We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in sf for a wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #46 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 21, 2013

i had the pleasure of going to sf for a quick weekend trip for a wedding. i made the reservation last minute and ended up at the monaco. nice hotel. centrally located. in fact i have been at the restaurant a few times. the food was good. but most importantly again the hotel is very well located. as for the hotel itself and the amenities, i would categorize it as above average. nothing incredible. one thing i have to say is that many of the things around the hotel are actually very original. neat artwork. neat and creative furniture. the price is not great but then again nothing in san francisco is really great. i would definitely consider the hotel again. one thing i would watch out for is the parking fees. here and in most of san francisco, they are ridiculous.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shark4rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,756)
There are newer reviews for The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,684 - 1,690 of 2,756 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

I'm a regular Kimpton customer - love their service and the fact that they are dog friendly hotels. Monaco is located very close to Union Square, Curran theater etc and is a nice, clean, safe place to be. Love the decor, the hosted wine hour and friendly staff. Lots of good food close by. Valet parking is very pricey so look for alternate parking near by. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sitaananth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We travel to San Francisco for business every year for about one week. For the past 5 years, we have stayed at numerous hotels near Union Square. So far, our favorite hotel in the Union Square area is the Hotel Monaco. This year, we stayed 6 nights. The rooms are bright, quiet, and clean - but relatively small. We stayed on a remodeled wing, so everything was new and almost shrink-wrapped. The front desk crew are always helpful, friendly and proactive to share their knowledge of the city. Breakfast are not included in the price, but we like the coffee (important for us) and the decor. The room has high ceilings with large windows that capture the morning light. Remember Union Square in December is crowded and intense - the Monaco provides protection with a nice cozy atmosphere and friendly staff. Four stars is a very good review for me. No rating inflation here.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on a floor that was just remodeled. Become a Klimpton member.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cmrubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Although the hotel is located within a 5 minute walk of Union Square, I urge you to look elsewhere. Our stay was interrupted by faulty plumbing, exterior noise, terrible housekeeping, loud guests (no wall insulation), and to add insult to injury, the hotel ran through an extra $100/night on my credit card to "guarantee my credit card was worthy." You can do much better elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Overall, hotel is ok but service is great.

Location: Great. Heart of Union Square. Walking distance to restaurants, bars, shopping, Bart, bus, etc.

Rooms: Small. Decorated nicely but very small. Only recommend for 1 or 2 people.

Cleanliness: I'm sure it's clean but the shower tile is discolored. It was enough to wear flips flops while showering. Tile in rest of bathroom looks new & clean.

Service: Great! 2 thumbs up to everyone I encountered. Valet, front desk and restaurant.

Value: Fair price for location.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JenJSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Although we live in San Francisco, we decided to stay here because we were going to an all night event. We chose this place because it was pet friendly, and we were able to bring our Labrador with us versus leaving him at home. The hotel provided a bed and bowls for our dog. AND, the room we got was phenomenal. The bedroom was separated from the living area and the stay was just awesome.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top level. Awesome views of the city!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoeJoeInSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The location -- just off Union Square -- could not be better.
We had a room on the top floor which is always nice but it turned out that we could not get hot water. So the engineer had to be summoned and when he did come up after our 2nd call, he told us to let it run and run and eventually we would get hot water. Which was true -- but do you want to run water for over 10 mins every time you want to take a shower? Plus they tell you that CA is trying to conserve water as a precious resource so here you are wasting it in a major way!

Also made an appt for a hot stone massage in the spa for 3 pm that day. Couple of problems here: no one informed the therapist that it was hot stone massage so she did not have the stones to use -- and she was told that she could leave that day at 3 pm so she was none too pleased to be kept later for another massage. She did a fine deep tissue massage but it was a bit harder to relax in the atmosphere -- plus they had no massage music to play so you could hear people talking as they walked into the sauna & steam nearby. My husband wanted to take a steam so he needed a locker for his clothes -- but they could not give him a key to a locker cuz they had lost the keys to most of the lockers and the only few keys they had were being used. So he had to come back in 30 mins to finally get a locker when someone left.

Not what you would expect from a Kimpton in many regards. I have stayed with them in other locations and loved my experiences so this was a bit of a letdown.

Room Tip: Most likely lower floors have hot water so avoid the top floor since it takes over 10 mins to get ho...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shirley0415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#56 of 230 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
3,689 reviews
Union Square
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Clift Hotel San Francisco
#72 of 230 in San Francisco
3,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $204 - $763 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a turn-of-the-century building in the heart of downtown San Francisco, The Marker, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, is located just steps away from the historic beauty of Union Square. Distinct among San Francisco's lifestyle hotels, the signature warmth permeates the property from the service to the design of the interiors. Surrounded by the city's top theaters, restaurants, museums and shops, the urban boutique hotel features 208 newly renovated, vibrant and stylish guestrooms. The Marker celebrates the vibrancy of the city and the dynamism of its guests through innovative programming and thoughtful service. Guests can enjoy thoughtful special amenities including unlimited PressReader access for the digital newsstand, bicycle rentals to explore the city, in-room spa services and more. The lobby living room's plush, over-sized couches and curated local activations beckon guests to stay a while and soak in the comfortable, social atmosphere while unique programs, steeped in local authenticity, connect guests to the best of the destination. In addition, guests can enjoy the hotel's new dining concept, Tratto, a spirited bar-driven restaurant serving rustic Italian fare with modern sensibilities and casual, communal-style dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing