We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Fun than the Big Chains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marker San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Marker San Francisco to your Saves list
The Marker San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel) (Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #56 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“More Fun than the Big Chains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Enjoyed my stay here very much as I knew I would after staying in some other Kimpton properties. Room was small but nice, public areas were cozy (be sure to check out the space at the back of the lobby--it's beautiful), restaurant was quite good, staff were friendly. Wine hour was fun but be sure to fill up before the hour ends as they don't waste any time breaking it down. And I would suggest that if wine hour gets moved downstairs because of an event, some chairs be provided. It's an easy walk to Union Square although it's on the border of an iffy-edgy neighorhood. I was attending a conference at a big chain hotel nearby but am so glad I stayed at a place with some personality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kkaseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    655
    188
    57
    41
See reviews for
286
830
120
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We booked this hotel to have a larger room (mediterranean suite) and save a little instead of booking 2 rooms at another hotel. Ended up being same cost. They charge $67/day for valet parking, and next closest cheapest parking is $57. It is absolutely ridiculous. Ended up being nearly $500/day, when we were quoted $325.00. Room service food was terrible, although restaurant downstairs looked nice. Cost us $115.00 for a few sandwiches and desserts, everything came up cold and seemed to have sat there forever before being delivered. Lobby is beautiful, location is good. However, there are a lot of homeless people making a lot of noise every night between midnight and 3 am. Will never stay here again. Very disappointed. Cost us as much as when we stayed at the Ritz!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lindsey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife, son and mother-in-law did a 3 day stay at Thanksgiving. This was our first time to stay at this hotel. We picked it because is was very affordable, but the value and beauty if this hotel stood out. The room size is about average, but they are beautiful and comfortable rooms. There is the traditional complimentary cocktail hour in the evening, which we loved. They also bring out a Wii for the kids during this cocktail hour so the adults could enjoy themselves.

Lots of places to eat close to the hotel. The attached restaurant is pretty good too. Careful (Be vigilant) if you go out wandering in the neighboring Tenderloin district.

A great place to stay and we would go back for sure!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cardhuneat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2,698 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,373 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Pros: convenient location (5 minutes from Union square), extremely attentive doormen (always very nice and helpful, they were outstanding), clean, gorgeous decor, wifi/room/lobby free, comfy living rooms on 1st floor

Cons: very tinny room (438), poor breakfast choices (no buffet)

Besides the 2 cons everything is great (check my reviews) and I highly recommend this hotel.
The doormen were outstanding always very welcoming and helpful (more than the staff in the check-in area). They made me enjoy my stay even more.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HelenaGuerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was going to San Francisco to run the Nike Women's 1/2 marathon and needed a hotel. My friends were at various hotels near Union Square, but a friend mentioned Hotel Monaco and it was within my budget, so I booked it. Very convenient to everywhere in the city. Walked everywhere. Check in was easy and the staff was more than helpful and friendly. I believe it's dog friendly too...which made me like it even more as I was missing my dogs back home. The rooms are small but very well decorated and the beds are comfortable, room was clean and quiet. Loved the hotel bathrobes as they are leopard print..quite fun. Loved the wine tasting happy hour for hotel guests as it gave samples of the local wines nearby. And...they had free 10 min chair massages to introduce you to the spa downstairs.

For me, the best part of this hotel was during race day, the hotel was a block from my start corral and even better was that the bus drop off after the race was in front of my hotel. My friends said they would stay there for any future races.

The food in the restaurant downstairs was really great and we had a few meals there. Close to shopping and transportation. When I go back, I'll stay there again.

Overall a really good find.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMLO3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I really enjoy this hotel. I have stayed there several times. The rooms are small but very nice with nice amenities and interesting decor. The staff is always very friendly with wonderful suggestions for places to eat and visit. It is in the Theater District which is close enough to walk to Union Square. I love the hosted wine happy hour - it is a nice touch to start your evening.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpostal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

While rooms are a little small, the overall hotel is great with very nice amenities and imprecable service. Nice litte extras when you sign up for the frequent stayer program and you can always ask for a nice room with a view.

Great place with a lot of class in San Fran!

Room Tip: Check in early and be a Kimpton reqard member
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bestjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
#35 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 400 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,486 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#38 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 3,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#23 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,726 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,239 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#49 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker San Francisco

Property: The Marker San Francisco
Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marker San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a turn-of-the-century building in the heart of downtown San Francisco, The Marker, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, is located just steps away from the historic beauty of Union Square. Distinct among San Francisco's lifestyle hotels, the signature warmth permeates the property from the service to the design of the interiors. Surrounded by the city's top theaters, restaurants, museums and shops, the urban boutique hotel features 208 newly renovated, vibrant and stylish guestrooms. The Marker celebrates the vibrancy of the city and the dynamism of its guests through innovative programming and thoughtful service. Guests can enjoy thoughtful special amenities including unlimited PressReader access for the digital newsstand, bicycle rentals to explore the city, in-room spa services and more. The lobby living room's plush, over-sized couches and curated local activations beckon guests to stay a while and soak in the comfortable, social atmosphere while unique programs, steeped in local authenticity, connect guests to the best of the destination. In addition, guests can enjoy the hotel's new dining concept, Tratto, a spirited bar-driven restaurant serving rustic Italian fare with modern sensibilities and casual, communal-style dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Marker San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing