We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #40 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fun”
Reviewed July 19, 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Monaco for 6 nights and really loved it. It has the charm and service of an inn but the size of a hotel. The room (try not to get a canopy room - too small) was very colorful and loaded with charm. They refreshed the french soaps and shampoos every day. They also had a happy hour every night with wine and cheese, complimentary neck massage and tarot card reading - really fun.

The service was really excellent - everyone was friendly and helpful. Room service was very fast too.

I just really enjoyed our stay there. Union Square is not the most charming area to stay in, but it is convenient to all modes of transportation, great for shoppers and the square always had something fun going on like live music or an art show.

Down Maiden Lane nearby was a wonderful Italian cafe with outside seating with excellent food and good music.

  • Liked — The decor and charm
  • Disliked — the jacuzzi was not working
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nuyorka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,384
    845
    258
    88
    56
See reviews for
424
1,100
149
523
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2007

We stayed in the hotel Monaco for 3 nights and overall had a good experiance.
The one down side is the small size of the rooms, a common complaint I have noticed on other reviews. The room however was clean and had everything you required.
We loved the 2 restaurants in the hotel - The Grand and Petite cafes - the petit was great for late supper after seeing a show nearby.
The location is very central to union square,cable cars and all the shopping.
The 5-6pm free wine and cheese with a free massage or tarot reading was an interesting addition.
The number of beggars in the area was noted but did not distract from the hotels location.
Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Liked — Location,Location
  • Disliked — Small rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PierroTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2007

I have stayed at nearly all of the Kimpton's boutique hotels in San Fran, and I have to say I just don't like them. Don't misunderstand me, the hotels are absolutely lovely ... quirky decor, pleasant amenities (who doesn't love having the NY Times at their doorstep in the morning?) and superb staff ... but I just can't get over the horrid location. San Fran is a beautiful city, but there is a dense population of homeless beggers who lurk in this area (Union Square / Tenderloin). It makes for an undesirable experience whenever leaving or returning to the hotel. I imagine in a few years the area will be gentrified and cleaned up, but for what the hotel charges I'm not sure it's worth enduring the wait. One other side note, the business center at the Monaco was fantastic but the work space in the rooms themselves was arguably the worst I've ever seen (wireless internet, yes, but desk space, no).

  • Liked — Decor, staff.
  • Disliked — Location! Poor work space in the rooms.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Elena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2007

I stayed at the Hotel Monaco from June 21 to 25 with my son. It was a very beautiful hotel and the photos and previous reviews were very accurate. Yes the rooms are small, but so would be any other room in New York. How much time do we really spend in our rooms anyways? We spent very little. The room and bathroom was very clean. The location was great and very close to union square. The staff were very friendly, curteous and always asking to help. The restaurant was not very good, but there are so many choices in San Fran that you shouldn't be worried. The value for the room was great. We got $125 per night. I would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Liked — decor
  • Disliked — restaurant
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetinVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2007

We felt lucky when we got this hotel on priceline for $85/night. We do not agree, however, that this is a four star hotel--more like 3 stars. No extra pillows or blankets in the closet. I got chilly at night, and the bedspread had been removed with turndown service and there were no extra blankets. Room was very, very small, considering that we got a huge room at the SF Marriott last time for $100/ngt. Hot tub was very nice and soothing, but was out of order for half our stay--disappointing. The wine and cheese from 5-7 ran out around 5:45--again disappointing. Lobby was lovely. We parked in the garage on Taylor recommended by other tripadvisors--a great deal for $18/ngt. Get your ticket validated by the hotel on check out. Dinner at the Millenium only a block from the hotel was beyond belief--we are vegans, but even my son loved it. Bed was quite comfortable, linens were high quality, no noise from neighboring rooms.

  • Liked — charming small hotel
  • Disliked — tiny room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank anon03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
2 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hotel Monaco for a 3 night stay. The location is great, the staff were really efficient and helpful, and the rooms very clean and well decorated. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting San Francisco...........

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sarniagirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2007

A beautiful, boutique hotel. Incredibly friendly, attentive staff, restored, elegant cafe', and well-appointed rooms with wonderful attention to detail. We stayed there for the first night in San Francisco, and it was a fabulous way to begin our trip and to be introduced to the city. That night, exhausted, we ordered room service, not expecting much, and shared the most delicious and well presented sandwich I have ever had without paying exorbitant prices. The ONLY drawback was that the room was a little small, and the view looked out onto a courtyard. For a longer stay, I might get a little antsy. Highly recommended for a shorter, romantic trip

  • Liked — Attention to detail. Service. Quality of food. Design and architecture.
  • Disliked — Small rooms.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidwithoutborders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 229 in San Francisco
569 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#57 of 229 in San Francisco
424 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#58 of 229 in San Francisco
4,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a turn-of-the-century building in the heart of downtown San Francisco, The Marker, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, is located just steps away from the historic beauty of Union Square. Distinct among San Francisco's lifestyle hotels, the signature warmth permeates the property from the service to the design of the interiors. Surrounded by the city's top theaters, restaurants, museums and shops, the urban boutique hotel features 208 newly renovated, vibrant and stylish guestrooms. The Marker celebrates the vibrancy of the city and the dynamism of its guests through innovative programming and thoughtful service. Guests can enjoy thoughtful special amenities including unlimited PressReader access for the digital newsstand, bicycle rentals to explore the city, in-room spa services and more. The lobby living room's plush, over-sized couches and curated local activations beckon guests to stay a while and soak in the comfortable, social atmosphere while unique programs, steeped in local authenticity, connect guests to the best of the destination. In addition, guests can enjoy the hotel's new dining concept, Tratto, a spirited bar-driven restaurant serving rustic Italian fare with modern sensibilities and casual, communal-style dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing