We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Cheerful”
Review of SF Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SF Plaza Hotel
Ranked #202 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Hotel Astoria is in a great location right next door to the entrance to Chinatown. It is also a short walk to Alamo car rental so very handy if you are using them. The rooms at the Astoria are small and modest and the street can be a bit noisy but for the price were very good. Having not been to San Fran before we enjoyed being able to open our old wooden window to lean out in to the street and soak up the feel of the city. The room rate includes a breakfast which was pretty average.. toast and jam with sometimes a muffin, a bagle or an egg served in a run down old room with barely enough seats for everyone but it was adequate and free so who's complaining! We returned to the Astoria at the end of our trip for a couple of nights and the room wasn't as good so its a bit hit and miss.. the lift is tiny and can take an age to arrive so as long as you don't mind walking down the stairs to get out some times I would recommend this place as a great cheap stay.

Room Tip: Pick a room that includes a bathroom.. not much more expensive and saves sharing with random strange...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulesMarieO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    108
    151
    67
    83
See reviews for
54
184
57
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Great location (Bush @ Grant) next to the Chinatown Gate. Offers rooms with bath or with shared bath. No prolem getting into heated bathroom, not real busy. Shower stall, toilet, sink only, no tub. Reasonably clean and modern. No problem with water temp/pressure in 5th floor bath.
Corner room #517 very basic, 12x14 with closet, sink, medicine cabinet, small elec wall heater, twin beds, nightstand, 1 wooden chair, 1 lamp, plus ceiling light. TV did not work; desk clerk said we could change rooms, but TV there might not work. Two large windows w/very dusty mini-blinds. Street noises easlily heard, with windows closed, but that's life in the big city (sirens, clock chime, trucks, even loud pedestrians).

Room Tip: f TV is important to you, "sample" room and TV before moving in. Lower floors make it easi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is by far the cheapest hotel I've found in SF, even cheaper than the so called hostels close by.
The staff is extremely nice and helpful, and even though they were very booked, they somehow managed to extend our stay not by one, but three whole nights because we enjoyed the place and the prices so much.
The room is nice and clean. And yes, you can hear other people in the surrounding rooms, like if they are talking loudly or showering. But that didn't bother me at all, it's part of the traveling experience and I slept just fine.
Yes, the bed was squeaky - aren't they always, even at fancy places? The main thing is that it was clean and comfortable.

As for breakfast - its not a feast - what do you expect at 60 dollars pr night for a room? BUT they do have the world's best muffins every single morning and I got an addiction while staying there. There's muffins and bagels and toast. We usually bought yoghurt and fruit the night before which we ate with the offered breakfast. worked just fine.
awesome location.
But of course, you get what you pay for, so if you would like wi-fi in the room, a dead silent room and an awesome breakfast go to the other side of the street to Triton and pay 4 times the amount.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laerkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

If location and price are the most important factors, and if you can pretty much fall asleep anywhere, then go ahead and stay at the Hotel Astoria. But if you have to have a good night sleep then you are taking a chance. I am sensitive to the noise around me so this was not the right hotel for me. I could deal with the old funky room, the antique TV (no remote), the smell, the broken deadbolt, the leaking toilet (even it that meant having to turn off the water at night to avoid listening to the constant dripping), the pitiful breakfast not available before 8 am (thank god for Starbucks across the street, and the many wonderful cafés around), the lack of Wifi in the bedroom (I can't even remember last time I stayed in a hotel that did not have wifi in each room), but I could not deal with the walls so thin that I could hear my neighbor talking loudly, then snoring, and each time his bed was squeaking so bad that it startled me everytime he turned around in his bed...My bed was just as noisy, so I am sure he could hear me as well... The staff was nice enough to give me a different room (with no neighbors) the next morning, but no, I would not stay there again, because I just can’t enjoy a great location if I haven’t slept at night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcjude22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Tijuana, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great location reasonable prices great for a weekend in the city. Walking distance from union square, just at the gate of China town if you use the hop on hop of city tour one of the stops is right in front of the hotel
Shuttle service is a plus. ...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hotel is greatly located directly above the gate to China Town. It's very close to all the shops and cable car. But our room was awful. Yes, it was clean, the bath too, but the beds were horrible, the room stank of urine and it just didn't make you feel comfortable, even disgusted. I won't go back there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaeli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This place is great if you are on a budget. Just make sure that you don't have high expectations and you will be pleasantly surprised. I found the best rates to be on their web site, hotelastoriasf.com. There are 5 levels of rooms available. The economy room is basically a no frills room. Small room, 1 single bed and you share a bathroom and shower. There is a sink in your room to brush your teeth and wash your hands. This room doesn't include continental breakfast. The economy plus room is a larger room but with it's own private bath and 2 single beds. The regular room is a larger room with a queen sized bed. The deluxe room is larger and contains 2 double beds and the super deluxe room is a suite. Other than the economy room the other room types all include a private bath and continental breakfast. The rates range from $49 for the economy to $89 for the suite. While rates may fluctuate they don't seem to fluctuate as much as the travel sites.

As with other older hotels in san francisco, the hotel is creaky, walls are paper thin, tv channels are very limited (tv picture isn't the greatest either) elevators are (agonizingly) slow and the rooms are smallish. Rooms facing the street or alley could be noisy. Because this is a budget hotel don't expect many amenities other than the free wifi on the 2nd floor and front desk. As you can see from other comments the condition of the rooms (and cleanliness) all vary. You should also check the mattresses for signs of bedbugs just to be safe but I have never encountered bedbugs there.

The astoria is good for a single (male) person with low expectations. If you can afford it you might want to find better accomodations, same if you are a female, or a family, expect good service, or have higher expectations they you might be better off at a more expensive hotel (possibly paying double or triple what the astoria charges). But if you are just looking for a safe secure room in a safe neighborhood, centrally located and right at the chinatown gate then the astoria might fit your bill.

I took the economy room for $49 a night. Although I had to use the community bathroom and shower I never encountered anyone else using the facilities. I was there during fleet week and returned the week after and encountered the nike womens marathon. Both times the hotel was booked and contained a mix of singles and couples and also females.

Room Tip: this place is a safe and secure budget place to hang your head for the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawaiitravellerinsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#152 of 229 in San Francisco
839 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#77 of 229 in San Francisco
1,330 reviews
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#172 of 229 in San Francisco
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Music City Hotel
#118 of 229 in San Francisco
385 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#124 of 229 in San Francisco
769 reviews
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#184 of 229 in San Francisco
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SF Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SF Plaza Hotel

Property: SF Plaza Hotel
Address: 510 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3697 (Formerly Astoria Hotel)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SF Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SF Plaza Hotel is at the heart of San Francisco with many famous attractions nearby. It is the perfect walking distance to popular destinations, such as Chinatown, the Financial District and San Francisco's renowned Union Square. Our hotel is surrounded by amazing shopping, as well as an excellent variety of restaurants, museums and attractions. If you are looking to explore beyond the beautiful downtown area, we are just minutes away from public transportation including MUNI, the subway and the iconic San Francisco Cable Cars. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, we welcome guests from around the world looking for an affordable and comfortable place to stay in the wonderful city by the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your SF Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel San Francisco
Astoria San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing