We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marker San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marker San Francisco
Ranked #49 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Homer
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here for six nights. The hotel is near Union Square and everything else. We walked everywhere! The room was beautiful. The hotel was just lucious with molding and way above average detail. I ate the in the restaurant twice and had room service once: delicious. The restaurant has lovely decor -- very San Francisco. The spa was very industrial looking and I did not try it. The staff was incredible and helpful. Benjie with Guest Services was an excellent, helpful, and nice. Our main, Alice kept the room spotless and stocked with towels. I will stay in a Klimpton Hotel again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArcticMoonBeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear ArcticMoonBeam,

We are happy to accommodate you here at the Hotel Monaco for your six night stay. One of the benefits of having a hotel so centrally located in Union Square is that most of the sights of the city are within a 20 minute walk. We have so many wonderful restaurants that offer so many calories but those can be burned off walking the hills!

I am glad that you found the hotel as beautiful as I do as we just finished a renovation to update the rooms and some of our common areas.

I am happy to hear that our staff is so accommodating and hope to see you back so you can check out our Spa.

Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,153
    735
    216
    70
    43
See reviews for
337
944
126
431
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
370 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here for a quick overnight business trip to San Francisco. Good location. Standard Kimpton quality. Small, but comfortable room. Good wi-fi. Friendly staff. Nothing at all to complain about. Did not try the bar/restaurant, but looked like it could be interesting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sazeracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Sazeracker,

Thank you for staying with us during your business trip! I would like to point out that we have a business center if you decide to return which is always a plus for business travelers. The Grand Café is a great place to conduct casual business meetings and next time you can visit our restaurant during happy hour to enjoy $1 oysters and discounted drinks.

Best,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and can't fault it at all. It is located just a 10 mins walk from Powell St station (30 mins BART train from the airport). If you like walking then you can get to most of the sights without public transport. Approx 30 min walk to AT&T stadium, the Embarcardero and Fishermans Wharf.
An added bonus for the hotel is the complimentary tea and coffee in the morning and wine/sangria in the evening. A nice touch before heading out for the day or before dinner in the evening. Can't fault anything with this hotel. Room service was also excellent (and much needed after a long day cycling!!!). Staff were very polite and friendly and always happy to help. When we return to San Fran we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room looking out onto Geary Street. Despite the street being busy we weren't affected b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treble99united
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Treble99united,

We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay and were able to explore this memorable city. Cycling in this city can be quite the adventure and workout. During the summer months we have a few bicycles on loan for any of our guests, so on a return visit feel free to take advantage of that so you can save on bike rental fees.

Best,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Great hotel, great staff, great location. The hotel is very clean and well appointed the staff were extremely helpful and the wine reception in the evening a wonderful way to met new people. It has a very good cafe attached for drinks and dining, is a bit expensive good food and again loverly staff. This was our second Hotel Monaco experience and now looking forward to Denver.

Room Tip: We had room to the side that was quiet but no view, there is not much to see from hotel, the hotel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

On the plus side: wonderful staff. Some lived near the hotel and their knowledge of nearby restaurants was excellent. Free internet, with sufficient bandwidth, is also nice. You have to ask for a coffee maker, but it is also free, although it comes with only one regular coffee and one decaf, so you have to call a second time for more coffee.

Negatives: the movie menu on the TV did not work. They swapped out the TV and the new one still did not have any way of accessing the movie menu. Apparently it was a software issue with the vendor and was fixed in a day. Presumably, that is not a systemic problem. More serious was the lack of hot water (it was only warm). The engineer came to the room and made an adjustment that essentially cut down on the amount of cold that was being mixed in with the hot, and that solved the problem. The engineer could not have been any nicer.

The room itself was quite ordinary with a small bathtub and energy efficient shower head which meant low pressure.

Best feature about the room was the six outlet power cord, which allowed two people to charge two computer and two phones.

Room Tip: there are quiet rooms that do not have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ishkabibl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear ishkabibl,

Thank you for your balanced review.

We do offer complimentary coffee and tea in the morning in our living room. We understand that some of our guests want a coffee maker in the rooms and we are happy to provide that to them. You can let us know how many coffee packets you want and we will be happy to supply that to you so you don’t have to call each time.

I apologize the movie menu did not work and the hot water was not hot. I am happy to hear we were able to solve both problems during your stay. We appreciate you informing us of both issues so we could do everything we could to rectify the issues during your stay.

The bedside tables each have an outlet that can also be used to charge phones, etc. It is easy to miss. Of course, the “power pyramid” on the desk works pretty well, too.

We hope you will come back to see us in the future. Feel free to reach out to me in advance and we will ensure both your TV and hot water are fully functional.

Sincerely,
Jason Stone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Was in San Francisco with husband and two sons (age 15 and 12) for a few days. The service here is excellent. Very friendly and helpful and even acknowledge us by name after our outings.
We stayed on the 6th floor in a double-double deluxe. Although I thought it would be cramped with all of us in one room, the furnishings allowed for more storage than meets the eye. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. The HVAC system is great and quiet. Only 2 blocks to Union Square and a mile and 1/2 to Pier 39. We walked a lot and the hotel was in a good location for restaurants, Chinatown, shopping, etc. Be aware that it is $50+ to park a car which is why we didn't rent one while we stayed downtown. The hotel has an excellent coffee service in the morning including flavor syrups, iced coffee and tea. They also have a wine service in the afternoons which was a nice touch. The gym is okay and the spa is very average.
I love the lounge and other seating areas as they were a nice place to just sit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Type-A-Mother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Type-A-Mother,

I am glad to hear you found our rooms with two double beds spacious enough for the four of you. We just renovated the rooms and I am happy to hear you liked all of the storage options we provided.

The price of parking is definitely a concern for people traveling to San Francisco. We tell people not to bring a car, if they can avoid it, because it is so expensive. There are a few garages around the hotel that sometimes offer a lower price than us and we are always happy to point you in their direction.

Thank you for joining us at our hosted manager’s wine reception and at the coffee service in the morning. We think those are excellent little perks for our guests.

Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Hotel Monaco is located 3 blocks from Union Square central and is in the middle of a ton of restaurants and shopping.
Per previous reviews taxi fare from SFO is about $45 but you also have the choice of spending $17 for a group van.
Although the area is near the Tenderloin on the back side I never had any issues with walking from Powell St to the Hotel at 830 pm. There were always lots of people and no issues.
The hotel room itself is San Francisco small but had the most comfortable bed I had in a hotel. No real view as I faced a building but no issue as you just want to spend a lot of time outside.The room was clean and toiletries were good quality. The workspace had a multiprong plug for plenty of space to plug in phones and computer etc.
The morning coffee was very good and they also had an evening wine reception.
There is a spa with hot tub down on the lower level. A bit pricey but probably normal by SF standards.
The food was a bit pricey in the hotel but there were plenty of options close by.
I would recommend the Daily Grill for a consistently good dining experience (2 blocks towards union square) Kilettos as well, on Powell.
The Walgreens across the street provided a place to purchase bottles water as it is $6 in the room. No microwave in room, just a mini bar.
Staff consistently pleasant and helpful. I don't think you can go wrong here.
Side note: It's a bit chilly in Summer-bring a jacket!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
#47 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#10 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,621 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,501 reviews
Union Square
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Clift Hotel San Francisco
#70 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,097 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#53 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker San Francisco

Property: The Marker San Francisco
Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1640 (Formerly Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marker San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a turn-of-the-century building in the heart of downtown San Francisco, The Marker, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, is located just steps away from the historic beauty of Union Square. Distinct among San Francisco's lifestyle hotels, the signature warmth permeates the property from the service to the design of the interiors. Surrounded by the city's top theaters, restaurants, museums and shops, the urban boutique hotel features 208 newly renovated, vibrant and stylish guestrooms. The Marker celebrates the vibrancy of the city and the dynamism of its guests through innovative programming and thoughtful service. Guests can enjoy thoughtful special amenities including unlimited PressReader access for the digital newsstand, bicycle rentals to explore the city, in-room spa services and more. The lobby living room's plush, over-sized couches and curated local activations beckon guests to stay a while and soak in the comfortable, social atmosphere while unique programs, steeped in local authenticity, connect guests to the best of the destination. In addition, guests can enjoy the hotel's new dining concept, Tratto, a spirited bar-driven restaurant serving rustic Italian fare with modern sensibilities and casual, communal-style dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Marker San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing