We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somehow just keeps getting better....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #40 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Somehow just keeps getting better....”
Reviewed January 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Monaco last year for the first time when it was one of the recommended hotels during the Modern Language Convention. This year, instead of going to the Modern Language Convention and having the opportunity to try another interesting hotel in Philadelphia, we decided to return to the Hotel Monaco. It was just that good and we had to see it they could maintain those standards. Not only were they maintained, but in my estimation, they were enhanced.
The hotel is just so cozy and comfortable, especially with the fireplace. Although the rooms can be small, they are quite well appointed. Last year I had opportunity to stay in both a smaller queen bed room and then a beautiful larger king bed room, but this year I just stayed in a smaller room and it was quite fine.
As comfortable as they hotel is, the strongest suit has to be the warm, accommodating staff. Actually, one should have very few needs while staying at the Monaco, but it comforting to sense that the staff is receptive. At the Monaco, it would be much easier to attempt to highlight someone who might not be doing a fabulous job, as opposed to listing the people who are wonderful because virtually everyone you encounter is worthy of positive notice. I must mention, though, that I remember Francess and Tim R.A. Now fondly from last year and must note that it speaks well of the hotel that they maintain such fine employees. Also Jian's positive nature and helpfulness really stood out as well.
I did notice that the previous reviewer mentioned appreciation about the Monaco being a dog friendly hotel. Actually I am not a dog person, particularly not a big dog person. Unlike last year, when there were no dogs and, as far as pets, all I heard about was the fact that goldfish are available to keep in the room, this year big dogs seemed to be ubiquitous and I could envision most of the owner's wearing invisible versions of the "dogs are the new kids" t-shirts. Even the dog business, though, does not deter me. This hotel is the best and I hope I am able to return again next year.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimi0352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gpinetti, Director of Guest Services at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2010
Dear Mimi0352,
Thank you for this excellent review! It was a pleasure to read all your positive comments. We do like to pride ourselves on the outstanding service we provide here at the Monaco. Your comments were shared with the hotel staff as an example of how great service can in-fact make more of a lasting impression then they sometimes realize! You have highlighted three excellent employees as well. Francess at our Front Desk, Tim in our Bell Department & Jian in Housekeeping continue to set the bar for our service standards. I have made sure to share your review with all three of them!
I am also glad to hear that you were able to enjoy yourself in one of our smaller room types. We do have a wide variety of different rooms and appreciate you recognizing the effort we made to make sure each room is well appointed.
We look forward to your next stay with us and are excited for the opportunity to show you how we can enhance our standards even further. Hopefully it won’t be a full year until we see you again!

Sincerely,
Greg Pinetti
Director of Guest Services
Hotel Monaco - San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,403
    855
    270
    90
    62
See reviews for
441
1,118
151
528
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
So Cal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We were referred to the Kimpton Family because we were travelling with a dog. We were delighted to hear that there was a nice hotel with a great location and that was pet friendly. The hotel far exceeded our expectations. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel was warm and inviting. The rooms were decorated nicley and were very clean. The room was a tad small but really adequate for the time we spent in the room. The morning coffee and evening wine bar made for a nice time of conversation and meeting new people. Whether guests had dogs or not people were so friendly and willing to talk!

This is a great property and we will stay there again when we return to SF. Great place and great experience!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeymourLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2009

We stayed a few nights at the Hotel Monaco at the end of our two week tour of the American South West. The highlight of the stay was that I proposed to my girlfriend while in SF, and the hotel staff (especially aptly-named Sunny) were extremely helpful in helping to create a fantastic romantic décor when we returned, including flowers, candles, champagne and chocolates.

The hotel is beautiful on its own, perfectly located in the centre of things and offering absolutely everything you could ask for (great room service etc), but with the added benefit of being a boutique hotel that really adds a special touch. They organise things like wine tastings and Wii games every day and the staff really look after you. They were able to recommend many, many great places to go visit / eat / drink that felt very personal.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jesuit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gpinetti, Director of Guest Services at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2010
Dear jesuit123,
Congratulations on your recent engagement! We are honored that you chose the Hotel Monaco for this special occasion! It is always a pleasure to have memories like this created at our hotel.
The positive comments you provided about Sunny are much appreciated. I will make sure to share this and am glad to hear she played such a great role in making your stay such a special one.
Thank you for staying with us and providing such positive feedback about your stay. We look forward to seeing you next year for your anniversary!

Regards,
Greg Pinetti
Director of Guest Services
Hotel Monaco - SF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2009

I spent one day in hotel monaco,
pro: excellent location, clean, nice, silent room, very good hotel.
minus: no free internet access,

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canneto79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2009

Had one day to see San Francisco and booked the Monaco based on Tripadvisor reviews. Turned out to be a great choice for us.

Hotel staff were quick to help, friendly and professional.

Didn't have time to partake, but took a peek into the "living room" and saw guests relaxing and enjoying the evening wine. A few kids were playing Wii on a tv set up in one area.

We were in a Junior Suite on the third floor right next to the elevators. The room was quiet, but we did hear faint hum from the elevators and from the "ding". But not enough to bother us or disrupt sleep.

We were concerned that being in a smaller hotel on a lower level we might hear a lot of street noise, but it was very faint. Overall the room was quiet and relaxing.

There were some concerns in previous reviews about the location. At least in the immediate vicinity of the hotel and walking to Union Square we felt fairly safe and it was well populated. Also walked to Gitane restaurant for dinner - very good food, interesting place.

Room was clean and nicely decorated. Bed was super comfortable! Bathroom clean and good size.

It was mentioned that the hotel allows dogs and we did see a few, but never encountered any noise or odor problems.

Overall vibe is upscale yet relaxed / friendly. Really wish we could have stayed a few more days.

Ate breakfast on Sunday in the Grand Cafe. Pretty space and delicious food. Downside was it took close to half hour to finally get the food. Probably not a good choice if you are short on time.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trvlrs5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2009

This hotel was lovely. They had board games to play in the lobby and daily free wine during happy hour. Good place for staying with several friends and relaxing with some board games and wine in the lobby.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Libregratis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany Van Horn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Loved the staff and the atmosphere at the Monaco! Very relaxing, but whimsical, with great seating areas throughout the lobby and lovely fireplaces. The wine reception at 5:00 was a great touch, and they even served hors d'oeuvre. The Grand Cafe was honestly the best food I have eaten, in a very long time and we have dined at some pretty extravagant restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel! Furthermore, great location two blocks from all the shopping!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spiff4499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gpinetti, Director of Guest Services at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2009
Dear spiff4499,

Thank you so much for this great review! We always love to hear about our guests that are able to experience the best of both worlds. It's definitely a treat to be able join us for our hosted wine reception and follow that up with a delicious meal at the Grand Cafe.

We hope you found everything you were looking for while shopping and that we will see you again before the next holiday season!

Best,
Greg Pinetti
Director of Guest Services
Hotel Monaco-San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#55 of 229 in San Francisco
455 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#37 of 229 in San Francisco
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,777 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#60 of 229 in San Francisco
4,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a turn-of-the-century building in the heart of downtown San Francisco, The Marker, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, is located just steps away from the historic beauty of Union Square. Distinct among San Francisco's lifestyle hotels, the signature warmth permeates the property from the service to the design of the interiors. Surrounded by the city's top theaters, restaurants, museums and shops, the urban boutique hotel features 208 newly renovated, vibrant and stylish guestrooms. The Marker celebrates the vibrancy of the city and the dynamism of its guests through innovative programming and thoughtful service. Guests can enjoy thoughtful special amenities including unlimited PressReader access for the digital newsstand, bicycle rentals to explore the city, in-room spa services and more. The lobby living room's plush, over-sized couches and curated local activations beckon guests to stay a while and soak in the comfortable, social atmosphere while unique programs, steeped in local authenticity, connect guests to the best of the destination. In addition, guests can enjoy the hotel's new dining concept, Tratto, a spirited bar-driven restaurant serving rustic Italian fare with modern sensibilities and casual, communal-style dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing