and perfectly located on Lombard Street-wlaking distance to parks, the Presidio and many restaurants. The units are newly renovated plus free parking is available, the decor has personality that is tasteful and in keeping with the motel era. Beautiful courtyard and friendly staff-if I come back to San Francisco again, I am staying here-no question.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kagendron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Murieta, California
2 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2010

I wish that I could give this cute place a great review. It's very sweet with charming flowers, nice help and clean, comfortable old style rooms. If only it were in located someplace quiet AND if only someone was on the premises to help out from 12am to 8pm. That was over all the biggest deal.
Pro's: Great SF location travel and walking wise. Cute. Micro and Fridge. Free Parking.

Cons: No help, pet smells, bright floodlights making it impossible to keep window open at night, no theromostat (read: FRYING hot radiator that did not respond to OFF), LOUD all night street traffic (like a freeway) that ear plugs didn't help and howling, barking dog at this pet friendly hotel.

We had to leave at 1am because there was no way any of us were going to get any sleep. Plus, there was no one to call! Nobody at the desk to help out. :( Also, it's an open court motel. What if there was a security issue. Sorry Marina Motel - you're going to have to get all night help. Hopefully, they will be sensible and refund half our money.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pingtheduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belen, new mexico
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2010

i have been visiting san francisco at least once a year since
1996. i lived there for two years in 1970-71 and have never
lost my love for this amazing city.

in 1996, on a whim i took a long 5 day weekend to san franciso
and discovered the marina motel in one of those tourist brochures
with savings coupons. i have been staying there on every trip since
that first one. the rates are very reasonable at
all times of the year and really quite low if you are traveling during
the off season (winter in SF is warmer than summer).

the motel is just south of the golden gate bridge so you can head
over to mill valley or out to the wine country. there is free parking in
private garages. you are only one block from the bus line
(san francisco has wonderful public transit) and chestnut street
just to the north has restaurants, small family owned stores and
cafes for coffee and croissants in the morning before you head out.
you are only a few blocks from the bay and a few miles from
fisherman's wharf (ok... touristy, but fun for brunch).

cow hollow (who knows where that name comes from, nary a cow
to be seen) has numerous art galleries and small boutiques and
can easily eat up an afternoon.

the owner has been upgrading the building as long as i have
been going there. the central courtyard is full of beautiful murals
and flowers in pots and the atmosphere is european (ok... what
i think europe would be like if i could afford to go there).

some of the rooms have kitchens so you can cook meals. almost
all the rooms surround the courtyard though there are 3-4 that face
directly on lombard. (they are noisier but a little cheaper).

during my stays i have met a many people from europe, south
america, australia which is (for me) great fun since i am unlikely
to travel there. too much effort for me. i just want a lot of relaxation
on vacation, not to spend 5 days traveling and 5 days vacationing.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EugeneDanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2010

I have been recommending the Marina Motel to my clients and friends for years. The place was built over 70 years ago by the son of a California Gold Rush miner and it is by far the cutes place to stay while visiting San Francisco. I recommend renting one of the little apartments with kitchens if you are going to be there for a three days or more.
The kitchens are fully equipped with even wine glasses. Most of the rooms are nestled
around a Meditteranean courtyard with flowers everywhere, painted murals on the walls and even a wall fountain. All the rooms I have stayed in are very nice and extremely clean.
This is not a "Motel 6" but has more of a "boutique Motel" feel.
I have seen the same housekeepers and front desk staff there for several years now and everyone has always been super friendly and helpful. Just around the corner from the motel is Chestnut Street, where you can catch the #30 bus, a bite to eat at one of the
side-walk cafes or do some shopping in one of the boutiques or even Pottery Barn. When the weather is nice,it's nice to walk down to Chrissy Fields beach to watch the wind surfers and kite sailors. I love being in a "real" San Francisco neighborhood
and when I feel like going to the tourist ghettos of Fisherman's Wharf or Union Square, I
just hop on the #30 bus and in just five minutes I am at the Wharf, 15 min to Chinatown
and about 25 min to Union Square.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SethJSlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verdi
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2010

The Marina Motel is a quaint 1930's vintage motor court. Beautiful flowers all around the rooms. The rooms are all remodeled and each one is different. This is NOT a Holiday Inn. The windows open so you can get a nice cool breeze through the room. There is no A/C, but it is not usually needed in SF. The owner is onsite and cares about the property and the guest's stay. Pets are allowed. Close to the Marina and Chrissy field. Beautiful area to walk your dog.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHBVerdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#138 of 228 in San Francisco
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#114 of 228 in San Francisco
487 reviews
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#84 of 228 in San Francisco
681 reviews
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#37 of 228 in San Francisco
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Motel

Property: Marina Motel
Address: 2576 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel in San Francisco, California Founded by the son of a Calfornia Gold Rush miner, the Marina Motel was built to celebrate the opening of the Golden Gate Bridge in the late 1930's. Designed as one of San Francisco’s first “motor-hotels” for the dawning of the automobile age, each room in this quaint Mediterranean-style motel has a private garage beneath the rooms, (courtyard garages are subject to size restrictions so guest are directed by the front desk to choose a garage that best fits their vehicle). Our 36 guestrooms and three suites are uniquely decorated with warm, stylish touches to make you feel at home. Our quaint courtyard, surrounded by colorful cascading flowers and a cobblestone driveway, offers a relaxing place to chat with friends. Flower boxes overflowing with fragrant blossoms adorn the windows adding European cottage charm. San Francisco’s top attractions are located within walking distance or a short bus ride from the Marina Motel The Marina Motel is still family-owned and operated today by the original owner’s granddaughter. For the past 70 years the Marina Motel has provided a beautiful and friendly place to stay while visiting San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Marina Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Motel San Francisco
Marina Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing