We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reliable boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #39 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Reliable boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Comfy beds like a starwood, but has a boutique feel. Nice products from Etro (who knew they did more than make loud shirts), good location right above transport and steps from shopping, good service at all hours... And His and His leopard and zebra print robes, and a yoga kit. What's not to love? Like a westin but with character.

Room Tip: Interior facing rooms are quieter, but get a high floor to be away from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,302
    793
    238
    80
    51
See reviews for
391
1,033
140
491
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scranton to San Francisco
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel is quickly becoming one of my all time favorites. The service and hospitality are always tops and their knack for leaving fun treats during my stay keeps me coming back for more. Thanks for another wonderful visit to SF.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite if you like to spread out. And sign up for In-touch. Can't beat the perks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gidyup2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
204 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Had a multi-day stay and found the room to be small but quiet, comfortable and nicely appointed. Staff was very friendly, including front desk, maid service and concierge. I recommend breakfast in the restaurant. It's pricey but its a spectacular room and the pineapple and banana French toast was outstanding. Free wine reception, a Kimpton trademark, was very nice.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTurtle66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calaveras
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Monaco Hotel for the first time. We were in San Francisco for medical reasons at UCSF. We have visited San Francisco quite a few times but never stayed at the Monaco. When we arrived the staff saw that my wife had a medical handicap with one of her feet. They made arrangements to make sure we had a room that could help accomodate her handicap. The Monaco is very convenient to Union Square and downtown. The room was very clean, quiet and comfortable. We were there during the Giant's World Series victory parade but could not hear any of the noise until we went outside to watch the parade. The highlight of our stay was absolutlely their great staff. Benjie was there when we arrived, during our stay and when we left. Benjie could not have been anymore gracious and informative. All of the staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was a pleasent one. They were even offering to deliver ice to our room at anytime for my wife's foot injury. We will definitley stay there again. Monaco Hotel is a strong 4 1/2 star boutique hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tortola1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a beautiful San Francisco Hotel. The service is impeccable and the rooms are incredibly clean. The staff is helpful and makes everyone feel special. The room is small but adequate and beautifully decorated. The hotel is beautiful and worth a walk around inside the hotel and restaurant. The restaurant breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We arrived in Hotel Monaco for the first night of our honeymoon and were surprised to find out that they had not only upgraded us to a jr suite but the manager, Jeremy, had given us a complimentary bottle of champagne in our room. This was a perfect way to start off our honeymoon and it made us feel very happy to have chosen the hotel Monaco for our stay in San Francisco. When a hotel goes the extra mile like that, it definitely makes us want to go with Kimpton hotels wherever we can in the future because it shows they care about your experience more than other places.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
318 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stay at the Monaco whenever I am in San Francisco and they never dissapoint.
The staff is amazing and so friendly. I also love the low calorie room service menu. You can get an amazing meal for really low calories and it tastes amazing!!!!!!
The rooms are fun and hip and the location is so convenient.
I have not tried the spa yet due to my schedule but love the discount and will make sure I try it when I can.
People make the difference and the Monaco stands out in that department!

Room Tip: I like to have ice in my room and there is not a machine on every floor. I would request a floor wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,701 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#38 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,057 reviews
Union Square
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Clift Hotel San Francisco
#72 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1640 (Formerly Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a turn-of-the-century building in the heart of downtown San Francisco, The Marker, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, is located just steps away from the historic beauty of Union Square. Distinct among San Francisco's lifestyle hotels, the signature warmth permeates the property from the service to the design of the interiors. Surrounded by the city's top theaters, restaurants, museums and shops, the urban boutique hotel features 208 newly renovated, vibrant and stylish guestrooms. The Marker celebrates the vibrancy of the city and the dynamism of its guests through innovative programming and thoughtful service. Guests can enjoy thoughtful special amenities including unlimited PressReader access for the digital newsstand, bicycle rentals to explore the city, in-room spa services and more. The lobby living room's plush, over-sized couches and curated local activations beckon guests to stay a while and soak in the comfortable, social atmosphere while unique programs, steeped in local authenticity, connect guests to the best of the destination. In addition, guests can enjoy the hotel's new dining concept, Tratto, a spirited bar-driven restaurant serving rustic Italian fare with modern sensibilities and casual, communal-style dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Despegar.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing