We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the "Old Times" Motel!”
Review of Marina Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marina Motel
Ranked #94 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Loved the "Old Times" Motel!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I really liked the "old times" motel very much. Everything was clean and nice. I liked the garage room and safety. We enjoyed to eat in the kitchen and they did have some glassware, dinnerware, silverware, utensils , toaster, microwave, refrigerator and oven. I loved the beautiful painted outside walls and fresh gardens. That motel is really worth it! Also, We walked to the Fine Art museum, bus, and to see the Golden Gate Bridge. Not very far ~ just about 5 to 8 blocks.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wshws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    245
    72
    38
    26
See reviews for
161
257
27
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Block Island, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Right off one of the busiest thoroughfares headed to the Golden Gate Bridge, you enter a private world: flowers, cobblestones, separate one-car garages with rooms above, a warm and hospitable staff and municipal buses close by that will take you to all the sights, just tell the driver where you want to go and if he doesn't go that way, he'll tell you which bus will get you there. The Marina Motel's website tells the story so you won't be misled thinking there's room service and a foil-wrapped chocolate on your pillow.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room on the interior court and not one overlooking Lombard Street
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Douglas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This place was recommended by a local San Franciscan and I didn't expect too much as the price was great. The motel and their staff were excellent with a beautiful courtyard, old growth trees and flowers in the courtyard and a garage to park your car. The Motel was built in the late 1930's and has a New Orleans type of feel. Restaurants and coffee shops are within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed only for 2 nights, a quick trip. Accomadation in san fran is expensive so I had to have a good look, came upon this beautiful motel on lombard street. Set in a flower filled courtyard, individual units all different. Self contained units with kitchens. It was so quaint and a reasonable price. I had booked a room with a king bed and kitchen, but upon arrival I checked to see if I could change to a twin room. This was no problem and I was soon settled in to number 31. It had twin queens, tv, bathroom free wifi. It was decorated like spanish themed homes. It was unusual and so warm and cosy. Located on lombard steet, u can get the bus outside, it takes you to the golden gate bridge in less than 10mins. If u walk for a good while u reachbthe crooked street its at the other end of this street. U can take the num 25 bus to the wharf and pier 39. Alcatraz cruises leave from there and u have the great shops and restaurants there too. Dont miss out on the seal lions basking in the sun at the pier. The motel is just lovely, each unit has a car port, very handy indeed. Will rtn here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dublingirl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I travel to San Francisco on business several times each year. My company is located in the Presidio and my usual hotel was full so I decided to stay at the Marina Motel for 5 nights earlier this month. The first thing I would like to say is how very friendly and helpful every employee was, from the front desk staff to the maintenance and housekeeping staff. Unfortunately, the motel itself didn't give them much to work with. The motel is very aged and the rooms are incredibly small. The entryway was very narrow and I couldn't open the closet door without closing the bathroom door first. There was no heat in the bathroom and the sole radiator in the room was small, hidden in the far corner of the bedroom and didn't put out enough heat, even at the highest setting to adequately warm the bedroom let alone the bathroom. It also seemed that there were long periods of time when the heat must have been turned off as no matter how high I turned it, no heat came out.

I brought the normal electronic devices with me - a laptop, smartphone and Nook. However, the room had only two outlets with a web of extension cords that were already taken by lamps, the TV, mini-fridge, etc. To plug in my devices I had to dig around under the night stand and unplug the clock radio or coffeemaker to plug them in. The room didn't have a desk or work area and using my laptop in the evening proved difficult and uncomfortable. The mini-fridge was a nice touch and included in the price of the room. However, it was positioned in a corner and opened in such a way that to get the door opened, I had to move the one chair in the room out of the way. Oh, and there wasn't an ice bucket or ice machine anywhere to be found. After I asked at the front desk, I was told they could fill an ice bucket for me and I could carry it across the courtyard to my room when I wanted ice. Not very convenient.

The bathroom was very hard to use effectively. There was no counter for my toiletries. There was a medicine cabinet over the sink but the shelves were so narrow that none of my travel-size toiletries could be stored vertically. There also weren't any tissues in the room. Thank goodness I'd packed a travel sized box that I could use during the week. The last straw was when the toilet backed up the first night. The maintenance staff had gone home but the front desk attendant came right up to plunge it. He was very sweet but managed to flood the bathroom floor before he was able to fix the toilet.

If you are looking for a bargain room in a nice location and don't expect much in return, this is definitely the motel for you. However, if you are a business traveler like me, you can do much better at the same price. I suggest the Cow Hollow Motor Inn 3 blocks down. They actually charge less for their rooms and are much, much nicer. Book early though as they fill up quickly on busy weeks.

Room Tip: My room was in the courtyard and it was very quiet. Do not say in a room that fronts Lombard Street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jasgld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed already in October 2013 for 3 nights and now for another 2 nights at the Marina Motel. The location is perfect, within a few walking minutes you have lots of great restaurant options (open for breakfast till dinner). The Motel is nicely decorated and the rooms are good, with comfortable beds and enough space. Both times we had courtyard rooms, so we had quiet nights and a good sleep. The Motel is also not too far from the airport and for us a perfect choice (price-value), if we visit San Francisco.

Room Tip: Courtyard room - 2 double beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skuld_Kersten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

A really nice motel. On main road so noisy. If we could have had one of the rooms in the courtyard it would have been quieter. There are steps up to the room, which is above a garage. The room includes the garage. There was a full kitchen in our room. There are plenty of shops just round the corner in Chestnut Road and 3 bus stops for the Muni buses nearby.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alleng5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#83 of 229 in San Francisco
577 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#80 of 229 in San Francisco
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#37 of 229 in San Francisco
1,113 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#139 of 229 in San Francisco
213 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#31 of 229 in San Francisco
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Motel

Property: Marina Motel
Address: 2576 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel in San Francisco, California Founded by the son of a Calfornia Gold Rush miner, the Marina Motel was built to celebrate the opening of the Golden Gate Bridge in the late 1930's. Designed as one of San Francisco’s first “motor-hotels” for the dawning of the automobile age, each room in this quaint Mediterranean-style motel has a private garage beneath the rooms, (courtyard garages are subject to size restrictions so guest are directed by the front desk to choose a garage that best fits their vehicle). Our 36 guestrooms and three suites are uniquely decorated with warm, stylish touches to make you feel at home. Our quaint courtyard, surrounded by colorful cascading flowers and a cobblestone driveway, offers a relaxing place to chat with friends. Flower boxes overflowing with fragrant blossoms adorn the windows adding European cottage charm. San Francisco’s top attractions are located within walking distance or a short bus ride from the Marina Motel The Marina Motel is still family-owned and operated today by the original owner’s granddaughter. For the past 70 years the Marina Motel has provided a beautiful and friendly place to stay while visiting San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Marina Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Motel San Francisco
Marina Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing