We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant surprise ”
Review of The Good Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Good Hotel
Ranked #187 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cameron Park, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise ”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights for a business trip to the city. I was very nervous about staying here but I was pleasantly surprised when I got in my room. Very clean!!! Every thing in the room is very minimal and the rooms are small but is was great for just me. The area is a little shady, and not much around for food and such. But over all I would recommend. Good price and very clean!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank janelleharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Janelleharris,

Thank you for posting your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at the Good Hotel. We are ecstatic that you enjoyed your stay at the Good Hotel and that you found our rooms to be clean and efficient. The next time that you are in town for business or leisure we hope to warmly welcome you back to the Good Hotel.

Thank you again for your time and response.


Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Good Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    154
    214
    108
    61
See reviews for
56
251
53
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The Good Hotel is a very eco-consicous hotel, and appealingly trendy and off-beat. Very clean and orderly, it offers very nice rooms at a very affordable price in a great neighborhood adjacent to lots of attractions and transit. I found the hotel staff to be unerringly friendly and helpful. It's not fancy, and there are not too many goodies, but it is a great buy in a convenient location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Martin Z,

Thank you for providing your insight regarding your stay at the Good Hotel. We aim to provide a unique environmentally conscience experience for all of our guests. It was our pleasure to provide you with the assistance that you had required during your stay as we are here to please. We take pride in our cleanliness and we are glad that it lived up to your expectations.

We thank you again and hope to warmly welcome you back to the Good Hotel on your next visit to San Francisco.


With anticipation,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Good Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Location was not great, on the edge of the Tenderloin area of the city, and I would certainly not recommend waling this area alone or after dark.

We were put in a courtyard room, and we complained, were simply told all the rooms were the same. Long wait at reception, and not overly helpful staff.

Room was tiny, and very basic furniture, air conditioning had been disabled by the hotel, and the windows would not stay open and had screens missing. Was however clean. Bearable for one night, would recommend paying a little more and finding a better hotel if staying any longer.

Room Tip: Pay more and find a better hotel, and in a better area.
See more room tips
Green Features: Apart from AC disabled, was not aware of any! Now I am typing just to get to the required fifty characters!
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaymaker9999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Holidaymaker9999999,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at the Good Hotel. On behalf of our entire staff, please accept my sincere apologies regarding the situations that you had encountered. We appreciate your feedback and please rest assured that the issues in question have been addressed with the appropriate departments.

Thank you again for your feedback as our efforts going forward will be guided in part by your comments.


Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Good Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Front desk was rude, got charged 2 days of over priced parking when we had parked for one day and they wouldn't change, a bed for two people was about the size of a twin. Very loud, faucet broke and toilet didn't flush. Not worth the money even for a cheep motel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationwatcher7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Vacationwatcher7,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff, you have my apologies that your impression of our Hotel did not meet your expectations. We understand the frustration you felt and have contacted each department to address the comments you have provided. Please feel free to give us a call at 415-621-7001 so that we can discuss the parking situation.


We thank you for your feedback.


Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Good Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I agree with reviewer easyb0621. The website describes the hotel as "hip" and inventive. Whilst this venue places a high emphasis on its eco-credentials, ultimately this may have been at the expense of comfort. For what is a mid-priced hotel ($140-170 per room per night) the feel was more of a high-end youth hostel. Ironically for an eco-friendly hotel, the central heating was switched on even though it was not particularly cold, and could not be deactivated. On the plus side, the location is central (10 mins walk from Union square).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Mike B,

Thank you for sharing your thought regarding your recent stay at the Good Hotel. We apologize that you left the hotel with an unfavorable impression. We appreciate all of guest’s feedback. We are happy to hear that our location was a benefit to your stay and would welcome another chance to leave you with a better experience the next time you travel to San Francisco.

Warm regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Good Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami beach
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

The website conveyed an image and feel that did not at all match the reality of this hotel. It was to its credit, very reasonably priced but it did miss the mark on its attempt to be a "hip" boutique hotel. It was more of an overpriced youth hostel than an inexpensive hotel. The location was good though. Close to a lot of resraurants and the the trendy soma and mission districts.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank easyb0621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Easyb0621,
Thank you for writing you review of your stay at the Good Hotel for our friends in the Trip Advisor community. We apologize that your impression of the hotel was less than favorable, however we are pleased to see that you found our prices to be reasonable and enjoyed our location in SoMa while checking out some of the local faire. We hope to see you again at the Good Hotel the next time you make back to San Francisco.

Regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Good Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This hotel is located just outside the city, the location is great if you want to see San Francisco on a Budget. The Red Tour bus is about a 15 Minute walk and there is a subway up the street and a little corner shop a few doors down. If you like to be out at night i wouldn't advise staying at this hotel as it gets quite lively with homeless people hanging around pass dark, which can be quite intimidation if you are on your own.
The hotel pool is across the road at a different hotel, The Holiday inn, they also have a nice burger restaurant.
The staff are friendly but a bit slow, it took us about 30-40 minutes to check in. The Eco Friendly Rooms are defiantly something different, the Hotel is very creative. The only thing i would say is if you travel to San Francisco when its Hot this hotel is not ideal. The Rooms have no air con, just a ceiling fan which doesn't work very well. You can open the window but with the Still air in San Francisco it doesn't make much different. Plus at night you cant sleep for all the street noise. The beds id say are a small double so its even hotter if you are sharing with someone else.
Overall id say its ideal for backpackers, Eco Friendly people or travelers on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 08Becky1821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear 08Becky1821,
Thank you for sharing your experiences of your recent stat at the Good Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of our location to see many of the San Francisco attractions. Our neighborhood of SoMa is a growing area and is improving each day. We are also happy to know that you enjoyed our friendly staff, and creative eco-friendly rooms while taking time to indulge in the extra amenities of our sister property, Best Western Plus Americania, the pool is always nice year round. Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to San Francisco.

Kind regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Good Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#185 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#140 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
SoMa
Best Western Plus Americania
Best Western Plus Americania
#130 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#184 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,906 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,288 reviews
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#164 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Good Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Good Hotel

Property: The Good Hotel
Address: 112 7th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-2809 (Formerly Hotel Britton)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Good Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the vibrant South of Market (SoMA) district of downtown San Francisco, the Good Hotel has 117-rooms and is intended to be the first hotel with a conscience by taking a green approach to design that inspires the "good in us all." Renew, Reuse, Relax!Guest rooms feature sustainable products and materials such as 100% reclaimed wood bed frames, bed linens and light fixtures made from recycled water bottles, and our "sink positive" installations; all designed to be environmentally friendly.The convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions and destinations including Civic Center Plaza, Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Westfield Shopping Centre, the Theater District, and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Good Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing