We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fabulous location, fabulous staff & fabulous suite!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marker San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marker San Francisco
Ranked #49 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous location, fabulous staff & fabulous suite!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at the Monaco the week we were in SF to get married! From the moment we checked in, they made it special with a couple of unexpected congrats for us!hotel is easy to access and the location is wonderful! Very lose to union square without any terrible steep hills to conquer going to and from the shop and restaurants.

Also enjoyed a couples massage at the hotel!

Room Tip: We selected the Monte Carlo Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,153
    735
    216
    70
    43
See reviews for
337
944
126
431
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Another visit to the Hotel Monaco, where we always try to stay on our yearly visits to SF in December (to attend conference). We were in a very recently remodeled 7th floor room with a street view, which was wonderful and not too noisy. The room was lovely, albeit small, but it IS an older hotel, and very well appointed: everything we needed was there. A big flat screen TV, iPod radio, etc. etc. Staff always friendly and we loved the restaurant with great appetizers and good conservation at the bar. We Always return to the Monaco!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BetsyBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

I was very pleased with the hotel, the staff, the rooms and service. We were lucky enough to stay in a remodeled room which was put into inventory on the day of check-in.

The moment you arrive you are treated as royalty. You are always greeted by name which makes it nice. There is a wine hour each evening in the "Living Room" and coffee, hot chocolate and tea in the mornings.

The water was good and hot. I like a powerful shower head and this one was not. It is located near everything so we were able to walk where we wanted to go. The beds were very comfortable with some real pitiful pillows. You have to use both pillows in order to have a Half way decent pillow.

The door was mid aligned so we were not able to lock our door while in the room, not good! The rooms are relatively small but nice. I looked into a room with one bed and thought it was a closet!

Holiday decorations were up which enhanced the beauty and stay.

Room Tip: I don't know what the older rooms look like but the remodeled ones are beautiful. Get a room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsBLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
138 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed at the Kimpton because we wanted to enjoy more shopping and union square on this visit to San Francisco. Still within walking distance of wharf. The rooms were quite small and ours was not ready at check-in time. The hotel offered us a drink at bar while we waited and sent prosecco to our room both of which was appreciated. Parked overnight across the street with the reccomendation of the valet--half the price and definietly appreciated. Decent value and location however we noticed too many homeless people on this trip which was quite sad. Overall a decent visit and acceptable hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanna12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a relaxing two night stay. We have stayed at the Ritz, St Francis, Fairmont, W, and others in this great city. We were treated by the staff like we were at the Four Seasons. The building is charming. The location is great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikekeeshen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensvale, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed here for five nights when we were on a business trip and it was a fantastic hotel. The location wasn't far from Union Square, which is great, just a five minute walk. Don't go down the side of the hotel to the right though because it's not a great area and there are a lot of homeless people constantly begging.Trust me, I am not getting at the homeless people, I think it's terrible and I wish I could give money to them all, but it can be confronting so be prepared.

The actual hotel itself is absolutely beautiful. The staff were friendly, even sorting out a booking issue we had. We stayed in a junior suite and they were spacious, clean, luxurious and wonderful. The rooms were very quiet, we never heard anyone and we were on the street side.

If you're looking for a really amazing place to stay in San Francisco, this is it. It's definitely worth the spend.

Room Tip: Take the Junior Suite if you can. It's amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karmagirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Monaco. The staff was helpful and kind, the rooms were okay (not "wow", just okay...) and the free wine hour was a super nice and homey touch (it actually made me bump up my review from a three star). Overall, I might stay here again, though I wouldn't pick it as a romantic getaway hotel - definitely serves the business traveler more. So, the good and the bad:

Good:
-staff were super pleasant and helpful.
-free and speedy wifi
-centrally located (though, be advised, this is in the middle of the tenderloin - kind of seedy/full of homeless people at night - it is not a beautiful part of town) - a quick walk to union square.
-lovely wine hour in a super comfortable lobby room. hung out there while working. had a great feel.
-free coffee in the morning

Cons:
-TV was ancient (reminded me of a TV i got rid of 15 years ago), channels were few
-rooms were a little roughed up, not super luxe bed and both of my towels had stains (they were clean, just not bleached out)
-they gave me a room (granted, i got the room on priceline) that felt a little subterranean. i didn't really care since it was for business, but i would be less inclined to enjoy the experience if i was there for other purposes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandalaypokerplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
#47 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#10 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,620 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,501 reviews
Union Square
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Clift Hotel San Francisco
#70 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,096 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#53 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker San Francisco

Property: The Marker San Francisco
Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1640 (Formerly Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marker San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a turn-of-the-century building in the heart of downtown San Francisco, The Marker, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, is located just steps away from the historic beauty of Union Square. Distinct among San Francisco's lifestyle hotels, the signature warmth permeates the property from the service to the design of the interiors. Surrounded by the city's top theaters, restaurants, museums and shops, the urban boutique hotel features 208 newly renovated, vibrant and stylish guestrooms. The Marker celebrates the vibrancy of the city and the dynamism of its guests through innovative programming and thoughtful service. Guests can enjoy thoughtful special amenities including unlimited PressReader access for the digital newsstand, bicycle rentals to explore the city, in-room spa services and more. The lobby living room's plush, over-sized couches and curated local activations beckon guests to stay a while and soak in the comfortable, social atmosphere while unique programs, steeped in local authenticity, connect guests to the best of the destination. In addition, guests can enjoy the hotel's new dining concept, Tratto, a spirited bar-driven restaurant serving rustic Italian fare with modern sensibilities and casual, communal-style dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Marker San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing