We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always love staying here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #40 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Always love staying here!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This was my third stay at the Monaco within the last couple of years. I usually have a layover in San Francisco on a yearly r-t-w trip to/from Asia. I’ve stayed in several hotels in SF over the years and in this price range, the Monaco has proven to be my favorite boutique hotel in the area by far.

To start, the lobbies are just lovely. Small, intimate, two fireplaces, art deco feel; for a small hotel, it’s very elegant and welcoming. The porters/concierge are excellent and happy to help no matter what the request. The front desk staff is enthusiastic, helpful, professional and efficient. I had several questions about check-out, parking, etc. which were promptly answered (as did a couple other people checking in—one lady wanted to be far away from pets and her room was changed to a no-pet floor; another wanted a certain p.c. set up that the hotel could not provide as the entire hotel uses wi-fi now, so she was directed to the business center after a few calls to the tech staff were made—quick and impressive).

The rooms are not particularly large (I was staying in the basic queen room this time), but they are charming, well designed, cozy and intimate. I liked the bathroom set up, as well as furry bathrobes and socks provided during the stay. The beds are very comfortable and duvet/linens/pillows wonderfully sink-in-able. As a Kimpton member, I received the $10 voucher for the mini bar (a nice touch) and there was a US$ 30 discount on a massage which I did not use. I was on the 7th floor in an internal room (no view) and it was very quiet; perhaps my room had been remodeled as it was very clean and tasteful.

I love the fact that the hotel is pet friendly and more than once while having a glass of wine during the daily 5-6pm wine hour (again, a very nice touch), I’ve been surrounded by beloved four-paw companions who welcome some petting (which is meaningful for many of us who travel and have to leave our own pets behind). I do wish the Kimptons would stop the goldfish pet offering—although perhaps not ultimately cruel, I doubt the little fishbowls are well aerated and being moved about from room to room is ultimately not in the fishes’ best interest (as one reviewer noted, the fish delivered to her room died…..if such an offering is to continue, I suggest replacing real fish with little automatic plastic fish…amusing and more humane….).

Coffee offered in the lobby in the mornings is nice, as is the fresh fruit water throughout the day. The location, as well noted by other reviews, is not the best, but I’ve found that San Francisco in general is full of homeless/pan handlers, so it didn’t feel much different within the hotel’s vicinity. I walked for over an hour to get to shopping area I enjoy (Union Street) and although I passed by many homeless/pan handlers, I did not feel threatened at any time; just sad. I didn’t eat in the hotel, but did get a glass of wine/dessert one night from the hotel restaurant to enjoy in front of the fire; heaven! I really enjoy my stays at the Monaco and will stay again in the future.

Room Tip: Higher floor is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asiaexpat81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,402
    855
    268
    90
    62
See reviews for
440
1,117
151
527
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Everything was just right, it was our Anniversary and they left us a champagne as a gift. The location is great, 5 minutes from Union Square. Clean, staff members are very helpful. The only thing missing is a room with view and a little bit small but not tiny. Fridge and safe were in the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We spent three nights at this hotel in August and every aspect of it met or exceeded our expectations.
Straightaway upon entering the impressive lobby area we detected an aura of calmness and elegance after our long and hectc journey.
We had a room on the second floor that fronted Geary Street. Only on a Saturday night did we hear the occasional shout or yell from the street outside, otherwise it was very peaceful. The room was beautifully decorated and was very clean; the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. Usually a light sleeper, I slept like a log! The bath doubles up as a jacuzzi and has a good shower overhead.
There is an ornate marble staircase that goes up to the second floor, and at the bottom are some very good sculptures in memory of Bill Kimpton, the founder of the hotels group, in particular The Tree of Life.
Unexpectedley, upon checking in we were told that we would both be entitled to complimentary continental breakfast in the adjoining Grand Cafe. This consisted of a glass of orange, a pastry, toast or muffin, a glass of fresh friut and coffee. The dining area is Art Deco in style with wonderful high ceilings and enormous lampshades.
We only had chance to sample the wine tasting hour once, where you could select from a red, white or rose wine - more than one if you so wished.
It has often been mentioned in other reviews that there is the occasional homeless person hanging around just along the street to Union Square. This is true; however we encountered homeless people wherever we went in San Francisco - unfortunatety it occurs in many towns and cities. At no time did we feel threatened by them though, just saddened by their plight.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterSitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here on a flying visit to San Francisco earlier this year. A really quirky hotel, perhaps a little bit over priced and a the rooms are a little bit dated but overall I really liked it and would stay again when I'm back in town!

Make sure you take advantage of the complimentary wine - delish!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington,DE
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

All that one really needs at a hotel is a clean bed and bathroom, and friendly staff. Everything seemed clean but old, and staff were pretentious and bored. Breakfast was pleasant. Disappointed that there is no express checkout option. Location is fairly good.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JonnyNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

A friend and I recently stayed at the Hotel Monaco for 5 nights while touring San Francisco. Most impressive feature- the staff. We were always greeted with a friendly smile when leaving or returning to the hotel, and we were quickly accommodated when we requested a room switch to two double beds. On our last night, we phoned the front desk with a noise complaint from a room adjoining ours and the situation was handled promptly. The room was modern, always clean, offered loads of extra toiletries, and a good size considering the somewhat crowded nature of the city. Very little noise from the traffic outside. The complimentary coffee in the morning, and late afternoon wine tasting were also great perks! Finally, the central location was most convenient for touring, dining, and shopping (we didn't have a vehicle). I thoroughly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Somanyplacestogo500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here for 5 nights over the Labor Day weekend. Having read previous reviews complaining about the size of the rooms, we booked a deluxe suite- which worked out perfectly for us.

Before we left for our vacation, my husband had seen online that the hotel was now offering free valet parking- so he called to see if we could get that added to our previously booked room. Not only did the woman who took his call give us the free valet parking, she gave us a lower rate on the same room we had booked months ago!

The hotel is close to Union Square and right on the street, so we had asked for a quiet room and brought ear plugs just in case. We were placed at the back of the hotel, away from Geary Street and the elevator- which left us with not much of a view, but that was just fine. There were a few random noises/sirens at night but nothing that prevented us from sleeping- we didn't end up using the ear plugs. The bathroom had a nice large counter top and a few amenities I didn't expect- cotton balls, q-tips and a lighted makeup mirror. Just wish the bathroom had a fan, as it got quite warm and fogged up the mirror when showering. Which wouldn't be such a big deal if there was another mirror anywhere else in the suite, which there was not. Definitely could use a mirror outside the bathroom.

The hotel room itself was clean but is in need of a face lift. The wallpaper is marked up and peeling in spots. The location of the hotel is bordering the tenderloin area, which is a seedy area of the city. And there are pretty much homeless people everywhere in SF. For the most part they don't even talk to you so we didn't have any problems with them, it just got depressing to see so many homeless after a while. Otherwise the location is good if you decide to use their public transportation system- it's not too far from the cable cars and multiple Muni bus lines.

The hotel offers complimentary coffee in the mornings from 5-10am and wine hour from 5-6pm. Unfortunately we were never at the hotel to experience the wine hour, but we did enjoy the coffee. Most days they had hot and iced coffee options. They also have fresh fruit water in the lobby throughout the day. There is a list in the bathroom of many complimentary items they have if you forgot something at home. And there is a Walgreens right across the street if you need any supplies or snacks.

Wifi is free for Kimpton In Touch members, which is free to sign up for at kimpton's website. Also when you sign up with them, you get $10 free from the mini bar/snack bar in the room.

The staff here was wonderful. Very friendly- always asking if we needed help with anything. Even the housekeeping staff were friendly when we saw them in the hallways. The service here definitely makes up for the parts of the hotel that are a little run-down. We would definitely go back to this hotel and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cptacek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#51 of 229 in San Francisco
452 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#37 of 229 in San Francisco
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,773 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#60 of 229 in San Francisco
4,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a turn-of-the-century building in the heart of downtown San Francisco, The Marker, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, is located just steps away from the historic beauty of Union Square. Distinct among San Francisco's lifestyle hotels, the signature warmth permeates the property from the service to the design of the interiors. Surrounded by the city's top theaters, restaurants, museums and shops, the urban boutique hotel features 208 newly renovated, vibrant and stylish guestrooms. The Marker celebrates the vibrancy of the city and the dynamism of its guests through innovative programming and thoughtful service. Guests can enjoy thoughtful special amenities including unlimited PressReader access for the digital newsstand, bicycle rentals to explore the city, in-room spa services and more. The lobby living room's plush, over-sized couches and curated local activations beckon guests to stay a while and soak in the comfortable, social atmosphere while unique programs, steeped in local authenticity, connect guests to the best of the destination. In addition, guests can enjoy the hotel's new dining concept, Tratto, a spirited bar-driven restaurant serving rustic Italian fare with modern sensibilities and casual, communal-style dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing