We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (732)
Filter reviews
732 results
Traveler rating
75
248
249
92
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
248
249
92
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free parking the golden gate bridge chestnut street palace of fine arts marina district fisherman's wharf bus stop sf neighborhood walgreens bay uber
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 732 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

This was my third stay. I liked it the first two times but not anymore.
Pluses:
The free parking is nice, some covered. Room was big enough. I like the white sheets and white covers. Close to Golden gate Bridge, presidio and fisherman's wharf.
Minuses:
The floor needs updating. The bathrooms need updating.
The breakfast was pretty meager. Just coffee, bread, jam, apples and bananas.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
1  Thank Golangnggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2018

Dear Golangnggo,

Thank you for your review and your continued support of our property. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. We value your business and want all of our guests to be completely satisfied upon departure - it appears we fell a bit short with your recent stay. We are delighted to know you enjoy our free parking, premium linens and close proximity to some of San Francisco's most iconic attractions. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
La Luna Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018

We booked his hotel through the internet, having never been to San Francisco before. On arrival we found the exterior was a little grim and run down looking. Check in was quick and smooth with no problems. The room was not very spacious, and the decor was rather tired and in need of some care. We didn't get to try the breakfast as the dining area was quite small and always full when we looked. The facilities were basic and past their best, but they were functional. The hotel is on a busy road, and the rooms are not sound proofed, the traffic noise was loud and continuous, 24 hours per day. Also because of the close proximity to the bay and the misty evenings, fog horns could be heard frequently through out the night.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2018

Dear Dave J,

Thank you for your review and your comments as they help us improve for future guests. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. Lombard Street is a major road through San Francisco. We do have rooms that are not located right on the street- please ask us next time you stay with us and we will try to accommodate you. We hope you enjoyed your first time in San Francisco and hope to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,
La Luna Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

This location and free parking is great. Its an older hotel but my room was very large. If you do not like street noise be sure to ask for a quieter room. Lombard Street is very busy at all hours. Free breakfast was sparse but all the guests came. Bobby belped us with transportation to the airport. $17 for one person...a deal. Great restaurants within minutes walk.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Blondedawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2018

Dear Blondedawg,

Thank you for your review and your comments as they help our future guests. We are pleased to know you had a nice stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again the next time you are in San Francisco.

Kind regards,
La Luna Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018

So as a repeat visitor to La Luna, and knowing to get a room in the back (on the street is not good).... this solid motel with really nice staff in the marina is a good place to stay... close to the GG bridge and can walk to 100 great place to eat or drink.... wifi is iffy at best, and it's still noisy because of thin walls and loud guest.... but the rooms are clean, large and pretty comfortable, and the area is one of my favorites.

Room Tip: Off the street in the back
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markj4golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Dear markj4golf,

Thank you for your loyalty to La Luna Inn, we are happy to know you continue to have good experiences with us. We appreciate your comments regarding our staff, clean rooms and great location as it helps future guests make decisions when choosing a hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,
La Luna Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2018

The La Luna is perfectly located for a visit to SF and is a great value. The room was clean, nicely decorated and well maintained. Even had a small refer and a microwave. Parking is on-site and free, not the norm in SF. Although right on Lombard it was quiet and the bed was great. Vanity area is separate from head/shower which pleased my wife as no foggy mirror. Staying there again this week.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jmwooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2018

Dear jmwooley,

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are thrilled you had a wonderful stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. : )

Warm regards,
La Luna Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews