We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and different.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #47 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The decor and layout are different that most hotels. Comfortable and convenient when is SF, but decor is definitely modern, but tasteful. Good work out facility, but is could be a little larger. Nice bar downstairs. I did not get to eat in the restaurant, but it is SF so there are many good restaurants close by.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,922)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,790 - 1,796 of 2,922 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Excellent, quirky hotel in a great location just up from Union Square. I travelled with my Dad and we had a double/double room, loved the decoration and modern room. Wasn't the most spacious room I've ever stayed in but it was perfect for us as we were exploring the city most the time! Lovely breakfast room and bar. Would definitely stay here again or at another Kimpton hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetrotter2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a perfectly fine hotel, with an excellent location. (Ignore reviewer comments about its "bad" location, since every place in San Francisco can be dicey--remember: this is a city where it is seriously debated whether people have a right to walk naked down the street, let alone aggressively panhandle). The decor is eclectic and colorful, and many of the guests are young and stylish. The front desk staff is friendly and helpful (a burnt out light in my room was promptly taken care of). My basic queen-bed room was small, but clean, quiet, and comfortable. The adjacent bistro is quite good, but there are tons of restaurants nearby. Although not a "luxury" hotel, it is solidly first class, and I would like to give it a 4.5 rating. In fact, its overall amenities and ambience are comparable to those of the Marylebone Hotel in London, which I reviewed earlier this year.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuckernyc2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just came back from our honeymoon, we spent a week at the Monaco and had a great time! The staff gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne, recommended some great places to eat and were just incredibly helpful! We stayed in the Junior suite, perfect for a couple. The view sucked, but I didn't go to San Fran to stay in my hotel room! The location is awesome, walking distance to Union Square and Market Street (and if you're in the mood for a hike, Fisherman's Warf is about a half hour walk away). Ignore the comments of the "seedy" neighborhood. Yes there are homeless wandering around, and yes they will ask you for money, deal with it you're in a city homeless people are a fact of life, stay out of the Tenderloin (the concierge will tell you where it is) and you will have a great time!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is my second stay the Hotel Monaco and, from the moment I walked into the whimsical interior, I was very glad to be back! The staff are friendly, welcoming and very helpful.
The public areas are cosy and inviting - more like staying in a well loved home (from the wealthy side of the family, to be sure!) and the murals, art and sculptures are just delightful. Such a welcome and unique change from the standard hotel decor in other chain hotels. Rooms have recently been refurbished and, while not huge, are quirky in their design and absolutely based around your comfort and making sure you feel at home.
The Grand Cafe is a great place for breakfast and we also enjoyed the food and service at other times during our stay.
The concierge was also able to arrange our rental car to be dropped off at the hotel which saved us a lot of time.
I would strongly recommend this hotel - it is one of my favourites.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
3  Thank Emerys2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great location to walk to the shopping district. Pleasant staff, fun happy hour complete with massages! Beautiful, spacious room with small window boxes to overlook the street. Very busy, but not noisy

Room Tip: Sorry, We didn't see a pool, but I cannot delete the swimming pool rating
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My second time staying at Hotel Monaco and it was just as nice this time as it was my first time. Our room, 507 I believe, was very spacious and was more like a one bedroom suite with a living room. Massive bathroom with great water pressure, counter space and even a phone located by the toilet (in case of emergencies?? Otherwise... don't ever call anyone from it! lol). The bed was so comfortable I didn't want to leave. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. We requested an early check-in at 11 a.m. and it was no issue nor additional fee. Location is also excellent, as it's right off of Union Square and close to Market St.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tide32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
675 reviews
Union Square
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Clift Hotel San Francisco
#75 of 230 in San Francisco
3,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#31 of 230 in San Francisco
3,789 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
619 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
#64 of 230 in San Francisco
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1640 (Formerly Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $215 - $609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a turn-of-the-century building in the heart of downtown San Francisco, The Marker, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, is located just steps away from the historic beauty of Union Square. Distinct among San Francisco's lifestyle hotels, the signature warmth permeates the property from the service to the design of the interiors. Surrounded by the city's top theaters, restaurants, museums and shops, the urban boutique hotel features 208 newly renovated, vibrant and stylish guestrooms. The Marker celebrates the vibrancy of the city and the dynamism of its guests through innovative programming and thoughtful service. Guests can enjoy thoughtful special amenities including unlimited PressReader access for the digital newsstand, bicycle rentals to explore the city, in-room spa services and more. The lobby living room's plush, over-sized couches and curated local activations beckon guests to stay a while and soak in the comfortable, social atmosphere while unique programs, steeped in local authenticity, connect guests to the best of the destination. In addition, guests can enjoy the hotel's new dining concept, Tratto, a spirited bar-driven restaurant serving rustic Italian fare with modern sensibilities and casual, communal-style dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelPower, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing