We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy bed and lovely staff”
Review of La Luna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Luna Inn
Ranked #159 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfy bed and lovely staff”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We've stayed at a lot of Motels on our trip and this is by far the best. We stayed for 2 nights so the rate was less. The bed was by far the most comfortable so far.
A bit furter out of town, it is quieter and not as busy. Still on a big road but all of the Motels are. The staff are very helpful and friendly. You can buy a Muni day pass (for all buses, subway and cable cars (trams) from the local Wallgreens shop from over the road. This is better than having to go in to the centre of town to buy it. The next street over - Chesnut has good shops and bars. The Presido park is within walking distance too.

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter one, away from the main road. We got number 6 which was in the corner. A bit dar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    230
    225
    83
    53
See reviews for
139
332
29
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

It's a real shame that we didn't even see the inside of this hotel... Having reserved a room over the phone earlier, we turned up after a 5 hour Amtrak ride only to be told we couldn't stay without using a credit card. Although we had more than enough cash to leave a cash deposit for the room (which, incidentally, we were not warned of beforehand), I had explained on the phone that we were having problems with our card. On the phone we were told this wouldn't be an issue and that the manager would be able to take cash, when we arrived the receptionist refused to even get the manager to discuss this, told us we couldn't stay and that we would not be able to find another hotel to stay at without a card.

I suppose it was lucky in the end though as e stayed at the WONDERFUL and charming place across the street, The Marina Motel. Everyone has bad days but please, sort your customer service out!

Room Tip: Stay at The Marina Motel instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Oliver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is an older motel that has been refurbished. The exterior looks pretty mundane. However, a bit plus, it does have free parking.

Checkin in was smooth. The room was un-remarkable. It has been re-done but some of the furnishings were a bit worse for wear. The bathroom was good. The room was on the back side of the property and faced a stairwell. All in all that was not a bad thing because the traffic on Lombard was noisy and we a light sleepers.

The beds were comfortable and the linens and towels were nice.

The continental breakfast is pretty sparce.

The best thing about the place is the location, if you want to be in the Marina area. This was our objective as we were only in San Francisco one night on our way north. We were driving and wanted to be able to park without paying an arm and a leg. We thought the hotel would be easy to get to but it proved somewhat more difficult due to construction on the 101 in the area.

A reasonable but uninspired stay.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, you may want to have a room that DOES NOT face Lombard. There is a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

- Smelly
- The door was smaller than the surrounding frame, being on a main street you feel like you are sleeping on the side of the road, bring ear plugs!
- It was pretty cheap.
- Great location with good restaurants near by.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cleo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hialeah, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel was just what we needed for our weekend stay in San Francisco. It was well located with a bus stop within walking distance. The hotel room was very clean, the duvet covers were soft and smelled good. The bed was very comfortable. The room had plenty of lighting, a refrigerator, coffee maker and television. The wifi worked well. The hotel sat in a good neighborhood with cow hollow nearby. There was a walgreens almost right acrosss the street. The front desk clerk with a british accent was very nice and helpful. The cleaning crew ladies were also very nice and did a great job cleaning the room. We left them a tip for their services. The bus stop was at Chestnut and Divisadero and took us right to Ghirardelli square where we started our sight seeing. This hotel is not super fancy but is perfect for a good night's sleep and a nice long hot shower. The breakfast was sufficient with coffee, hot chocolate, oatmeal, english muffins and toast with jelly and butter and bananas. A good enough jump start to get you moving about the city that has a lot to do. I would stay here again. You also can't beat the free parking in comparison to the rates other hotels that are more centrally located offer. I did my research planning this trip and I was satisfied with the results I got from this hotel. What I mostly care about is a clean place to stay, comfortable bed and a nice hot shower and free breakfast and parking too.

Room Tip: I thought getting the king size bed with a refrigerator was a plus because we were able to buy our o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leticia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We got to the hotel earlier than expected so our room wasn't ready to check-in but they gave us an upgrade to an available king room for FREE just so we could check into a room. We were so grateful not to have to lug all our luggage around. We were super tourists in SF and they were really helpful giving us tips on where to go and how to get around. Very friendly staff. Great location too. Bus station is around the corner to get to Fisherman's Wharf and other attractions. You can't go wrong staying here...and at $89/night plus tax, it's the best deal at the best location you'll find. We'll definitely stay here next time we're in SF...and YOU SHOULD TOO! :)

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during our California holiday trip in December 2012. What we liked was: location, free parking and internet, cleanliness of the room, the bed and the duvet (not just a blanket, but more european winter duvet...). There is a stop of the hop-on-hop-off tourist bus just a couple of blocks away, as are many nice restaurants. Also, we jogged to the Golden Gate along the bay (about 3km), and walked to Fishermans´s Whar (also about that distance).
What we were not thrilled about was: size of the room and bathroom (both quite small) and the general level of noise from the road and from the hotel itself. We did not try the breakfast, but got coffee there in the morning and took it to the room.
All in all recommendable and a good price - service - relation.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Katarina2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#143 of 229 in San Francisco
618 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#139 of 229 in San Francisco
214 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#113 of 229 in San Francisco
501 reviews
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#148 of 229 in San Francisco
549 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#134 of 229 in San Francisco
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Luna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Luna Inn

Property: La Luna Inn
Address: 2599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2503 (Formerly Pacific Motor Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Luna Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We combined smart and stylish, custom designed furnishings with just enough 1960s "Motor Inn kitsch" to create a fun, whimsical atmosphere at La Luna Inn. The interior of our guest rooms feature all custom designed furnishings, pillow-top mattresses, plush bedding, and modern amenities including flat screen TVs and wireless internet access. All in addition free parking and complimentary light continental breakfast served every morning in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Luna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Luna Hotel San Francisco
La Luna Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing