We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the location and service of this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #39 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
california
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Love the location and service of this hotel!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I enjoyed my stay here at Hotel Monaco. I like the decoration in the room and it is kept clean. I also love the friendly service of the staff and appreciate the free one hour wine that offers at the lobby lounge at 5pm.This hotel is located near shopping/restaurant and it is perfect for exploring the city by just walking around the area. If you do need to park your car there are a few other 24hr parking garages across the street that offers more affordable rates.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller_11022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,388
    847
    260
    89
    58
See reviews for
430
1,102
149
523
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SG
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

It's a really sweet boutique hotel. Old but refurbished and comfortable and nice. The staff were very helpful and attentive. The room was smallish but I've been in smaller. Bed was nice and big and comfy. Very important. It was a little bit colorful... the wall paper and stuff. So a bit not me but it's fun! And they are a pet friendly hotel. I'd never been at a hotel where out in the front door there is a sign and two doggie bowls. One with water, the other dog biscuits to welcome furkids who travel with their humans! The location is not bad, it's on Geary and Taylor. A few blocks from Union Square and the heart of SF city. Free wifi for those on their loyalty program!! That was a great plus for me. I don't think there is much of a view (my room overlooked the dumpter at the back). There's only one restaurant but the people are so nice and friendly and helpful, the food's ok but you can get better elsewhere within walking distance. They even have a wine happy hour in the evening, ice water in the lobby while you wait. I felt welcome and at home!

Room Tip: Sign up for the loyalty program and get free wifi and $10 for mini bar use (you can get at least 2 c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The decor and layout are different that most hotels. Comfortable and convenient when is SF, but decor is definitely modern, but tasteful. Good work out facility, but is could be a little larger. Nice bar downstairs. I did not get to eat in the restaurant, but it is SF so there are many good restaurants close by.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Excellent, quirky hotel in a great location just up from Union Square. I travelled with my Dad and we had a double/double room, loved the decoration and modern room. Wasn't the most spacious room I've ever stayed in but it was perfect for us as we were exploring the city most the time! Lovely breakfast room and bar. Would definitely stay here again or at another Kimpton hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a perfectly fine hotel, with an excellent location. (Ignore reviewer comments about its "bad" location, since every place in San Francisco can be dicey--remember: this is a city where it is seriously debated whether people have a right to walk naked down the street, let alone aggressively panhandle). The decor is eclectic and colorful, and many of the guests are young and stylish. The front desk staff is friendly and helpful (a burnt out light in my room was promptly taken care of). My basic queen-bed room was small, but clean, quiet, and comfortable. The adjacent bistro is quite good, but there are tons of restaurants nearby. Although not a "luxury" hotel, it is solidly first class, and I would like to give it a 4.5 rating. In fact, its overall amenities and ambience are comparable to those of the Marylebone Hotel in London, which I reviewed earlier this year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuckernyc2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just came back from our honeymoon, we spent a week at the Monaco and had a great time! The staff gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne, recommended some great places to eat and were just incredibly helpful! We stayed in the Junior suite, perfect for a couple. The view sucked, but I didn't go to San Fran to stay in my hotel room! The location is awesome, walking distance to Union Square and Market Street (and if you're in the mood for a hike, Fisherman's Warf is about a half hour walk away). Ignore the comments of the "seedy" neighborhood. Yes there are homeless wandering around, and yes they will ask you for money, deal with it you're in a city homeless people are a fact of life, stay out of the Tenderloin (the concierge will tell you where it is) and you will have a great time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

This is my second stay the Hotel Monaco and, from the moment I walked into the whimsical interior, I was very glad to be back! The staff are friendly, welcoming and very helpful.
The public areas are cosy and inviting - more like staying in a well loved home (from the wealthy side of the family, to be sure!) and the murals, art and sculptures are just delightful. Such a welcome and unique change from the standard hotel decor in other chain hotels. Rooms have recently been refurbished and, while not huge, are quirky in their design and absolutely based around your comfort and making sure you feel at home.
The Grand Cafe is a great place for breakfast and we also enjoyed the food and service at other times during our stay.
The concierge was also able to arrange our rental car to be dropped off at the hotel which saved us a lot of time.
I would strongly recommend this hotel - it is one of my favourites.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Emerys2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 229 in San Francisco
570 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#54 of 229 in San Francisco
428 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#59 of 229 in San Francisco
4,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a turn-of-the-century building in the heart of downtown San Francisco, The Marker, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, is located just steps away from the historic beauty of Union Square. Distinct among San Francisco's lifestyle hotels, the signature warmth permeates the property from the service to the design of the interiors. Surrounded by the city's top theaters, restaurants, museums and shops, the urban boutique hotel features 208 newly renovated, vibrant and stylish guestrooms. The Marker celebrates the vibrancy of the city and the dynamism of its guests through innovative programming and thoughtful service. Guests can enjoy thoughtful special amenities including unlimited PressReader access for the digital newsstand, bicycle rentals to explore the city, in-room spa services and more. The lobby living room's plush, over-sized couches and curated local activations beckon guests to stay a while and soak in the comfortable, social atmosphere while unique programs, steeped in local authenticity, connect guests to the best of the destination. In addition, guests can enjoy the hotel's new dining concept, Tratto, a spirited bar-driven restaurant serving rustic Italian fare with modern sensibilities and casual, communal-style dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing