We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable hotel in a great location with a friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #46 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 14, 2010

I stayed at the Monaco alone for four nights on business. The location is great just a block or two from Union Square. The room was modest in size but with a very comfortable queeen bed a functional working desk. The view unfortunately was of an air shaft. Staff were extremely friendly. The Kimpton wine reception every evening from 5-6PM made one feel very much at home and was a chance to meet some fellow guests for a solo traveler. The bar was very lively every night and served a great bar menu. I was a very comfortable place to eat for a solo traveler. There was a nice exercise facility and mini spa with a very large hot tub, steam room and sauna. Massage and other spa services were available.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Discriminating_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,756)
There are newer reviews for The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,177 - 2,183 of 2,756 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2010

In town on business for one night, I chose this hotel based on TA reviews and decent rate for downtown SF (~$200 incl tax). It was my first stay but the hotel is classic Kimpton--cozy boutique. I called the hotel earlier in the day to make a late minute reservation and to see if they would match a slightly lower rate I found on a travel booking website. They matched it, no problem. When I pulled up in a taxi the doorman immediately came over to open the door and get my luggage from the trunk. Front desk service was friendly and efficient. The receptionist informed me that the wine reception would start in an hour but unfortunately I couldn't attend. I asked for a quiet room and got one on the top (seventh) floor facing inward, so absolutely no street noise. Free wifi and iPod player in the room. There was no coffee maker in the room which is unusual these days but in the morning they have free coffee and tea in the lobby along with all the major newspapers. Decent fitness room with two treadmills, etc. and they offer some spa services, like massage.

The only issue I had is that the room was quite small. I had a room with a queen canopy bed which as their website description says is 200 sq ft. (The bed would have been quite romantic for a couple but unfortunately I was traveling solo.) They list the square footage of all the rooms on their website which is good info to have--so I was forewarned. The canopy bed took up about half the floor space. There was also room for a night table, desk, lounge chair and the cabinet with TV and minibar. The canopy bed has some cushions and wall lighting and can double as a sofa. Since I was alone and wasn't in the room very much I didn't care about the size but it would be uncomfortable with more than two people in my opinion.

I liked the hotel a lot and thought the service was outstanding. I would return but only if I'm traveling by myself given the room size.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jack783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

We stayed a long weekend, visiting our daughter at city college. Wonderful, comfortable and attractive room.
We had an issue at checkout-the bellman broke the handle of the liftgate of our car, quite by accident, the result of his enthusiasm!
The manager, Mr. James Creer, helped us fill out a short form, and contacted us personally to insure all went well. We were very pleased, and hope to stay again soon at the Hotel Monaco. The restaurant was a memorable experience, too.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAMESDEENE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2010

We stayed here for three nights. Location is convenient (five minute walk to Union Square). The "Deluxe King Size" room was still small and the bed seemed smaller than king size, but everything was very, very clean and well-maintained and the mattress was super comfortable and pillows were great quality as were rest of the furnishings and amenities.... though we did wonder a little at the use of belts as decorations over the bed. The hotel itself was Kimpton at its best. Oliver the golden retriever who welcomes guests as you walk in; wine hour in the "living room" with a massage therapist from their in-house spa offering free 10-minute chair massages from 5 to 6 pm; boarding pass service (fill out the card in the room, drop it at the front desk and they'll print any airline boarding pass for you and deliver to your room); wonderfully upbeat and helpful staff (gracias, Eddie!) who seemed to genuinely want to help make your stay enjoyable (giving us cards for free glasses of wine in the hotel restaurant if we missed the wine hour -- or if we didn't); terrific restaurant recommendations (ask for the list of staff favorites); and a nice vibe all around. Would love to return!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoblanoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2010

We spent our 5 yr anniversary at the Hotel Monaco. It was very clean and the service was great. We were upgraded to a suite upon arrival and received a bottle of champagne in our room the night of our anniversary. I LOVED the bedding. It was super comfortable after a long day of walking. I had to buy goose down pillows after staying there. I probably would not stay there again based on all the walking we had to do. I would prefer to stay closer to the action. There is a great Italian restaurant one street up. Also, the view from the Cheesecake Factory on the rooftop of Macy's was a nice treat. I liked the atmosphere there as well. We ate at the Cliffhouse restaurant for our anniversary. I would highly recommend it. It sits overlooking the Pacific Ocean and the view at sunset is a memory I will cherish forever.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mana23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

The hotel is 2 blocks from Union Square where some of the hop on hop off tours start. If you can get a rate including breakfast then well worth it as breakfast is a relaxed event and a great way to start the day in san francisco. The evening drinks are also a nice touch

If you have any questions or need anything then the staff are only too happy to help.

The only downside is the size of the hotel room but at the right rate the location is right and the hotel homely

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BasherWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

My husband and I stayed here in a Junior Suite for our 5 year wedding anniversary and can't say enough great things about this hotel! We got to San Fran early and they kept our bags for us while we toured around. We were SHOCKED at the gorgeous lobby!! When we did check at 3:00 p.m. we were again SHOCKED at the beautifully decorated rooms and to our surprise we were met with a bottle of champagne and truffles!! The room was bigger than we thought it was and noone really says this on the reviews or the website, but the suite has these great window seats that we lounged in overlooking the streets/view of San Fran. The bed is super comfortable and the hotel is located amongst EVERYTHING! We walked or took $5-$8 cabs everywhere. The Grand Cafe next door is also one of the best brunches we have ever had. My husband is a chef and is very picky - but he loved the food! Great Great Great place to stay and we will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LutherFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#56 of 230 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
3,689 reviews
Union Square
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Clift Hotel San Francisco
#72 of 230 in San Francisco
3,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $204 - $763 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a turn-of-the-century building in the heart of downtown San Francisco, The Marker, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, is located just steps away from the historic beauty of Union Square. Distinct among San Francisco's lifestyle hotels, the signature warmth permeates the property from the service to the design of the interiors. Surrounded by the city's top theaters, restaurants, museums and shops, the urban boutique hotel features 208 newly renovated, vibrant and stylish guestrooms. The Marker celebrates the vibrancy of the city and the dynamism of its guests through innovative programming and thoughtful service. Guests can enjoy thoughtful special amenities including unlimited PressReader access for the digital newsstand, bicycle rentals to explore the city, in-room spa services and more. The lobby living room's plush, over-sized couches and curated local activations beckon guests to stay a while and soak in the comfortable, social atmosphere while unique programs, steeped in local authenticity, connect guests to the best of the destination. In addition, guests can enjoy the hotel's new dining concept, Tratto, a spirited bar-driven restaurant serving rustic Italian fare with modern sensibilities and casual, communal-style dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing