We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget considerations”
Review of SF Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SF Plaza Hotel
Ranked #200 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I chose this lodging primarily for the cost and location. My four-night stay in August would be comparable to a single night's rate in the more expensive hotels close by. My savings from choosing the Astoria enabled me to take a day trip tour to Yosemite National Park.

I arrived at the hotel shortly after 9:30 am and a room was ready for me away from the busy street. It had the basic amenities that allowed for a generally comfortable stay. The TV had the channels that *I* wanted (ESPN and local news) which kept me occupied. Clean towels were supplied daily. A maintenance issue that came up was promptly fixed.

Although free breakfast was included in the hotel rate (you get pass cards from the front desk when you check-in depending on your room selection; you then give the pass card to the breakfast room attendant for each day you go), I just went to the breakfast room once.

I went to the second floor common room (I think it is available 24/7) whenever I needed to access information from my mobile device for wi-fi connection.

I had my own private bathroom (vs. shared) which was convenient. The guest room itself used the regular key (vs. a key card) . The security chain didn't feel that secure to me but I made sure that I still used it.

The bed mattress was comfortably firm and adequate for me and I didn't have any sleep issues.

There was a ceiling fan and a small wall heater. There were blinds for privacy (I was on the 5th floor) and I could open the windows to let in some breeze and prevent the room from feeling stuffy.

I noticed a poorly supplied vending machine on the second floor but there was a water cooler next to the lobby door which I really appreciated, especially since I brought my own drinking container.

I have been to other budget lodgings in the city and based on location (relative to BART-Powell or Montgomery stations), budget (<$70/night + tax), and room space, the Astoria would be a primary choice for my future visits to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blgrn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 457 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

if your traveling to san fran and need of a hotel thats a good price, near every thing, this is the hotel!! its not a 5 star hotel, but the staffs are friendly and the rooms are decent. i stayed in the room that comes with its own bath room. i m staying at this hotel from now on, when ever i m in san fran! what more can you ask for??

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cnadalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Attended a conference, blew my budget on the registration fees and printing costs for my poster; I was traveling alone and did not need anything besides a bed, private bathroom, clean sheets and towels, and wifi. As long as you keep your expectations to nothing beyond the absolute basics, this will meet your needs. This is an old establishment, with flooring that creaks with each and every step, an very old elevator shaft, physical keys, a staff that offers no unnecessary courtesy, and near-springless mattresses that are so loud they'll make you reconsider any sort of physical activity on them. The pros: clean, made bed, no bedbugs; ok bathroom with relatively clean towels; clean sheets; wifi on second floor commons area; 10 yards from the gate to Chinatown; a couple blocks away from Union Square; couple blocks away from Montgomery BART station; pretty safe area. If i were to come back with friends or family, I would most likely not choose this place (only because splitting something like Hilton between friends would be a similar price), but for a single traveler with no need to tend to the high-maintenance needs of others, this did the job. It won't add to your SF experience, nor will it detract from it. If anything, its location makes it a great deal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

On the cusp of Chinatown. Handy to have the basic breakfast in the morning and wireless in the common room but very basic and owners were a fairly ratty bunch. Average location but fairly close to most of SF's amenities.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergeblanco14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I've previously reviewed the Astoria Hotel and have nothing particular to add from my recent trip other than to say they offer the same basic, safe, stupendously well-located hotel as they always have and at a mind-blowing price that hasn't changed in years.

If you're looking at $300/night hotels then the Astoria isn't for you but if you want to pay $65/night and be better located than almost anywhere then do it. Do it now.

Room Tip: Personally we always ask for a room over-looking the street as we like seeing (and hearing) the hust...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LDN_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Great location right next door to the entrance of San Francisco's Chinatown. The place is a bit dingy and slightly run down, but overall it's very clean and no-frills. The rooms are small and the bed is stiff, but overall very clean. Very basic, budget hotel. This is the place for you if you're just looking for a place to sleep at night and don't want to spend a lot of money...because that's all you'll get. A roof, a toilet, a shower, and a bed. Good if that's what you're looking for.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
Thank hdt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Good price, great location. The Astoria was better than some of of the reviews. The staff was great, large room for wifi (second floor). Room 402 was like a room in downtown London, very small. The bathroom was also very small but this was okay for a single traveler. Small breakfast that came with the room price (65) a night. The breakfast room, on second floor, opened at 8 am on weekdays, making it difficult to use on departure day. Very small tv with a remote that did not turn on the tv. Few channels but reception was good.
I had previously stayed at the Baldwin Hotel, which is a half block away. Last year I came in the spring and the cost was $69 a night. The Baldwin is a better place to stay but in August the best price I could get was $135 a night. Therefore, the Astoria was a much better deal. Both hotels are old but the Baldwin was better maintained. Both were located close to Bart for transportation and at the entrance to Chinatown. I felt that this was a safe location (for both).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captainmidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#162 of 230 in San Francisco
864 reviews
Union Square
Hotel 32One
Hotel 32One
#157 of 230 in San Francisco
51 reviews
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#189 of 230 in San Francisco
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#82 of 230 in San Francisco
1,377 reviews
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#191 of 230 in San Francisco
153 reviews
Music City Hotel
#115 of 230 in San Francisco
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SF Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SF Plaza Hotel

Address: 510 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3697 (Formerly Astoria Hotel)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $124 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SF Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SF Plaza Hotel is at the heart of San Francisco with many famous attractions nearby. It is the perfect walking distance to popular destinations, such as Chinatown, the Financial District and San Francisco's renowned Union Square. Our hotel is surrounded by amazing shopping, as well as an excellent variety of restaurants, museums and attractions. If you are looking to explore beyond the beautiful downtown area, we are just minutes away from public transportation including MUNI, the subway and the iconic San Francisco Cable Cars. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, we welcome guests from around the world looking for an affordable and comfortable place to stay in the wonderful city by the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your SF Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel San Francisco
Astoria San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing