We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Good Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #48 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 29, 2008

My wife and I stayed up here recently as part of an executive offsite for my company. Upon check-in we were impressed by the atomosphere and style of the place. The room was small yet cozy and reminded me of the Hudson in NYC.

Since we were there on business, we had a snag getting one of our rooms available and the manager Jenny jumped right into action. She made one phone call and within 5 minutes we had the Tokyo board room set up with waters, napkins, etc. I was impressed.

We had dinner for 12 at the Grand Cafe that night. Plenty of good selection and interesting pairings available. They did close down the bar early so for you night-owls you may have to travel outside.

Overall good stay, cool place, nice people.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TheWilliams2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRDecker, Front Desk Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2008

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for sharing your experience! We are always excited to celebrate our successes with our staff; thank you for giving us that opportunity! If your travels return you to San Francisco we hope that you will again choose Hotel Monaco. Upon your return, we invite you to dine with us again in a newly updated Grand Café to be unveiled on August 11th!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,874)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,425 - 2,431 of 2,874 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2008

My daughter & I just returned from a very nice, 2 night stay at the Hotel Monaco, San Francisco. If you're looking to visit S.F. and like hotels that offer style, comfort and wonderful service we would strongly recommend the Hotel Monaco.

The Hotel is located in the Theatre district just a short walk from the shops of Union Square. From the Hotel door it is walkable to just about every part of the city; but for non-walkers the cable cars, buses, and (relatively expensive) taxis are available right outside the door or just around the corner.

Our double room was not only stylish but clean, well-equipped, and spacious enough for 2 adults. The 2 double beds were as lovely to sleep in as they were to look at--with beautiful linens and ample, down pillows. The bath was pristine clean and very nicely outfitted with over-sized bath towels and courtesy robes with crazy tiger and zebra prints reflecting the very deco-style of the hotel itself.

We were celebrating a birthday and James, the excellent concierge, recommended and arranged a fantastic, fine and filling dinner at Scala's Bistro (see separate review for details.) Thank you, James for the wonderful recommendation and your help getting us in for dinner on such short notice!

In fact, all the staff we interacted with at the Monaco--from doorman to housekeepers--were wonderful! I wouldn't expect to receive better customer service at the Ritz-Carlton or Four Seasons--simply put, the service was beyond my very picky expectations!

The area around the hotel is well lit and due to the nearby theatres and restaurants is busy so we felt safe and comfortable walking the main streets both day & night. As for convenience, the Walgreens across the street has just about anything one could need while traveling and the Grand Cafe next door serves a fantastic Sunday brunch and has an extensive bar.

We will definitely plan on returning to Hotel Monaco in the future and would certainly recommend it to friends, family & fellow travelers.

As always, more than happy to answer specific questions about our experience at the Hotel.

Happy travels,

Carol--

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CarolJL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRDecker, Front Desk Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2008

Thank you for the fantastic review of the hotel! We are always thrilled to receive feedback as it provides us with training opportunities and a chance to recognize our strengthens. Your comments will definitely be shared with our staff. On a personal note, thank you for giving me the opportunity to influence such a special day! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your dinner! We look forward to your return!

James Decker
Front Desk Manager
Hotel Monaco
Phone: 415-292-0100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

This hotel is a true gem on all levels. The location is ideal, it is beautiful, FRIENDLY, HELPFUL, comfortable, and not a bad price either. Michael, the concierge is a genius, if I had an idea, he made it happen. The restaurant is a work of art in itself. In the course of my four night stay, I had three meals in house, and another two from room service. All were spectacular AND if I wanted to tweak a little, was happily and easily accommodated. The Monaco will be my permanent go to hotel in San Francisco

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

My daughter and I stayed 3 nights on a shopping, sight seeing trip. The location is great as was the room. We had 2 beds, so it was somehat larger than a single bed room. The service was good and we loved the wine and appy hour in the evening and the Starbucks service in the morning with a place by the fire to read the newspaper. We ate in the restaurant the 1st night and thoroughly enjoyed it. I have absolutely no complaints about this wonderful little hotel. We were right on Geary, but did not find it noisy.

I booked directly with the Klimpton booking service hotel and was initially quoted a higher rate. When I gave them the Expedia rate, she matched it, though I noted on my confirmation slip that the rate was recorded as "internet spoiler." This made no difference to the room or the excellent treatment we received.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank neamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRDecker, Front Desk Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2008

Thank you for the superb review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations in one of our double deluxe rooms. We are fortunate to be just steps away from San Francisco’s Union Square and all the fabulous shopping it entails. Thank you for staying with us and for sharing you experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2008

Great place to stay! Small rooms but very nicely decorated and appointed. After schlepping around SF all day, it was a wonderful respite to get in our room - yes, we got the goldfish. All room details were of high quality - really liked the sound system/cd player and the L'Occitane bath products. Things are a bit quirky here (e.g. leopard print bath robes), so maybe not for a real conservative guest. Also, if you need alot of space or a view you may want to look elsewhere. We looked at several Kimpton hotels in the area and believed the Monaco to be the best.

The restaurant and bar area are beautiful. The Sunday breakfast menu was weak as they force you into more of a lunch/brunch menu.

Bottom line: SF has a huge number of lodging options and we love to try new places, but we would probably not bother and return to the Monaco.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRDecker, Front Desk Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2008

We love receiving positive feedback from our guests as it highlights our success. We are always thrilled to pass on compliments to our staff as encouragement to continue providing excellent service! Thank you so much for the kind words! We look forward to providing you with a “cozy nest” again soon!

James Decker
Front Desk Manager
Phone: 415-292-0100 Fax: 415-292-0111
James.Decker@HotelMonaco.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

Hotel Monaco exceeded our expectations. It is a BEAUTIFUL and luxurious hotel, yet only 15.00 more a night than the Comfort Inn with no A/C that we stayed at in Carmel! It is in the business district and we did have to use quite a bit of public transportation but that is what San Fran is about! The rooms were stunningly decorated- so unique and beautiful. The bed linens, pillows were so comfortable. The wine and cheese hour, included, between 5 and 6 was a classy touch that no one wanted to miss as was the Starbucks coffee in the mornings. We had a problem with a toilet and it was repaired immediately. We ate at the hotel restaurant and though it was very expensive, it was worth it. Great service, quality and selection. We loved this hotel and would recommend it highly! A great value for such luxury.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jacqvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRDecker, Front Desk Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2008

Thank you for your feedback and the fantastic review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that if your travels return you to San Francisco that you will remember us! If you have any further information to share, or if I may be of any assistance, please contact me.

James Decker
Front Desk Manager
Phone: 415-292-0100 Fax: 415-292-0111
James.Decker@HotelMonaco.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2008

This is really my favorite hotel pretty much anywhere. I had booked another hotel for my stay because the rates were so high for my dates. It turns out there was a huge convention going on at that time. On my second morning in the city, I called the Monaco to see if they had availablity. The rates were much better so I called a cab at 7:30 am and moved.

I just love the Monaco. It was my first experience with a boutique hotel and it's just a fit for me. I've stayed at the huge convention hotels for conferences - and yes, the rooms are much larger. But, they are much more sterile as well.

I love the colors, the vibe, the entire atmosphere of the hotel. Of course, I had the pet goldfish delivered to the room. I named it "Cybil" - in honor of Cybil Shepherd performing just blocks away in a one woman show.

The location can't be beat. The rooms are fabulous. The staff is ALWAYS friendly and helpful and attentive. I consider staying at other Kimpton hotels in SF, but I know I'll always come back to the Monaco.

Breakfast the morning of my move was a fabulous omelet at the Grand Cafe. I love this restaurant almost as much as the Monaco. :-)

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onemoreroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRDecker, Front Desk Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2008

Thank you for the fantastic review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and value your feedback! We invite you to join our guest loyalty program which makes you eligible for special promotions and announcements on new hotels. If you need any assistance with future bookings, please contact me!


James Decker
Front Desk Manager
Hotel Monaco, San Francisco
James.Decker@HotelMonaco.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Clift Hotel San Francisco
#74 of 230 in San Francisco
3,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,758 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#53 of 230 in San Francisco
544 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
#68 of 230 in San Francisco
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1640 (Formerly Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $180 - $505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a turn-of-the-century building in the heart of downtown San Francisco, The Marker, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, is located just steps away from the historic beauty of Union Square. Distinct among San Francisco's lifestyle hotels, the signature warmth permeates the property from the service to the design of the interiors. Surrounded by the city's top theaters, restaurants, museums and shops, the urban boutique hotel features 208 newly renovated, vibrant and stylish guestrooms. The Marker celebrates the vibrancy of the city and the dynamism of its guests through innovative programming and thoughtful service. Guests can enjoy thoughtful special amenities including unlimited PressReader access for the digital newsstand, bicycle rentals to explore the city, in-room spa services and more. The lobby living room's plush, over-sized couches and curated local activations beckon guests to stay a while and soak in the comfortable, social atmosphere while unique programs, steeped in local authenticity, connect guests to the best of the destination. In addition, guests can enjoy the hotel's new dining concept, Tratto, a spirited bar-driven restaurant serving rustic Italian fare with modern sensibilities and casual, communal-style dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing