We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 Sleeps at Hotel Monaco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #41 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“4 Sleeps at Hotel Monaco”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

An incredible 4 days at Hotel Monaco.
Staff simply went out of their way to make us welcome and feel at home.
A beautiful hotel - and gorgeous rooms. Great location - Union Square.
We had dinner in the Grand Cafe - breathtaking! and the food was amazing.
Timothy Huls went out of his way to have a package delivered to my home after our departure. We had left it in the baggage lock-up room and it got missed when we were ready to leave the hotel.
This kind of service makes a lasting impression on me - and for this reason alone - I will use Hotel Monaco again - if our travels ever take us back to Sanfranciso.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear S4x4,

Way to go, Timothy Huls. This isn’t Tim’s first time being mentioned here on TripAdvisor. He has a habit of being positively mentioned over and over, again. So, I am not surprised that he made such a positive impression upon you.

Thank you for all of the other wonderful comments and we hope you will come back to stay with us.

Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,331
    809
    245
    84
    51
See reviews for
399
1,051
142
506
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in early August--I love Kimpton hotels and this was no exception. I was initially disappointed that our room was near the elevator but you would never know. It was very quiet to hotel noise. Street noise was noticeable but you are staying on a major street in a big city.

Unfortunately on our first day of vacation I was injured while doing a Segway tour and was on crutches. The hotel staff went above and beyond helping my husband find everything we needed (including an in-room movie) . They made a very very crappy situation manageable. When we decided to check out early they were very friendly and accommodating. Thanks Hotel Monaco for going above and beyond!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyJane855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband & I decided to spend the weekend in San Francisco even though we live fairly close by. We took the ferry in and were tourists for the entire weekend. This hotel was wonderful! The staff were particularly amazing - they were friendly, helpful, professional, knowledgeable, warm and seemed genuinely thrilled to be of service in any way possible. This included every one at every level who worked here. And they were not overly saccharine (which just annoys me). The room was small but adorably decorated and the bed was very comfortable. I loved that the gym was accessible with your key card 24/7 since I am a night owl and my husband fades pretty early. Check it out if you are visiting our fair city!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morphoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Morphoses,

Thank you for choosing the Monaco for a “staycation.” It is always fun meeting guests who live so close to San Francisco, but they want to experience the city like a local for the weekend. We love sharing our expertise with you.

And I, too, fade early. So, I can relate to your husband. I am just glad our gym hours complimented your schedule. Sounds like that worked out well.

Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2013

OK hotel, Good location near Union Square. Nice wine reception every evening, chocolate in afternoon and coffee in the morning. Nice European style bar but a bit expensive. Good gym. Good breakfast rest.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank el-Masri2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel but it was the staff that made the stay great Everyone was helpful and eager to make the stay great. Good location near Union Square. Nice wine reception every evening, chocolate in afternoon and coffee in the morning. Nice European style bar but a bit expensive. The only thing missing was a view overlooking San Francisco.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Paul M,

Thank you for all of the compliments. And I agree with you… I would like for us to have views overlooking San Francisco, too. If they would only allow me to build a couple more floors on top of the building.

Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The staff were all lovely and really helpful! Guys downstairs at the door were so sweet and always looked happy. Our room was a good size not huge but not small. The rooms were not overly flashy but they were clean and comfortable and felt more like home rather than a hotel room which is a nice feeling when travelling around. We ate at the Grand Cafe which joins onto the hotel for breakfast and it was fine.. Ordered room service from there one of the nights food was pretty standard, mac n cheese was very bland! Staff were nice though.
As for the location there was a market and a pharmacy across the road, your about a block away from lots of shops and there were some restaurants and places to eat nearby. The area the hotel is in feels a bit seedy though its about a block away from the Tenderloin area and there were so many homeless people wandering around. I definitely wouldn't have gone walking around at night and I always felt nervous when I was outside the hotel. The homeless people wouldn't just ask for money and move on they would actually stand there talking to you and asking you for ages, it was really unnerving. It could however be like this everywhere in San Fran as there are so many homeless people and I've heard there can be a lot near hotels at Fishermans Wharf too. San Francisco is a beautiful city but I will admit I was glad to only be there 3 nights. Hotel rooms were good though and staff were lovely! No problems with the actual hotel itself!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLR12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Great location being close to Downtown, excellently styled with new finishings, comfortable bed/pillows (a must), clean/good shower, fantastic service from all staff. We stayed just for two nights and it was great. Recommended for all, as a couple we loved it.

Helpful?
Thank jimmysteelegold
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Stan_Savellis,

Sorry. I keep getting distracted by your profile picture. Was that taken at the Monaco?

Thank you for the kind words. We loved having you both stay here, as well.

Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,111 reviews
Union Square
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Clift Hotel San Francisco
#72 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a turn-of-the-century building in the heart of downtown San Francisco, The Marker, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, is located just steps away from the historic beauty of Union Square. Distinct among San Francisco's lifestyle hotels, the signature warmth permeates the property from the service to the design of the interiors. Surrounded by the city's top theaters, restaurants, museums and shops, the urban boutique hotel features 208 newly renovated, vibrant and stylish guestrooms. The Marker celebrates the vibrancy of the city and the dynamism of its guests through innovative programming and thoughtful service. Guests can enjoy thoughtful special amenities including unlimited PressReader access for the digital newsstand, bicycle rentals to explore the city, in-room spa services and more. The lobby living room's plush, over-sized couches and curated local activations beckon guests to stay a while and soak in the comfortable, social atmosphere while unique programs, steeped in local authenticity, connect guests to the best of the destination. In addition, guests can enjoy the hotel's new dining concept, Tratto, a spirited bar-driven restaurant serving rustic Italian fare with modern sensibilities and casual, communal-style dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing