We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is about all it's got going for it”
Review of La Luna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Luna Inn
Ranked #159 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
OC California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Location is about all it's got going for it”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The surly night desk clerk gave me the first clue that this wasn't going to be a great stay. That, coupled with the undersized "first come first served" parking stalls confirmed it. I picked this place because of the location. Chestnut St is just a short walk and it was easy to find off the 101 after crossing the GG bridge.
The sparse "breakfast" was in line with the parking, first come being the cue. Getting into the room was always a challenge, and the desk staff confirmed this, many of the card locks are defective. The plumbing (always a pet peeve of mine) was antiquated, the funky toilet making multiple flushes a must. The water saver shower head made an already weak stream into a trickle, necessitating long showers to get the soap riinsed off.
TV in the room didn't work but the wifi was usually OK. The king sized bed was great.

Room Tip: get a room at the back, Lombard St can be noisy. Bring a channel Lock pliers and your own shower hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hammer997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    230
    225
    83
    53
See reviews for
139
332
29
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

It is a traditional motel better than average. Good location, near Golden Gate and many restaurants. Free breakfast is a big plus.
One suggestion, we rent a car drive from airport to La Luna following GPS. It is a heavy rain night. There is a NO LEFT TURN sign when arrived the other side of the street near La luna. The sign works only 7am-10am/3pm-7pm. But since the rain is too heavy, I didn't see the time restriction. Then I drives directly to Golden gate, paid 6 dollar in the toll without viewing any beautiful view. It tooks half an hour to the Shopping street (Market St.) since the traffic is always busy.
As other reviews mentioned, wifi is terrible (not stable, always drop and need to connect again), I am glad I only stay there for one night.

Room Tip: Better than average motel with similar price, wifi is bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlesnailwork... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 393 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

This traditional styled Motel is perfectly situated for some great local bars and restaurants, slightly out from the central shopping metropolis of San Fran, but yet only a short bus ride away. 

Arriving by car we found the free car park a bonus in a major city. Staff in the central reception building were extremely friendly, where a free PC and printer was available. WiFi was also free throughout the motel.

We took the lift to the room, via the traditional external corridors, protected by CCTV with the room having electronic door locks for increased security. 

The room was clean and spacious with large bed, writing desk with leather chair, open style clothes hanging corner, TV and clean but compact bathroom with walk-in shower (no bath). Plenty of fresh clean towels and great water pressure in the shower.

The traditional through the wall air conditioning unit was noisy, but effective.

No safe but an empty fridge and coffee facilities provided.

Clean, basic but very functional. If you want traditional USA motel style, I would recommend it. 

The acid test, yes I would return here. 

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nick_From_Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I chose this hotel as it promised parking and hotel-wide wifi, my two main requirements. I was rather disappointed when I could only get the wifi to connect when in the car park - hardly the ideal place to work from.
So, I went to reception to politely explain the problem. Maybe there was a problem with the equipment or my room was a known black spot, so I'd give the hotel a chance to fix the issue.

Imagine my surprise when my explanation of the problem was met with a "So What?" from the receptionist? Not the response I was expecting. I reiterated the point, at which point while clearly not caring at all offered to put me in touch with their technical support. The call was routed to my room and we quickly established that the wifi was not adequately powerful and I wasn't going to get any improvements in my room. I relayed this to reception but it was made clear that this wasn't considered to be a reasonable complaint.
One final surprise came when I checked out and found that I had been charged for the phone call that the receptionist made for me!

Otherwise the rooms are large and adequate for the price, but only book here if you don't mind getting charged for reporting problems. 0 points for customer service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austin_randomnumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Vancouver, Washington
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Decent, affordable, clean, large-room motel. Near nice walking area. Wireless worked fine. Free parking. BUT NO CABLE TV. I was there election week and during Hurricane Sandy and could not access any national news. I have never seen a hotel anywhere without basic cable. A real disappointment and inconvenience. Would not have stayed here if I had known.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RareBird60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitou Springs
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We three (wife, daughter and I) enjoyed our stay at La Luna Inn. Clean, comfortable and convenient. The Lombard Street re-development provides many retro restaurants and shopping venues. La Luna Inn appears to be a favorite stay for many travelers from near and far!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timcito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

we stayed at la luna for our recent SF vacation. We were first given a room that was not cleaned, they immediately gave us a new room. WiFi sucks... so dont even bother.
This hotel is pretty clean. Parking is free. Nothing fancy. we were just lokking for a place to sleep at night, and shower. if your looking for a cheap clean place to stay, this is the right place for you. they have free breakfast, (bread and butter). it is walking distance to the palace of fine arts. close enough to catch a bus to go to the wharf. every night, my husband and i would walk to Chestnut St to get food. they have a good selection of restuarants on chestnut. we enjoyed SF <3

Room Tip: not too many restuarants along Lombard, so i suggest go to Chestnut st. There is also a grocery stor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LVgirl702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#143 of 229 in San Francisco
618 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#139 of 229 in San Francisco
214 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#113 of 229 in San Francisco
501 reviews
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#148 of 229 in San Francisco
549 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#134 of 229 in San Francisco
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Luna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Luna Inn

Property: La Luna Inn
Address: 2599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2503 (Formerly Pacific Motor Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Luna Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We combined smart and stylish, custom designed furnishings with just enough 1960s "Motor Inn kitsch" to create a fun, whimsical atmosphere at La Luna Inn. The interior of our guest rooms feature all custom designed furnishings, pillow-top mattresses, plush bedding, and modern amenities including flat screen TVs and wireless internet access. All in addition free parking and complimentary light continental breakfast served every morning in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Luna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Luna Hotel San Francisco
La Luna Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing