We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #40 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

What a wonderful stay at the Kimpton Monaco in San Francisco! Everything about our stay was great, yet made even better by the caring and wonderful staff. A simple thank you wouldn't really express how thankful I really am to the wonderful staff at the hotel. Daniel, Lauren and so many others were amazing! I've never felt more at home than this hotel.
Delicious coffee in the mornings, and wine from 5-6 PM in the lobby area ... everything was just great!
I will definitely return and stay here again and most certainly would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billygoat001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,382
    845
    258
    88
    56
See reviews for
424
1,099
149
523
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed as part of our honeymoon, hotel was only a 25min taxi ride from airport ($40). It's location is superb...only 3 blocks from Union Sq and the main shopping areas....only downside was the Tenderloin area is close by, where alk the beggars come from. The hotel itself was quite classic and archaic but also very modern. Bedroom was spacious and the bed was huge! Only downside in the room was the bath was small and the shower high up! But only a minor quibble. The hotel hosts free wine and cheese every day from 5-6pm....which we participated in a few times lol. Didn't get round to the spa as sightseeing and shopping took a lot out of us! Can I just say the service from the staff was excellent constantly, and especially I'd like to thank Isacc & Daniel for their knowledge and friendliness every time we spoke to them. Overall. ...an excellent, central, modern and friendly hotel! Would definitely be back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank edmundbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were disappointed in Hotel Monaco. Hotel is a bit run down. Hallways are definitely run down. Front desk staff was less than helpful when asking for directions to a few places, telling them our AC was not staying on all night, etc... It is overrated in Trip Advisor. Very touristy and busy location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tiffany N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Wee booked a package through expedia and I told them I was bringing our cat and they found this Hotel for me. Not only did they have a cat box, litter, scooper and bowls for her, but they even had a hot pink velvet bed (which she looked at with disdain)! After settling in we realized we were only 3 blocks from Union Square. And, the Hotel itself is breathtakingly beautiful! Very Art Nouveau! The room s are ultra modern and spacious. We can't say enough about the Hotel and its staff. Of special note, Daniel, Lauren and Charlotte at the front desk were very helpful and professional. We will definitely stay here again when in San Francisco. T hanks guys!!!

Green Features: Extremely conscientious about the environment!, which is much appreciated by us!
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephani P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here for a few days over New Years 2014. The location is fantastic, an easy ride from the airport on the BART, close to Union Square, major shopping centres and great restaurants. The walk to Chinatown is good and if you are up for a few hill climbs and like to stretch the legs you can get to Coit Tower and the wharf areas without too much strife. The staff are incredibly helpful- I think there is nothing they won't help you with. The rooms aren't huge but are a fair size for the big city and have all your basics plus much more- ie/ yoga mats, robes, warm socks! Spa, Sauna and steam-room are worth a visit and don't miss wine hour (complimentary every day). Being NYE we expected noise but did not hear a thing once our heads hit the pillow. All staff were very warm and friendly. This hotel is very aesthetically pleasing and a nice change from your stock standard big hotel chains. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coby04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Great find! We were looking for a nice hotel in union square in San Francisco over the New Years holiday.
The hotel Monaco was awesome.
Friendly staff. Beautiful lobby.
Our room was neat, clean and a pleasure.
The bed was comfy. Pillows too (although I like my pillows to be a bit thicker).
The bar & restaurant were good. The bar tenders were friendly.
My burger (late 9 pm dinner) in the bar area on night 2 was not great, but overall we really feel like we lucked out with this hotel.
Many of the hotels in SF are older and many reviews online are horrendous (stained walls, ripped carpet, etc) -- about many of the older hotels. But Monaco was just fine. We recommend it for sure.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DrSteveRacine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotel has a lot of the old world charm you would expect in San Francisco, and the staff is warm and friendly. They have wine ready for you in the evening in their library area, bicycles if you feel up to it and umbrellas if the weather is bad. It is within walking distance of all major areas. Yes, there are homeless in the area but that is common to most areas in San Francisco and as a traveler you must always be aware of your surroundings, but the hotel is right in the Union Square area and close to everything. The only two things that annoyed me was although the bathroom was quite clean there was mold in the shower and the furniture upholstery in the common area outside the elevators was not as clean as one would expect. Nevertheless, I will be returning to this hotel.

The attached restaurant/bar is beautiful but unreliable and the staff is not reflective of the great hotel staff; for example one day breakfast was fabulous and the next day it was cold and we couldn't even find our waiter. Really not worth the price given all the restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lise0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 229 in San Francisco
568 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#57 of 229 in San Francisco
422 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#58 of 229 in San Francisco
4,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a turn-of-the-century building in the heart of downtown San Francisco, The Marker, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, is located just steps away from the historic beauty of Union Square. Distinct among San Francisco's lifestyle hotels, the signature warmth permeates the property from the service to the design of the interiors. Surrounded by the city's top theaters, restaurants, museums and shops, the urban boutique hotel features 208 newly renovated, vibrant and stylish guestrooms. The Marker celebrates the vibrancy of the city and the dynamism of its guests through innovative programming and thoughtful service. Guests can enjoy thoughtful special amenities including unlimited PressReader access for the digital newsstand, bicycle rentals to explore the city, in-room spa services and more. The lobby living room's plush, over-sized couches and curated local activations beckon guests to stay a while and soak in the comfortable, social atmosphere while unique programs, steeped in local authenticity, connect guests to the best of the destination. In addition, guests can enjoy the hotel's new dining concept, Tratto, a spirited bar-driven restaurant serving rustic Italian fare with modern sensibilities and casual, communal-style dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing