We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, excellent staff, soon to be a cool, hip place. Street smarts required.”
Review of The Good Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Good Hotel
Ranked #187 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel is in an up and coming area of San Francisco. It is across from the federal building (which is beautiful) and public transportation as well as other public services. As expected, this location comes with a colorful assortment of people hanging around outside. The hotel itself seemed secure. The doors require a room key to enter from outside and the stairwells and elevator also require room keys. The rooms are small and eco-friendly. I didn't really mind this. They could use updating (paint, carpet, flooring), but I was told that they are slowly working on this. There will be a cool wine bar/restaurant downstairs soon - it is under renovation now. The staff was incredible. Because I was traveling alone and was unfamiliar with the area, the GM, Haiyi, walked with me to grab food and he showed me the area and told me more about the hotel. He was very professional and knowledgeable and seemed to care very much about the hotel's quality and the customers. All of the staff members were amazing and helpful. Bottom line: if you're on a budget and can handle the surroundings, this is your spot. It's not the safest, but crime rates are high in cities no matter where you are (in all communities really). The staff will provide earplugs, or you can do what I did and download a sleep sound app and you won't hear as much street noise. This place will someday be one of the hippest spots in SF, so I enjoyed experiencing it now.

Room Tip: There is a fitness center across the street which is usable by Good Hotel guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bloodworthla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Bloodworthia,

Thank you for posting a thorough review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear of your wonderful experience with our staff. Our aim is to provide all of our guests a unique stay and superior customer service. We are glad that you found our staff amazing and helpful we strive to achieve this with everyone that we interact with.

Thank you for providing us your honest opinion about our SOMA neighborhood. As a community we are working towards building a safe and welcoming neighborhood. We appreciate the feedback you have provided and hope to warmly welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to San Francisco.


Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Good Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 651 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights. We moved room twice as noise at night from the road is awful on outside rooms due to single glazing, eventually got an inside room which had no road noise but then the paper thin walls let you hear everything else in the hotel. The area around the hotel at night is not great, there was a stabbing across the road on our penultimate night. If you are on a budget and have ear plugs, then this place probably isn't so bad, but personally I'd spend a bit more money and try and stay around Powell street, which whilst noisey, doesn't feel like the ghetto.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OhRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Mr. OhRobbo,

Thank you for providing us your opinion about your stay at the Good hotel. Authorities responded immediately in force to the isolated random act that had occurred in the area. I certainly hope this incident does not tarnish San Francisco’s or our SOMA area’s image in your opinion. This unfortunate incident has never happened here before, and is not common.

We are glad our front desk was able to assist you in finding a room that was more to your liking. We look forward to hoping to welcome you back to our hotel and our neighborhood.


Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Good Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in January of 2012 and read mixed reviews back then. The pictures that are on the website are NOT on par with how the rooms actually look. The rooms are very small and resemble a dorm room rather than a hotel room. Parking is tight and limited. They do have additional parking at a sister hotel across the street but they did not mention this on check in so that first night we had to go in and ask. Also, the area is fairly shady and LOUD at night. There were a lot of homeless people sleeping on the side walks and you could hear fighting outside. As you can imagine, parking across the street was not something I wanted to do. During the day it was ok and of course once inside the hotel you were ok. Nothing really scary happened but just the area wasn't the greatest. The hotel was also on the outskirts of the city so getting to the Golden Gate Bridge took about 30 minutes or so and then going to the Wharf was also a good 30 minutes away too. The beds were somewhat comfy but again, a lot of noise coming from the outside. I wouldn't stay there again

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 992AnaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Ana G,

Thank you for choosing the Good Hotel for you accommodations to San Francisco in April 2012. Our hotel's neighborhood of "SoMA" (South of Market) has several plans for new restaurant and cafe openings as well as major corporations that have recently moved their headquarters to SoMA, it is an exciting time to see the area improve. We would love the opportunity to have you back the next time your travels bring you to San Francisco.

Warm Regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Good Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

+ve's
Near Bart station so u can take a train to the airport
Rooms clean
Service is good
Reasonably priced
Can do laundry across the road
Excellent wifi

-ve's
It's close to the tenderloin which is the area you are suppose to avoid though about 15 mins walk from union square
Some feelings of not being safe in this area
Some rooms no elevator to it
My tour does not pick up from this location


Overall nothing wrong with the rooms but the location is not the best


  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Roger H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay at the Good Hotel with the TripAdvisor community.

We appreciate the positive response and that you enjoyed the service, price, wireless, and location of our hotel.

We are sorry to hear that you had less than a favorable impression about our location.

Our neighborhood of "SoMA" (South of Market) is an eclectic and diverse area which contributes to the overall makeup of the city of San Francisco. Although not necessarily the most luxurious part of town, SoMA is continually thriving with planned restaurant openings as well as major corporations moving into our neighborhood.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your review. We welcome the next chance to have you stay with us when your travels bring you to San Francisco.

Kind Regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Good Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel is situated just 2 blocks from the the main bus lines, tram lines and BART. Only 2 bus stops away from Westfield Mall/Union Sq. The room is clean and adequate, however my only dislike is the "motion-sensor" fan. While sleeping at nigh the fan will automatically switch off as there are lack of motion in the room. I've to get up every hour to switch the fan back on. Made a complain at the font desk, but nothing was done. Luckily, the weather in January was chilly, thus the lack of fan is not too big of a problem. It will be a problem in summer when the room is stuffy. Great free coffee in the morning. In-room wifi is free but expect to get disconnected several times. There's a Subway directly opposite the hotel.

The area does have some homeless people around. But, doesn't all cities have homeless people?! So long you don't stare or bother them, they wouldn't too.

Highly recommend this hotel. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are quieter than those facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazzKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear JazzKL,

Thank you for sharing your review of the Good Hotel with the TripAdvisor community. We appreciate the kind words regarding our hotel and your positive experience while staying with us. Our rooms come in many different types and configurations and the some of our fans and lights are set to a motion sensor to conserve energy.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about your stay at the Good Hotel, we welcome the next chance to have you stay with us when your travels bring you to San Francisco.

Kind Regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Good Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Modern eclectic rooms, great price & service, convenient location (near subway station & sightseeing spots). No elevator though...
The hotel has been recently renovated so furniture is in great conditions. There is a hobo area nearby, but overall San Francisco is pretty safe.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexisaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Alexisaa,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at the Good Hotel with the TripAdvisor community.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and found our central location to be accommodating to all of your needs visiting the city.

Thank you again you taking the time to write your review about the Good Hotel. We look forward to have you back the next time your travels bring you back to the San Francisco.

Regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Good Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed for the 2nd time in August 2012 and like my first time, found the hotel to be clean and tidy with a nice atmosphere. The rooms are comfortable with nice clean ensuites and wifi. I found there to be little in the way of noise and slept very well on both nights. A lot of people comment about the area but I never once felt unsafe, even at night, walking to and from Market Street. Yes there are a lot of homeless people but that is an issue with San Fran itself. Mostly they just shuffle about their business and leave people alone. The hotel is really conveniently located for exploring the city without the hefty pricetag of staying North of Market Street. I do agree with comments made about this not being a family hotel, I stayed as part of Trek America tour both times and it's great value does make it more appealing to the backpacking community. Check in could be a bit quicker and it would be nice to have a laundrette on site instead of having to use the sister hotel accross the street but those would be my only gripes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Kathryn L,

Thank you for sharing your experiences about your stay at the Good Hotel from August.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and found our location convenient to all of your needs exploring the city.

Thank you again you taking the time to write your review about the Good Hotel we look forward to have you back the next time your travels bring you back to the San Francisco.

Regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Good Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Music City Hotel
#117 of 230 in San Francisco
419 reviews
Htl 587
#161 of 230 in San Francisco
30 reviews
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#139 of 230 in San Francisco
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#183 of 230 in San Francisco
779 reviews
SoMa
Best Western Plus Americania
Best Western Plus Americania
#135 of 230 in San Francisco
1,103 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#88 of 230 in San Francisco
2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Good Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Good Hotel

Address: 112 7th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-2809 (Formerly Hotel Britton)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $108 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Good Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the vibrant South of Market (SoMA) district of downtown San Francisco, the Good Hotel has 117-rooms and is intended to be the first hotel with a conscience by taking a green approach to design that inspires the "good in us all." Renew, Reuse, Relax!Guest rooms feature sustainable products and materials such as 100% reclaimed wood bed frames, bed linens and light fixtures made from recycled water bottles, and our "sink positive" installations; all designed to be environmentally friendly.The convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions and destinations including Civic Center Plaza, Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Westfield Shopping Centre, the Theater District, and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Good Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing