We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“you get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SF Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SF Plaza Hotel
Ranked #207 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
honolulu
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“you get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

If you are looking for a nice, comfortable, ritzy or romantic hotel......then don't even think of staying at this place. You will be sadly disappointed. If you are budget minded and are just looking for a decently priced, safe place to rest your head in a good location then you may like this place. Many of the older hotel rooms in san francisco are on the smaller size. If you want a spacious room with some amenities then you should look for the newer hotels but also be prepared to pay a lot more also.

This is an older hotel so the rooms are small, walls are thin and the elevator seems slow and incredibly old. The location is fantastic, right next to the chinatown gateway. With chinatown at your doorstep there are many chinese restaurants in the area in addition to a coffee shop across the street, subway restaurant half a block away and other eateries in the neighborhood. there aren't many frills to this place so be prepared to have most of your experiences away from the hotel.

I always make it a habit in any hotel to check my surroundings and the bed for bed bugs. While I haven't encountered any of my many stays at the astoria (or any hotel for that matter) I feel it is a must thing to do after checking in. That way you won't encounter any unexpected crawly visitors or bites at night.

so if you aren't picky and just want a place to rest your head after seeing san francisco then this is a good fit for you. If you are looking for a 2 1/2 or more star hotel with frills and amenities and good service then you should look for the better hotels but be prepared to pay more.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawaiitravellerinsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    103
    147
    66
    76
See reviews for
51
174
55
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NORFOLK , ENGLAND
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

This is one of the very worst experiences that I have ever had. We arrived in San Francisco late and were delighted to find somewhere to rest our heads after a long drive from LA. The room was small and we were immediately hit by a dank, musty smell as soon as we opened the door. Dropping our bags inside we set off to find something to eat. On our return at midnight we spent the next hour trying to book another hotel. This hotel is disgraceful - the bed linen, towels and furnishings are filthy. We were unable to sleep all night (despite being absolutely shattered). The following day my husband and I were covered in flea bites. We had tickets for the breakfast but couldn't wait to book out. A horrible experience and I would have liked to have complained but with the hotel being in Chinatown and with us being tourists we did not know what the repercussions could be. AVOID if you want to enjoy your stay in San Francisco - the Radisson at Fisherman's Wharf was only a little dearer and the American Best Inns was cheaper.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lowloader24_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
142 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

If you're traveling solo, can't beat the price and location. All I want is a clean bed, clean shower and a place to drop my clothes. At the gates of Chinatown, couple of blocks from Market St and within walking distance of all tourist attractions including the Wharf and AT &T Park. Street noise was only issue. Looking forward to another visit and I'll be back to the Astoria.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAUL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

I’ve been to San Francisco more than a dozen times and stayed in various hotels all over the city; everything from a 4star near Fisherman’s Wharf to run-down establishments in the Tenderloin, with some fancy boutique hotels in-between. After a week in 2007 and another in 2008 I came back to the ASTORIA in October 2010 for a third stay, this time 9 consecutive nights. And guess what, from all I know it is still the best deal in town, hands down!

Seriously folks: Name a major US city where you can find a decent (clean and safe!) hotel in a prime downtown location for $60 per night, breakfast included. Not in the 1950s but today!

Yes, it is sparse. Yes, they have their own thrill ride, the “elevator”. Yes, it is noisy and the windows have no insulation qualities whatsoever. Yes, the breakfast is as basic as can be. Yes, the breakfast room is somewhat depressing. Yes, the staff is not from the cheerful & hugging school of customer service. Yes, it carries no star rating and no AAA blessings. So what?

I want a safe place, a convenient location, a half-decent bed, a clean bathroom, a regular TV, helpful staff when needed, and a rate that leaves the bigger part of my budget for my daytime activities. The ASTORIA does all that. I will return there for a fourth stay, no doubt about that!

PS: If you don’t mind waking up 6 AM each morning to enormous street noise, ask for a room facing Bush Street. They have plenty of daylight, which is a great compensation for the lack of sleep. The rooms facing Grant Street or the courtyard are quieter, but often displeasingly dark.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fossilizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Upon reading reviews, I think some people are forgetting that this is a budget hotel in an expensive city. Yes, it is an old hotel with thin walls; the room was simple but clean, the bathroom was small but functional. We did not find stains on our sheets and maid service was available everyday; although, we opted not to have our linens changed daily. Yes, the shower caulking was moldy and black. We did not take advantage of the breakfast as we wanted to experience breakfast/lunch/dinner outside of the hotel.

If you look carefully at the price of lodging at the hotel, you will see that there is a 14% tax that is not included in their quoted prices. All the hotels I researched in the city include this tax.

The location is superb and we never felt our safety was compromised. When we return to San Francisco, we will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinarico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

good location...near chinatown...room was very small and cramped...not very clean, no air con or fan...only air you get is from the window...windows can be open wide and no locks so unsafe...towels were a little stained...lift can only hold 3 ppl and felt like it was going to break down any time....lift broke down when i was there...and i stayed on the 7th floor! good for 1-2 nights stay if you want to explore san frans..otherwise dont go back again...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dez102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

The room was small and dirty. The mattress and pillows were stiff and gave my boyfriend and me back and neck aches. We wound up getting our own pillows from my car on our second night. Each and every move on the mattress sounded like an extremely old, creaky door. I don't think the shower has ever been cleaned (moldy and filthy.) The shower didn't work properly - either boiling hot or freezing cold and very weak shower spray. My boyfriend and I placed a plastic bag on the shower floor to stand on. I would suggest bringing water shoes or rubber sandals. We found holes, stains and long, black strands of hair sticking out of the towels hanging on the shower door. The hair dryer given to us at the front desk only blew out cold air taking us three times as long to dry our hair- which was entirely inconvenient as my boyfriend and I had tickets to a show and were getting dinner just before. We weren't given complimentary tea or coffee. The room offered beyond poor lighting. The only way to really light up our room was to open the blinds, which were heavily dusted/dirt soiled, and viewed directly across to another building and their windows. I could watch the couples' television from across the way from our window. The location was convenient. The room was quiet. The parking cost us $45 for the weekend....they didn't mention that part in the description and we didn't necessary budget for it. They also add tax after you check in which increases your initial total. For the price we payed, plus what we payed for parking, we probably could have found something much nicer and more comfortable. We won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank radiohigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Encore Express Hotel
#130 of 236 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#151 of 236 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 758 reviews
Layne Hotel
#205 of 236 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#184 of 236 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Union Square
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#146 of 236 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 1,026 reviews
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#185 of 236 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SF Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SF Plaza Hotel

Property: SF Plaza Hotel
Address: 510 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3697 (Formerly Astoria Hotel)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SF Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your SF Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel San Francisco
Astoria San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing