We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Feel - Great Loacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #47 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 14, 2008

I arrived at the Hotel Monaco quite jetlagged after a flight from Australia. Even though I arrived at midday, my room was ready and the check in process quick & corteous. My Suite faced onto Geary Street (2nd floor) but I found the room lovely and quiet and easily fell into a jetlagged sleep for the afternoon !
The room I stayed in was lovely - a separate lounge with TV, a huge plasma in the bedroom. Overall very clean and the furnishings unique, giving real character to the room, so it didn't feel like one of 1000 as the big chains can. The bed was divine - very comfotable and the bathroom beautifully appointed. I immediately felt very comfortable.

Strolling into downtown area was just an easy two block walk to Union Square past lots of lovely galleries & shops. The friendly Res staff gave me a map & suggested a walking tour.
Room service that night was great.

No complaints at all from me - the hotel was everything I expected and more - I'd definately recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mvfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,875)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,419 - 2,425 of 2,875 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2008

My wife and I have just returned from a 7 day stay in the Hotel Monaco in San Francisco and were extremely impressed with the whole experience. The Hotel itself is situated two blocks from Union Square which is great location for shopping and eating but is still far enough away to avoid a lot of the traffic and noise you would expect from a City Centre. Although this location is moving towards the Tenderloin District mentioned by others there were certainly no issues around walking to and from the hotel and didn't give us any worries at all. You will encounter lots of homeless people and beggars throughout the city and this area was no worse than any other. The Monaco is a lovely boutique hotel with stripy wallpaper, canopies over the beds, large fireplaces in the common areas and staff dressed in rather strange velvet uniforms. Our room was on the 7th floor and was a decent size, extremely clean and had a unbelievably comfortable bed (difficult to get out of when your body is 8 hours behind!). As many others have pointed out the staff are very pleasant and will bend over backwards to help you with any questions / requests. We have stayed in more expensive hotels with fancier reputations than the Monaco but none have left such a good impression as this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TSG_Go_Giants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

We love the hotel. You can (and we do) request a goldfish in your room for your stay. The help is actually helpful, the elevator is quick (I think it knows by sensor when you are coming towards it) The rooms are very nice by any standard - but by "city standard" very good as well.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daninboise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Monaco 14 to 18 August 2008 and had a great time.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful, without being intrusive, and the room was well appointed with a generous sized bathroom.

The hotel is in a great location for tourists (like we were!), being just a few minutes walk away from Union Square. Some reviewers have commented upon noise outside at night - hey, it's a city centre hotel, what do you expect?!

Our goldfish, Jay, was a lovely touch too - particularly appreciated by our 7 year old daughter, as was the rubber goldfish given to her by the bellboy one morning whilst we waited for a cab!

One last thing - you MUST try Dottie's True Blue Cafe for breakfast, one block from the hotel.

Thanks Monaco - when we get the chance to return to your great city we'll be sure to stay with you again!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChilwellRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2008

my wife and I are big fans of the kimpton hotels having stayed in various ones in sf and chicago so we were looking forward to hotel monaco for a quick get-away. the hotel is housed in a fine old building in downtown frisco about 3or 4 blocks from union square. a great location. the lobby is a delight.....eye candy...steeped in grandeur with marble staircase and domed ceilings. sculptures and paintings abound. kimpton has a good eye. if yr ever in chicago spring for Hotel Burnham in the very famous reliance building. now that is a feast !!!
unfortunately, there didn't appear to be any info on the building itself at the Monaco and would be a welcome addition! the room was small but well-appointed in the usual bold hip striped kimpton fashion. and very very clean. The carpets however, especially in the hallway(we were on the 4th floor) were tired and badly in need of replacement or intense cleaning>kimpton has a great 5pm wine reception and even had a massage (free) person on hand. get schlockered on wine and then have a massage.
check out the "tree of life" sculpture in the lobby. very good.
all in all a good stay. and hey, kimpton tells you the square footage of the rooms you are buying so theres no secret there. and if yr smart you can get some pretty good deals on these rooms. ours was 159 per night which in downtown sf here in2008.is a pretty good deal

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in July and we loved it. The staff were great, so very helpful. The hotel was in a great location, room very clean. We had a complimentary bottle of champagne waiting for us as it was our wedding anniversary.

The Grand Cafe reminded us of one we had been to in Lyon and the food was every bit as good.

We would definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EssexCoupleUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

Great boutique hotel just a few blocks from Union Square. Staff was fantastic and extremely accomodating and friendly, especially after I balked at my 2nd floor junior suite after just having a very long day and was concerned about noise from the street at night. I am very particular and would stay here again. Rooms were beautiful and very clean, new and fresh. Complimentary happy hour was wonderful - wine, Anchor Steam and nibblers - with a 10-minute chair massage to boot. I will strongly recommend this hotel to friends. I have stayed at other larger San Fran hotels that I also enjoyed, but this was a fun and friendly place that I would definitely return to.

Stayed: July 2008
2  Thank cmd772003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Clift Hotel San Francisco
#75 of 230 in San Francisco
3,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,760 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#52 of 230 in San Francisco
545 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
#68 of 230 in San Francisco
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1640 (Formerly Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $174 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a turn-of-the-century building in the heart of downtown San Francisco, The Marker, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, is located just steps away from the historic beauty of Union Square. Distinct among San Francisco's lifestyle hotels, the signature warmth permeates the property from the service to the design of the interiors. Surrounded by the city's top theaters, restaurants, museums and shops, the urban boutique hotel features 208 newly renovated, vibrant and stylish guestrooms. The Marker celebrates the vibrancy of the city and the dynamism of its guests through innovative programming and thoughtful service. Guests can enjoy thoughtful special amenities including unlimited PressReader access for the digital newsstand, bicycle rentals to explore the city, in-room spa services and more. The lobby living room's plush, over-sized couches and curated local activations beckon guests to stay a while and soak in the comfortable, social atmosphere while unique programs, steeped in local authenticity, connect guests to the best of the destination. In addition, guests can enjoy the hotel's new dining concept, Tratto, a spirited bar-driven restaurant serving rustic Italian fare with modern sensibilities and casual, communal-style dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing