We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place with fab restaurant, bar and spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #40 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
london
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent place with fab restaurant, bar and spa”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Can't fault this place, had great service from start to finish. The bar on Friday nights was buzzing and worth a pre dinner drink. The restaurant was great food and service (Philip was our waiter) was perfect. The spa is nice an a quiet and location is dead central. Worth joining the online club as well to get free stuff. We are staying in kipston in portland and seattle as well in next few days as we were so impressed.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonic434343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,384
    845
    258
    88
    56
See reviews for
424
1,100
149
523
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

During our visit in San Francisco, we were advised it is not a particularly economically priced city by American standards. We certainly experienced this expense at the Monaco Hotel. Our Queen Deluxe room was quiet (being at the back of the hotel) but it certainly wasn’t spacious or luxurious like in the website photos! And the Grand Cafe did not seem especially “value for money” either.

The Monaco Hotel was originally an Art Deco building but our room was decorated in pale green and yellow striped wallpaper, plus a navy blue and cream striped canopy over the bed, with dark wood furniture and white bed linen. The bathroom was wallpapered in narrow stripes of raspberry pink and gold – all very eye watering. Our bed was a proper double and very comfortable to sleep on. The feather pillows were quickly swapped for firmer (foam) pillows when asked. The large writing desk had discrete electrical outlets that we didn’t find until our second last day unfortunately. The bathroom outlet was only for electric shavers. The shower head was over a shallow (child size) bath, with good water pressure but at night the hot water took an extraordinarily long length of time to come through.

Our main problem with the room was there was no floor space to store our two medium sized suitcases. A single traveller might be able to empty one suitcase into the single 3-drawer bedside cabinet plus walk-in robe (with its limited number of hangers provided). Unfortunately the walk-in robe also held the room’s safe so further limiting the storage space plus the lighting was so low in the room overall we would never have been able to sort through our clothing in a suitcase if we could have placed one in the walk-in robe.

The service from all staff was super friendly and efficient. We didn’t partake of the free wine hour in the afternoons, the morning coffee bar, nor the Spa, so can’t offer a comment on these. The Business Centre charged $6 per 15 minutes for use of the computers plus nearly $2 per B&W page to print, although airline checkin was offered free of charge. Location wise: the Monaco is only 2 blocks from Union Square which is better for business travellers and serious shoppers. Tourists may prefer to stay closer to Fishermans’ Wharf for the attractions and cheaper eateries there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McGAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Time and time again, I find myself back at a Kimpton hotel. The hotel staff are always incredibly helpful and friendly, and you are almost always guaranteed a pleasant stay.

This property is conveniently located a few blocks away from Union Square, but far enough not to be bam smack in the middle of the hustle and bustle. There are plenty of good restaurant options close to the hotel, so I recommend exploring Nob Hill or a little further up in Russian Hill. First Crush, a small wine bar a few blocks away, was a fantastic place to have a casual lunch. Breakfast at the hotel was underwhelming as there are limited options and was also expensive for what it was. A smoothie + pastry cost $14! Definitely recommend venturing outside the hotel for breakfast.

The room itself was clean and comfortable, and as usual the bed was incredibly comfortable - not too soft, not too firm. The amenities are of a good quality and the hotel provides additional amenities if you forgot to bring it - alternatively, there is a Walgreen's across the street that is open until midnight.

There was a bit of a mix-up at the hotel front desk and they had me down to check out two days earlier than I was supposed to, but they cleared that up straight away and extended my stay. Wifi service in the hotel is very reliable and Internet speed is fast, my two (small) gripes with the hotel is that the shower takes a while to heat up so I would have to turn the water on for a few minutes before the water was hot enough. Secondly, when I checked out and tried to hail a cab to head to the airport, none of the valet helped me secure transportation, and didn't help me with my bags either. A little disappointing to end the trip on that note, but it won't deter me from staying at another Kimpton hotel in the future.

Room Tip: 538 was very quiet, but there's no view to speak of - looks onto a wall of more hotel rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iridiscent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is my favorite hotel in San Fran. The rooms have great character ... The wine hour is superb ... And the service is outstanding. If you have a chance, go to the restaurant bar for happy hour and order the Goat Cheese and Olives.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etn1459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We arrived at the Hotel Monaco late on a Wednesday night after a long drive from LA - check in was super quick and easy and the service felt genuine. My initial gripe or rather, my only gripe at all was the highly priced valet parking - over $100 for 2 nights. Yes, there are local parks nearby but we wanted our stay to be practical and hassle free but you do pay for it here. However wireless was free and super quick which was a great plus.

Hotel location is great - and as long as your not easily offended by the masses of homeless/beggars you'll be fine. During the day they are not as prevalent but standing outside the hotel at night on the second evening we encountered 10 begs for money in as many minutes. I assume it is the same all over SF though.

Within 5 minutes, your at Union Square - and we decided to walk down to the ferry port through the Financial District which took around 45 minutes but was very pleasant and a great way to see the city.

The rooms although small (three rooms and all very inconsistent sizes - must be luck of the draw!) were immaculate and the beds were super comfortable. The bathroom and amenities were fabulous and the leopard print bathrobes were cute.

We didn't eat here or use the spa facilities as they closed at 9 p.m however the lobby, seating areas around the hotel were lovely and the complimentary tea/coffee and wine hour are a really considered touch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhi_NZ274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was a real nice hotel to stay in. I went to the city with my friend and we had an awesome time. I really liked it and will seek out Hotel Monaco in the future as a place to stay at. Didn't care too much for San Fransisco though, too many homeless people on the streets.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jpkneifl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed during the Oracle World Conference. Staff helpful, and in most cases very helpful. I didn't eat here so can't review the dining quality and I didn't use the Spa. Public rooms and Bedroom clean, well furnished and comfortable. Close to union square.

Niggles, only two.

The mini bar was not re-stocked. There is a Walgreen over the road so I bought my own diet coke. The laundry service sent my shirts back poorly ironed. Having said that, I would stay again.

Room Tip: My room had no view other than other bedroom windows. Ask for a room with a view if you want one. Di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 229 in San Francisco
569 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#57 of 229 in San Francisco
424 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#58 of 229 in San Francisco
4,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a turn-of-the-century building in the heart of downtown San Francisco, The Marker, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, is located just steps away from the historic beauty of Union Square. Distinct among San Francisco's lifestyle hotels, the signature warmth permeates the property from the service to the design of the interiors. Surrounded by the city's top theaters, restaurants, museums and shops, the urban boutique hotel features 208 newly renovated, vibrant and stylish guestrooms. The Marker celebrates the vibrancy of the city and the dynamism of its guests through innovative programming and thoughtful service. Guests can enjoy thoughtful special amenities including unlimited PressReader access for the digital newsstand, bicycle rentals to explore the city, in-room spa services and more. The lobby living room's plush, over-sized couches and curated local activations beckon guests to stay a while and soak in the comfortable, social atmosphere while unique programs, steeped in local authenticity, connect guests to the best of the destination. In addition, guests can enjoy the hotel's new dining concept, Tratto, a spirited bar-driven restaurant serving rustic Italian fare with modern sensibilities and casual, communal-style dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing