We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True love”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Garcon

Garcon
Reserve with OpenTable
Garcon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #721 of 5,641 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Mission District
Cross street: 22nd Street
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“True love”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We live in the Bay Area where great food experiences are not just encouraged, they are expected. When it comes to restaurants, we are serial daters committed to the free-love food culture. That said, I was stunned to find that Garcon had somehow wiggled its way into my heart. We are in a committed relationship (and true to French heritage, he tolerates that I still sleep around a bit on the other side of town.)

Before I get all misty eyed, let me recount why I love Garcon. The setting: small and intimate, it feels exclusive and authentic. The bar: stellar cocktails and the best people-mingling this side of New York. The service: efficient, knowledgable, and reminiscent of the best professional waiters in France. (Yes, that's a compliment.) And the food. Oh, the FOOD!

We have never had a bad meal here. They have accommodated every request with pleasure. Gluten-free? No problem. Dairy intolerant? No problem. Egg allergy? No problem. And with all those restrictions, they didn't just deliver a bland plate of vegetables and rice. Oh, no. Every plateful was rich and wonderful and laced with seductive flavor. I am salivating over the memories. Scallops. Duck. Creme brulee. Oh my!

As I finish this review, I hope and pray that Garcon continues to deliver like this forever. Please Garcon, don't ever change. While I can't offer marriage, I really do want and need a stable restaurant relationship in San Francisco.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMcNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    29
    6
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
Level Contributor
273 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A great french bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Service and food were outstanding. Our Server, Charles from the Channel Islands, was very accommodating and knowledgeable about the food and wine. He helped us make an excellent selection of a Bordeaux. We liked all of the food we ordered including appetizers of Duck Liver Pate and Squid Ink Risotto with sauteed lobster (wonderful).
Entrees consisted of Molasses Brined Pork Tenderloin served with White Cheddar grits and the 38 North Duck plate (seared breast, leg confit). Both were excellent. We had two unusual desserts which we also loved - Cherry Beer Malt (malted gelato, cherry compote, Lambic cheery ale and cherry pie served in an ice cream sundae dish - whats not to like?) and the Dulce de Leche and Green Apple sundae. There is both an excellent cocktail list and a great wine list. Ambience is very nice with the main dining room with windows on two streets being a better choice than the darker back room. We were checked on by the owner-chef from New Orleans who has had experience there and in California Wine country. All-in-all, a very nice experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dragonrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
248 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fabulous dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

What a great meal! We had a squid risotto that was to die for...the sweetest scallops I have ever had and an heirloom tomato salad that tasted like they had just been picked. We were there on a Tuesday, which was “no corkage fee” night...,a deal. Great neighborhood spot. We had a window table and could watch the action on the street....Attentive wait staff.....will come back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReginaPhelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Flavors, attitude a bit much”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

The food was excellent--but be prepared for a hipster vibe and the attending attitude along with your dinner...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank glennkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing French Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Ended up here by accident and luckily they had a table, but we were glad we did. One of the best meals I have had in a while, great raw oysters, delicious preparation of French classics (coq au vin). Very friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely go back next time I am in SF.

Helpful?
Thank NewOrleansDrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garcon also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Garcon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing