We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always choose a Kimpton!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #48 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We love the Kimpton chain of hotels in all cities. They are updated with a fun style. They always have great toiletries and most of all wine hour! The wine hour here was great with small snacks and free massages!!! The mornings had wonderful coffee and tea bar including all options of milks and sugars.

The manager in the restaurant here was very helpful with selecting restauarants to our style in the area. Also the concierge Eddy was VERY helpful. He recommended a wonderful lookout spot on our drive to Sausalito.

Our one negatives with this particular hotel was that we were given a less $ room than booked as what was available upon check in, and then on check out they said they had no note of such even though the lesser rate was written on the key card when we checked in and I didn't notice until we got to our room and when I called down Charlotte verified it. My word wasn't good enough for them to honor the lesser price I know was written and told to me.... thankfully the key holder was still in the garbage from days prior and they honored it after I showed them.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,936)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,904 - 1,910 of 2,936 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

I recently stayed at Hotel Monaco while attending a conference in the area. The property is beautiful and the service was amazing. It's in a great location and convenient to just about anywhere in the city. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone planning to spend some time in San Francisco.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeanCRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband & I recently traveled to SF for 5 days to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. It was our first trip to the west coast. From the moment we arrived at the hotel we felt right at home. The staff, particularly Charlotte, was TERRIFIC! She got us checked in even though it was early in the morning and our room was not quite ready. Tim and Andrew were always willing to offer dining recommendations or directions as to where we wanted to go. I can not compliment the staff enough. I did not find the hotel's neighborhood questionable at all. My husband & I always felt safe. The location of the hotel is so convenient to the cable car, BART, & shopping. There is a Walgreens and a small grocery store right across the street which came in very handy for picking up snacks & beverages that we wanted to take back to our room late at night. We had a wonderful time in CA and Hotel Monaco got it off to a fabulous start!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights during our stay in SF. The staff was very welcoming, visible and helpful. Andrew(concierge) was more than willing to help out with any questions and offer recommendations for dining and entertainment. We actually acted upon his recommendations and found them to be satisfying to our needs. Thanks Andrew. The hotel has an artistic motif and is well maintained. The hotel room is furnished with cable tv,full bath,stocked fridge($),and a comfortable sleeping arrangement. I recommend a stay here but give it four stars based on the parking fee and its relative location from a sketchy area called,"Tenderloin".

Room Tip: Always let your preference known. If
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coolhandluke13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We needed a room in a central location for a short, 3 day, holiday in San Francisco (SFO), and somewhere to easily drop off the hire car, as the car isn't needed in SFO. The Hotel Monaco in Gearly Street proved to be ideal in both respects and proved to be very conveniently situated for Union Square, the shops, restaurants and the cable car. The hire car return is just around the block in O'Farrell Street. We treated ourselves to a mini-suite which cost on average $318/night or $362 with local taxes (ie. about £225/night total). Our room was just the right size, as US city hotel rooms can tend to be quite snug, and so it was worth the extra expense. The Grand Cafe restaurant is in two parts, a very large and more formal dining room decorated in an art deco style and a more informal cafe bar with an entrance from Geary Street; the menu is the same for both. We ate in the informal Cafe on the first night and in the main restaurant on the last night. The latter cost $116 for two high quality entrees and a good bottle of Californian wine and my steak was really excellent.

Room Tip: Our mini-suite was Room 420 which was on Geary Street and was right next to the lift which made it c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schulkx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This was my third stay at the Monaco within the last couple of years. I usually have a layover in San Francisco on a yearly r-t-w trip to/from Asia. I’ve stayed in several hotels in SF over the years and in this price range, the Monaco has proven to be my favorite boutique hotel in the area by far.

To start, the lobbies are just lovely. Small, intimate, two fireplaces, art deco feel; for a small hotel, it’s very elegant and welcoming. The porters/concierge are excellent and happy to help no matter what the request. The front desk staff is enthusiastic, helpful, professional and efficient. I had several questions about check-out, parking, etc. which were promptly answered (as did a couple other people checking in—one lady wanted to be far away from pets and her room was changed to a no-pet floor; another wanted a certain p.c. set up that the hotel could not provide as the entire hotel uses wi-fi now, so she was directed to the business center after a few calls to the tech staff were made—quick and impressive).

The rooms are not particularly large (I was staying in the basic queen room this time), but they are charming, well designed, cozy and intimate. I liked the bathroom set up, as well as furry bathrobes and socks provided during the stay. The beds are very comfortable and duvet/linens/pillows wonderfully sink-in-able. As a Kimpton member, I received the $10 voucher for the mini bar (a nice touch) and there was a US$ 30 discount on a massage which I did not use. I was on the 7th floor in an internal room (no view) and it was very quiet; perhaps my room had been remodeled as it was very clean and tasteful.

I love the fact that the hotel is pet friendly and more than once while having a glass of wine during the daily 5-6pm wine hour (again, a very nice touch), I’ve been surrounded by beloved four-paw companions who welcome some petting (which is meaningful for many of us who travel and have to leave our own pets behind). I do wish the Kimptons would stop the goldfish pet offering—although perhaps not ultimately cruel, I doubt the little fishbowls are well aerated and being moved about from room to room is ultimately not in the fishes’ best interest (as one reviewer noted, the fish delivered to her room died…..if such an offering is to continue, I suggest replacing real fish with little automatic plastic fish…amusing and more humane….).

Coffee offered in the lobby in the mornings is nice, as is the fresh fruit water throughout the day. The location, as well noted by other reviews, is not the best, but I’ve found that San Francisco in general is full of homeless/pan handlers, so it didn’t feel much different within the hotel’s vicinity. I walked for over an hour to get to shopping area I enjoy (Union Street) and although I passed by many homeless/pan handlers, I did not feel threatened at any time; just sad. I didn’t eat in the hotel, but did get a glass of wine/dessert one night from the hotel restaurant to enjoy in front of the fire; heaven! I really enjoy my stays at the Monaco and will stay again in the future.

Room Tip: Higher floor is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Asiaexpat81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Everything was just right, it was our Anniversary and they left us a champagne as a gift. The location is great, 5 minutes from Union Square. Clean, staff members are very helpful. The only thing missing is a room with view and a little bit small but not tiny. Fridge and safe were in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#17 of 231 in San Francisco
693 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#37 of 231 in San Francisco
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 231 in San Francisco
3,807 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#52 of 231 in San Francisco
581 reviews
Union Square
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Clift Hotel San Francisco
#76 of 231 in San Francisco
3,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1640 (Formerly Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $202 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a turn-of-the-century building in the heart of downtown San Francisco, The Marker, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, is located just steps away from the historic beauty of Union Square. Distinct among San Francisco's lifestyle hotels, the signature warmth permeates the property from the service to the design of the interiors. Surrounded by the city's top theaters, restaurants, museums and shops, the urban boutique hotel features 208 newly renovated, vibrant and stylish guestrooms. The Marker celebrates the vibrancy of the city and the dynamism of its guests through innovative programming and thoughtful service. Guests can enjoy thoughtful special amenities including unlimited PressReader access for the digital newsstand, bicycle rentals to explore the city, in-room spa services and more. The lobby living room's plush, over-sized couches and curated local activations beckon guests to stay a while and soak in the comfortable, social atmosphere while unique programs, steeped in local authenticity, connect guests to the best of the destination. In addition, guests can enjoy the hotel's new dining concept, Tratto, a spirited bar-driven restaurant serving rustic Italian fare with modern sensibilities and casual, communal-style dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing