We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointingly average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Marker San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marker San Francisco
Ranked #53 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Disappointingly average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I'm a big fan of the Kimpton chain and often stay in their hotels in other cities. So I was surprised at how average this felt. The location is pretty good, only a couple of blocks from Union Square and a fairly short walk to the Financial District and Market Street. But the check in was nothing special, and certainly not what I am used to at other Kimptons. The lobby area is decent with some nice seating areas, and of course the wine/cheese event every afternoon. My room was quiet and clean, but I wasn't thrilled with the furnishings, they were a little tired. The restaurant that is connected to the hotel was closed for renovations, which I wish someone had told me when my staff booked the hotel as we probably would have changed hotels. My wake up call the net morning was almost 15 minutes past due. The bathroom was at least decently sized and the towels were fluffy. But overall I found little here that set it apart from other hotels, and in fact my room felt a lot like a typical corporate hotel (Hyatt, Hilton, Sheraton) which of course is exactly why I usually choose Kimpton hotels in order to avoid that feeling. So, if you have other choices in the City consider them first, I probably won't return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rossvesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear rossvesq,
Yikes. I don’t think anyone likes to be called average. And that is certainly not what we are striving for.
I am sorry to hear you were underwhelmed by your check in experience. And it sounds like our new remodel is not your taste or style.
I apologize for the miscommunication about the restaurant. It is not closed for renovation at this time. We are closing the restaurant at the end of this month and it will be closed for several months.
Thanks,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,037
    657
    188
    57
    41
See reviews for
286
832
120
393
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Let's start with the good: adequate lighting and outlets, a refrigerator in the room, maintenance responded quickly. As Kimpton members, we received $10 to use at the bar and a Sunday NYT.

Now the not-so-good: ours was arguably the ugliest hotel room we've ever seen. One wall was red, one white, one navy, and one was red, white, navy, and gold wide stripes. The carpet had a gray-on-gray pattern. The bedding was comfortable but black and white. Did I mention the standing lamp with a silver swirl lampshade? And, according to the front desk, all the rooms have the same decor.

The shower liner wasn't vinyl but fabric, so every time someone showered, about a quart of water ended up on the floor. Ugh.

As Kimpton members, we had hoped to get a nice room. Our "quiet" room was adjacent to a gravel roof. Not exactly the view we had hoped for.

We mentioned the shower problem to the front desk, but the Monaco offered no apology other than a verbal one...not even a glass of wine on the house.

If you're going to San Francisco, be sure to wear a flower in your hair....and think twice about staying at the Monaco.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rockcreekgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear RockCreekGirl,
I am sad to say that if you did not like the design and décor of your room, then you would not like any of our rooms. As the person at the front desk told you, all of our rooms look very similar. I know that design is a very personal thing. We were thrilled with the new design, but we know it isn’t for everyone.
I am not sure what happened with the shower liner in your room, but I will definitely follow up on that. We certainly do not want water all over the bathroom floor.
Thanks,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My stay was very nice until checkout . I was given 2- 10.00 drink vouchers at the bar as a return guest rewards to be handed in at checkout. There were two of us staying 6 nights. Upon checkout I was informed only one voucher was valid. This is ridiculous to say that. Then oh it was an error , we should of only received 1 voucher well ok not my fault. Wine hour is cheap headache wine. Not searching out Kimpton hotels ever!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Karen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hi Karen P,
I hope you received my e-mail earlier today. I just wanted to apologize for the miscommunication and I am sorry it had such a negative impact on your stay.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, NC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The room was very nice. We asked for early checkin but it wasn't possible; however we were accommodated with late departure. The location felt more authentic than staying at union square, although the front desk warned us not to turn left upon exiting the hotel. I am normally sketched out easily and the area is fine during the day but their advice is solid for nighttime.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear NCReviewer,
I am sorry we were not able to accommodate the early check in, but I am happy to hear we were able to assist with the late departure. We do our best.
Thanks,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We chose to stay at Hotel Monaco during our first visit to San Francisco and were not disappointed! The location was a close walk to Union Square which has many dining and shopping options and is also a cable car stop. joined the free rewards program and enjoyed the complimentary internet and raiding the mini bar! The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful: had our bags taken to the room while we returned our rental car, explained the cable car system, fully advised us of the hotel amenities, held our bags the final day we explored the city, arranged for hotel car to take us to the airport, and I'm sure I could go on. In particular, Johnathan at the front desk went out of his way to be hospitable and even sent fruit, water, and chocolate to our room with a sincere note welcoming us to the hotel and the city!! Our room had lots of character with the vibrant colors and wallpaper; much more exciting than your typical hotel decor! We had a room on the 7th floor that was on the inner side of the hotel (not the street) away from the elevator and had no noise issues. My husband and I would most definitely stay here again and will look for Kimpton Hotels in other cities too!

Room Tip: Upper floor, away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Elizabeth A,
Yay! I am so happy to hear you were able to experience some San Francisco hospitality done the Monaco way. It sounds like Johnathan really made a positive impression and that does not surprise me. We hope you will come back and see us, again.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed here earlier this year for work and came back with my family for a visit over the July 4th holiday. The hotel is right by Union Square and was a great spot for our visits to the Exploratorium, the Cal Academy of Sciences, and the Embarcadero for the fireworks. The evening reception was always something to look forward to after a day on the town and there were plenty of good places to eat nearby. Special thanks to the Monaco team who did a very nice job with my kids and went out of their way to recognize one of my girls who was celebrating her birthday.

The junior suite provided was comfortable and offered ample space for my family. We were comfortable and will definitely consider a return visit if we're back in town.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, you'll want to avoid a room that is adjacent to the elevator. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zonk68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear zonk68,
I am so happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay. We are glad your daughter enjoyed her birthday with us and we hope she is now a Kimpton convert.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
134 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

5 min walk from Union Square, shopping heaven, transport hub and tourist attraction, you cannot choose a better location. The hotel is luxurious, rooms are good size and have everything you should desire. What I have to emphasize is the staff, exceptionally friendly, proactive and efficient. Practically no waiting time although the hotel is very busy. They also offer complimentary (and good quality) bicycles. They are also providing tea, lemonade, wine at happy hour, all these for free.
If you ask for something they do not have, they will get it for you. Next time in San Francisco I will definitely stay in the same hotel.

Room Tip: any room will do, if you are choosing one at the back should be quiter
See more room tips
Green Features: they make all efforts to be environment friendly; green bulbs, water saving facilities, linen reuse, etc
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manwhocomesaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
#36 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 400 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,488 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#41 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 3,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#23 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,727 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,254 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#50 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker San Francisco

Property: The Marker San Francisco
Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marker San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a turn-of-the-century building in the heart of downtown San Francisco, The Marker, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, is located just steps away from the historic beauty of Union Square. Distinct among San Francisco's lifestyle hotels, the signature warmth permeates the property from the service to the design of the interiors. Surrounded by the city's top theaters, restaurants, museums and shops, the urban boutique hotel features 208 newly renovated, vibrant and stylish guestrooms. The Marker celebrates the vibrancy of the city and the dynamism of its guests through innovative programming and thoughtful service. Guests can enjoy thoughtful special amenities including unlimited PressReader access for the digital newsstand, bicycle rentals to explore the city, in-room spa services and more. The lobby living room's plush, over-sized couches and curated local activations beckon guests to stay a while and soak in the comfortable, social atmosphere while unique programs, steeped in local authenticity, connect guests to the best of the destination. In addition, guests can enjoy the hotel's new dining concept, Tratto, a spirited bar-driven restaurant serving rustic Italian fare with modern sensibilities and casual, communal-style dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Marker San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing