We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such terrible service - nearly impossible to cancel booking!”
Review of The Good Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Good Hotel
Ranked #188 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Such terrible service - nearly impossible to cancel booking!”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

I had booked a room at the good hotel, our plans changed and we had to cancel booking several months before the booking date. After several attempts to cancel the booking via email with no response, I called the hotel from Australia. I was advised that the booking was cancelled and asked for confirmation email - not received. Called again, booking was not cancelled, they then told me it was cancelled and asked again for email - no response. Called a third time and was put on to Ricky who was extremely helpful - cancelled booking as it was still booked (!!??) and received cancellation email straight away.

Overall, a frustrating experience and will never be recommending or staying at the good hotel, San Francisco.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catherine7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    165
    224
    112
    65
See reviews for
60
268
55
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

The Good Hotel is a very nice and comfy eco consicous hotel, everything was very clean. All the crew was really gentle and friendly. They offers very nice rooms at a very affordable price in a good neighborhood, you have a lot of public transportation around. We also enjoyed the free bikes and the inexpensive parking price (compared to other hotels in the city) .

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mikamich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Supervisor at The Good Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Hi mikamich,

Your comments about your stay with us are much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations, the service of our staff, and the comfy eco-conscious decor. Your review I'm sure will help our future guests make the best of their stay while in San Francisco! We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best Wishes,

Kathleen Sheridan
Front Office Supervisor
The Good Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Next time I'm in San Fran I think I'll pony up and pay a little more for accommodation and stay in a better neighborhood.

Cheap compared with other hotels, but there were lots of homeless people in this area, and as 3 females we found it a little scary to be out at night. Not the safest neighborhood from speaking to locals.

Quality if the rooms was fair. The beds were comfy...but the room and bathroom were very small.

Lift smelt like urine...so we always took the stairs.

Very convenient to public transport to & from the airport, and walking distance from Union Square.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Supervisor at The Good Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Hello Rhi H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and comment on your recent stay at The Good Hotel. It is great to hear that your our comfortable beds & convenient location to public transportation. Our central location in the SoMa area is an advantageous place to be able to get around the city and view all of our local attractions. While the SoMa area is not the most polished neighborhood in the city, it's eclectic atmosphere and nightlife are improving. Thank you again for taking the time to comment on your recent trip and we look forward to having you back with us the next time you travel to San Francisco.

Kind Regards,

Kathleen Sheridan
Front Office Supervisor
The Good Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights for a business trip to the city. I was very nervous about staying here but I was pleasantly surprised when I got in my room. Very clean!!! Every thing in the room is very minimal and the rooms are small but is was great for just me. The area is a little shady, and not much around for food and such. But over all I would recommend. Good price and very clean!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank janelleharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Janelleharris,

Thank you for posting your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at the Good Hotel. We are ecstatic that you enjoyed your stay at the Good Hotel and that you found our rooms to be clean and efficient. The next time that you are in town for business or leisure we hope to warmly welcome you back to the Good Hotel.

Thank you again for your time and response.


Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Good Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The Good Hotel is a very eco-consicous hotel, and appealingly trendy and off-beat. Very clean and orderly, it offers very nice rooms at a very affordable price in a great neighborhood adjacent to lots of attractions and transit. I found the hotel staff to be unerringly friendly and helpful. It's not fancy, and there are not too many goodies, but it is a great buy in a convenient location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Martin Z,

Thank you for providing your insight regarding your stay at the Good Hotel. We aim to provide a unique environmentally conscience experience for all of our guests. It was our pleasure to provide you with the assistance that you had required during your stay as we are here to please. We take pride in our cleanliness and we are glad that it lived up to your expectations.

We thank you again and hope to warmly welcome you back to the Good Hotel on your next visit to San Francisco.


With anticipation,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Good Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Location was not great, on the edge of the Tenderloin area of the city, and I would certainly not recommend waling this area alone or after dark.

We were put in a courtyard room, and we complained, were simply told all the rooms were the same. Long wait at reception, and not overly helpful staff.

Room was tiny, and very basic furniture, air conditioning had been disabled by the hotel, and the windows would not stay open and had screens missing. Was however clean. Bearable for one night, would recommend paying a little more and finding a better hotel if staying any longer.

Room Tip: Pay more and find a better hotel, and in a better area.
See more room tips
Green Features: Apart from AC disabled, was not aware of any! Now I am typing just to get to the required fifty characters!
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaymaker9999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Holidaymaker9999999,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at the Good Hotel. On behalf of our entire staff, please accept my sincere apologies regarding the situations that you had encountered. We appreciate your feedback and please rest assured that the issues in question have been addressed with the appropriate departments.

Thank you again for your feedback as our efforts going forward will be guided in part by your comments.


Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Good Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Front desk was rude, got charged 2 days of over priced parking when we had parked for one day and they wouldn't change, a bed for two people was about the size of a twin. Very loud, faucet broke and toilet didn't flush. Not worth the money even for a cheep motel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationwatcher7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Vacationwatcher7,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff, you have my apologies that your impression of our Hotel did not meet your expectations. We understand the frustration you felt and have contacted each department to address the comments you have provided. Please feel free to give us a call at 415-621-7001 so that we can discuss the parking situation.


We thank you for your feedback.


Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Good Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Music City Hotel
#119 of 229 in San Francisco
394 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#185 of 229 in San Francisco
761 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#130 of 229 in San Francisco
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#174 of 229 in San Francisco
3,024 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,346 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#92 of 229 in San Francisco
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Good Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Good Hotel

Property: The Good Hotel
Address: 112 7th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-2809 (Formerly Hotel Britton)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Good Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the vibrant South of Market (SoMA) district of downtown San Francisco, the Good Hotel has 117-rooms and is intended to be the first hotel with a conscience by taking a green approach to design that inspires the "good in us all." Renew, Reuse, Relax!Guest rooms feature sustainable products and materials such as 100% reclaimed wood bed frames, bed linens and light fixtures made from recycled water bottles, and our "sink positive" installations; all designed to be environmentally friendly.The convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions and destinations including Civic Center Plaza, Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Westfield Shopping Centre, the Theater District, and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Good Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing