We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure why the negative reviews”
Review of The Good Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Good Hotel
Ranked #191 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I stayed in the hotel part upstairs from reception and I'm having trouble understanding why there are so many average reviews. I thought this was a really good hotel. I love the way everything is so green, especially the hand washing tap on top of the toilet that uses the excess water to refill the intern - genius! The bed was comfortable, the room was quiet, shower was hot and strong, and wifi was good. Reception staff were great as well. My only concern was that the area felt a little sketchy at night with a lot of homeless people hanging around. They mostly left me alone but I still felt a little uncomfortable walking back after dinner.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Claire B,

Thank you for sharing your experiences of recent stay at the Good Hotel with our friends in the Trip Advisor community. We are happy to hear that you found us to be a really good hotel. We always strive to be better than our name! We are also pleased that our green initiative, beds, shower, wifi and staff made a positive experience on your visit. Thank you again for staying with us at the Good Hotel; we are excited to be your hotel choice the next time you visit San Francisco.

Warm regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Good Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 666 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

We went to San fransisco with a group of friends to run the Bay to Breakers race .The location was very good near the trams and underground (direct connection with the airport) On arrival the front desk staff were very good The room very spacious and clean.The hotel didnt have any breakfast but they said that we can have it at the hotel opposite (hotel Americania) which we found extremely expensive!Other reviews describe the area as run down and full of homeless.We found the area clean and tidy and they were some homeless people with the shopping trolleys but completely harmless.We didnt have an issue of safety at night either .A very good hotel if a bit on the expensive side.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickokkalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear nickokkalis,

We are happy to hear that you found the Good Hotel to be good! Thank you for making the Good Hotel your home while coming to San Francisco for the Bay to Breakers race. We are pleased to know that our front desk staff, clean spacious rooms and location left you with a very good impression. Thank you again for sharing your review with us and the Trip Advisor community. We look forward to be your good home again when you come to San Francisco.

Good regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Good Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I come to San Francisco at least once a year and I always stay here. First of all, it's very inexpensive and a great deal. It's clean, trendy, and eco-friendly. The rooms are very cute and a good size for either a couple or a single person. The staff is great and always helpful.

I've never been the type of person who needs a lot of space or anything too luxurious. So if you want a decent place to stay while you explode the city, this hotel is for you!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Kevin N,

We are ecstatic that as a repeat guest you consistently enjoy your stay at the Good Hotel. We take pride in our cleanliness and customer service as it is a standard that we uphold at the Good Hotel and all of our hotels within the Haiyi Hotels portfolio. We thank you again and hope to warmly welcome you back to the Good Hotel on your next visit to San Francisco.


With anticipation,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Good Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

When staying at a hotel our expectation is a clean, well maintained room and reasonably quiet stay. Our experience at the Good Hotel was a dirty room and noisy one night stay.

Cleanliness. The upper right hand corner of the shower and wall above the spigot in our room was covered with dark mold spores. The carpeting was covered with multiple large dark stains, pink stains and dark pen marks. The coverage and type of stains was so abundant and unhygienic that neither my husband nor I took our shoes off to walk around the room.

Noise. We did not take note prior to booking that the hotel is dog friendly. Two small dogs were booked in an adjoining room and yapped throughout the evening. The walls are thin and there's no sound insulation, when doors are shut the room vibrates and you can hear neighbors showering and running the faucet. There was a significant amount of traffic in and out of rooms that evening, the noise was so loud and pure that it sounded like they were coming into our room rather then theirs. The smoking area for the hotel is set up behind reception in the hotel parking area. People naturally congregate there and the voices carry throughout the hotel. The location is not optimal for providing a quiet setting for guests.

The hotel staff was receptive to our feedback on the evening and offered to move us to the central building for the following night. We opted to check out early based on the previous nights experience. I have called the hotel manager four times and left messages and emailed twice to follow up on the experience. He has failed on all occasions to return calls and emails. I would not stay at this establishment.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KKinkead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at The Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear KKinkead,

Thank you for writing about your recent stay with us and sharing with the TripAdvisor family. I am so disappointed to hear of your experience with us. I hope that you accept my sincerest apologies for letting you down during your trip to San Francisco.

Please understand that your experience is not indicative of the service that we can and do provide. We are currently researching these incidents that occurred during your visit, to see where the missteps took place. We value our guests’ feedback and take comments very seriously. We constantly strive to deliver superior accommodations to all guests, and will continue to work to ensure that all guest stays exceed expectations.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you like to discuss your thoughts further. Again, I extend my deepest apologies for the inconvenience this caused you and hope we can have the opportunity to make it up to you in the future.

Best wishes,

Jazmine Bonnett
Front Desk Supervisor
(415) 252 - 2603

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

First off, this hotel is very clean and nice. Bathroom is a little tight for families. the location is close to Union Square and public transportation. The only problem I have with this hotel is the rediculous Parking price. Know before you book. Add $30 to the hotel price so you can stay within budget. I was shocked that I have to pay for parking and their lot is full. I have to park my car accross the street at the Americana and lug my luggage to the room. It's also very scary to sleep at night because I stay outside, which is like a motel and I can hear room doors slamming and people knocking on my door in the middle of the night to look for people. Could not sleep peacefully at all. So please don't put your kids in this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeH0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear DeeH0,

Thank you for providing your opinions about our Good Hotel and our SOMA neighborhood. We understand how frustrating it must be for you to expect certain amenities to be included in the price of your room. We offer our sincerest apologies that the amenities provided did not live up to your expectations and for the situations you encountered. Rest assured that our security team is available at a moment’s notice to provide assistance to all of our guests.

The Good Hotel has a unique layout that caters to many different guests. We offer courtyard rooms and tower rooms. For your convenience upon request and when available we would be happy to move you to one of our rooms in the tower that would be more suited to your preference.

We do hope that you give the Good hotel a second chance on your next visit to San Francisco. Thank you again for your time and response.


Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Good Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I travelled here as part of a large group of 14 friends in May 2013. Staff were very conscious of accommodating our needs and ensured our rooms were all close to each other. I was not expecting luxurious accommodation because the prices were very reasonable but I was very impressed by the comfortable beds, clean spacious bathroom and general facilities in our room (e.g. Tea and coffee machine, hairdryer, complimentary toiletries etc)
Staff were very keen to help us and gave advice on good local restaurants and bars, public transport etc.
The hotel is actually in a great location as it is right beside a tram line and 2 minutes walk from a great main shopping street.
I would definitely recommend this to any travellers looking for budget, clean and friendly accommodation!
If you do end up here, make sure to get some lasting memories in the photo booth in reception and add your photos to the wall!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashleigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Ashleigh M,

Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay at the Good Hotel. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the accommodations of the hotel including; the comfortable beds, spacious bathrooms and extra amenities. We are also pleased to hear that our staff left a lasting positive impression along with the memories made in our photo booth! We can’t wait for you to visit again and make new memories at the Good Hotel.

Kindest regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Good Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The reception staff couldn't have been more helpful - from changing a room that didn't really fit our requirements to arranging for a day room prior to our return flight.
After being worried by the strange smell of the place upon arrival I was pleased that it was contained in the corridors rather than drifting into the rooms. The rooms were tidy, comfortable and spacious. Tea and coffee were plentiful and answers quickly and efficiently answered by the friendly staff.
There is wifi - but this was less than useless as the speed of internet access was so laboriously slow it rendered itself unusable. Unfortunately the partner hotel opposite had equally poor internet connection so if this is important to you then you may wish to consider where else you might get a decent connection.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K9TLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear K9TLS,

Thank you for staying at the Good Hotel during your recent visit to San Francisco. We are pleased to hear you had a great experience at the hotel and found our staff to be helpful and accommodating to all of your needs. We appreciate that you took the time to write and share your comments with our friends in the Trip Advisor community. We welcome to the next chance to serve as your San Francisco hotel of choice when you next make it back to the city.

Regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Good Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Music City Hotel
#117 of 231 in San Francisco
434 reviews
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#174 of 231 in San Francisco
883 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#184 of 231 in San Francisco
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Htl 587
#155 of 231 in San Francisco
34 reviews
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#139 of 231 in San Francisco
312 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#185 of 231 in San Francisco
3,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Good Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Good Hotel

Address: 112 7th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-2809 (Formerly Hotel Britton)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $115 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Good Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the vibrant South of Market (SoMA) district of downtown San Francisco, the Good Hotel has 117-rooms and is intended to be the first hotel with a conscience by taking a green approach to design that inspires the "good in us all." Renew, Reuse, Relax!Guest rooms feature sustainable products and materials such as 100% reclaimed wood bed frames, bed linens and light fixtures made from recycled water bottles, and our "sink positive" installations; all designed to be environmentally friendly.The convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions and destinations including Civic Center Plaza, Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Westfield Shopping Centre, the Theater District, and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Good Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing