We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #38 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great hotel in a convenient location- the decor was really great in the rooms. Comfortable beds, great happy hour with free wine every day, coffee bar in the morning, very helpful staff at the front desk. One downfall is some of the streets in this area are a little sketchy to walk down at night, but the hotel is very close to union square which is nice. We got a deal that valet parking was included with our stay which is nice because in this area of the city it is very hard to find reasonably priced parking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,265
    779
    230
    75
    48
See reviews for
377
1,010
136
476
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed four nights and had a wonderful time. Location was great for us and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Johnathan on the front desk for organising a surprise bottle of champagne for my wifes birthday. Coffee was a nice touch in the morning as was the wine hour in the evenings.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dan20rhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Centrally located in downtown San Francisco close to Union Square. A simple walk from the BART station and you have arrived.

The hotel architecture is fantastic and the lobby areas are well decorated with bronze statues and art. The high barrel vaulted coffered ceilings give the lobby a grand stately appearance, as you would expect from a four star hotel.

The front desk staff are quite friendly and willing to accommodate most of your immediate needs and wishes. Free coffee in the morning and wine tasting in the evening are most appreciated.

Our first room was a court yard interior room, the decor was nice. However, don't leave the blinds open because the adjacent rooms are only feet away making privacy an issue. Also, if you are on a romantic trip beware that an uncomfortable moment could arise when you first realize that the toilet rooms do not have exhaust fans to evacuate any smells that others might find offensive.

We requested a different room the next day on the street side with a view of the hustle and bustle of downtown San Francisco. What we found was the work of the front hotel staff accomplishes is quickly diminished by the back hotel staff i.e.. house keeping and door man. A word of caution read the door tag, both sides may look the same but to house keeping they do not. We were awakened at 8am by house keeping then given a lecture on how to use the door tag. REALLY! The drinking glasses and surfaces were not clean. If you want to use the in room snack bar, bring your own Swiffer duster. The windows in our room looked like they had not been cleaned in over a year. In fact my car windshield looked better after a cross country trip. One evening we waited for over 15 minutes for the door man to show up and get us a cab ride to the ballet. We barely made the first curtain call. Details, Details...

WiFi was easy to use with access over the entire hotel even out doors. I cannot give this hotel 4 when in fact they fail with regards to detail. With that in mind it only deserves a 3 from me.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Angelidecovolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Great Hotel, which was located in excellent location near Union Square. Short walk to the Theaters was perfect for the holidays. Located right off Geary Street, this hotel location made it easy for us to able to walk to Union Square and China town with ease. Short walk to BART made the trip back to the airport very convenient. The Door Man and front desk service was great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

I truly do not have a bad word to say about this hotel. We were warmly greeted from the moment we stepped into the hotel to the moment we left. The staff always had authentic smiles which makes the experience so much better.

The hotel itself looks exactly like the pictures on the website, everything from room to the foyer was beautiful and well decorates and the location is right near union square, close to great shops and diners.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KnDtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Not much thought went into choosing a hotel for an overnight stay in San Francisco! It was only a starting point for a California road trip. Priced reasonably and located touristically it seemed an okay no-fuss choice. Pleasantly surprising, though, was a series of top of the line services.
From welcoming the car at the front door, Bell desk service, valet parking to check in: smooth, efficient, warm, friendly.
Ambience, delightful. Decor, period with contemporary and chinese, an unbelievable blend. Elevators, quick and frequent. Room, exotic, fresh, clean. Air, fresh. Toilet, an absolute delight. The Grand Cafe, gorgeous bar and eatery. Old fashioned: well made cocktail. Silent American: you can't get everything right, excusable. Morning Coffee, by the fireplace, great choice of teas including organic Earl Gray and a delightful hot chocolate. Excellent Danish.
Check out smooth. Wanted to extend our stay!
Will return and will guide friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashookkhurana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a really great stay at Monaco. We arrived before our check in time and were delighted to be offered a room straight away. It was very comfortable and I was especially pleased with the offer to supply a coffee machine in our room - we asked for one straight away.
The room was very comfortable and had a unique style. We had a bath and a shower and lots of hanging space. One of the nicest features of the hotel are complementary morning coffee, chocolate and tea in the lounge and a free wine reception in the early evening. The staff are lovely and we had a very comfortable stay. We hope to come back!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MargalitPerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#41 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,821 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#30 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,803 reviews
Union Square
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Clift Hotel San Francisco
#70 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1640 (Formerly Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a turn-of-the-century building in the heart of downtown San Francisco, The Marker, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, is located just steps away from the historic beauty of Union Square. Distinct among San Francisco's lifestyle hotels, the signature warmth permeates the property from the service to the design of the interiors. Surrounded by the city's top theaters, restaurants, museums and shops, the urban boutique hotel features 208 newly renovated, vibrant and stylish guestrooms. The Marker celebrates the vibrancy of the city and the dynamism of its guests through innovative programming and thoughtful service. Guests can enjoy thoughtful special amenities including unlimited PressReader access for the digital newsstand, bicycle rentals to explore the city, in-room spa services and more. The lobby living room's plush, over-sized couches and curated local activations beckon guests to stay a while and soak in the comfortable, social atmosphere while unique programs, steeped in local authenticity, connect guests to the best of the destination. In addition, guests can enjoy the hotel's new dining concept, Tratto, a spirited bar-driven restaurant serving rustic Italian fare with modern sensibilities and casual, communal-style dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Reservation Counter so you can book your The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing