We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”
Review of The Good Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Good Hotel
Ranked #190 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Good hotel was excellent for me, If you are going for a short time or vacation. It's well located, near to all principal transportation and major street. Although the area is no super good it's near to 6th street (not good) it didn't really bother me. The service staff was excellent all the time, Rooms were always clean on time, and they always provided nice attention.

Room Tip: Just don't pick hotels on 6th street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at The Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Maria C,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations and service of our team. We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest on your next visit to San Francisco!

Best regards,
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 661 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Check it out... A Good practical hotel in San Francisco that fits perfectly to anyone looking for a place to stay in the Bay. Near Union Square and surrounded by a very eclectic neighborhood that is Up and Coming in San Frandisco...

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Al1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at The Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear AI1111,

Your comments about your stay with us are much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations and the convenient location of our hotel. We hope to welcome you back to San Francisco on your next visit.

Best regards,
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The staff of the hotel were not the most people friendly. When we checked in we were met with a sour pussed girl who did not wan to help/answer any of our questions. She was very short with us and didnt explain anything with respect. It was a huge turnoff for returning to the hotel.

The rooms were clean, and had a enough room to put luggage and hang items. THe bikes they had available for rental left a little to be desired as you couldn't easily shift the bikes into other gears and in hilly san fran that is a must. The hotel was located near the UN Plaza, but a little far from other attractions for walking.

I would recommend this hotel to someone that doesn't mind a bit of a hike. Downfalls---the unfriendly staff, not a lot of amenities, parking is pricey, and there is no breakfast available...

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is represented on the website so you don't get screwed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Karudy

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff, you have my apologies for the situations you encountered during your stay and that our services did not meet your expectations. Rest assured that your encounters do not represent the standards of service that we uphold.

Our parking pricing is comparable to similar properties in the area and we feel we provide good value given our central location and extensive facilities. We regret that this was not your impression and offer our apologies.

We understand the frustration you felt and have contacted each department to address the comments you have provided. We thank you for your feedback and do hope that you are willing to give us another chance as we are capable of providing excellent customer service.


Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Good Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Do NOT recommend staying here, even at the budget prices. Neighborhood isn't as bad as some of the others suggest, but this hotel didn't even meet my lowered expectations for cheap hotels. At the least, I expect room and the bed to be clean; instead, I found a USED BAND-AID on the floor. Blech. Internet was free, but spotty. Service was also uneven--some folks were helpful, others were utterly unresponsive. But I cannot overstate how dirty the room was.

Room Tip: choose the rooms that are not in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mwilliamst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Mwilliamst,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor on behalf of our entire staff, you have my apologies for the situations you encountered during your stay and that our services did not meet your expectations. The cleanliness and upkeep of our hotel is our primary priority we sincerely apologize that the quality of your room fell short of your standards. The service you experienced is not representative of the quality we are accustomed to providing as we aim to consistently offer outstanding service.

Hopefully you will return and provide us a second opportunity to meet your expectations. Thank you for your time and response.


Kindest Regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Good Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The room was large by typical San Francisco standards, and as others have said, the furnishings are sparse. Definitely ask for an extra pillow. Our room tilted downhill somewhat, which made the bathroom door, which was hung level, not shut well in the frame, which was crooked. Service was spotty - some people were fabulous, others quite rude. Parking is ridiculously limited, and you will be charged $25/night whether you park on site, or in the open lot across the street. The extra lot is also shared by a night club, so we were not able to find any parking on Friday night...but still asked to pay. Ended up on the street. Biggest complaint was the Internet. Let's just say you get what you pay for here - and the Internet is free. Weak signal, constantly getting booted off, unable to re-connect. Awful. In short, it was an okay place to stay, especially if you are fairly self-sufficient and don't mind the no-frills experience. Nothing special.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors might get better Internet access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellerlucy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Travellerlucy8,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your opinion on Tripadvisor. We have many different rooms available and do apologize that your room did not meet your expectations. Every staff member is trained to provide the same superior customer service it is unfortunate that your interactions with some of our staff was less than stellar.

Due to the limited real estate our property is privy to we only have a certain number of parking spaces. When our lot is full we are able to provide our guests with access to the valet parking across the street however we do not recall of any night club near our hotel. We do try to make parking as easy as possible all that is required for you to do is to drop off your keys and the valet staff will gladly park your vehicle you need not find a spot for yourself.

We do empathize with you the frustration you must have experienced with our free wifi especially since the internet has become such an integrated part of our lives. Perhaps as a future reference our hotel does have access to three other networks if for any reason one of the networks is overloaded with users all you need to do is log on with the same password on that same note our third party internet provider is more than willing to help you with their service support department. Your feedback will assist us in providing you a better experience in the future.

Our mission is to provide superior customer service and a place to come home to rest and relax. We hope you provide us a second chance and warmly welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to San Francisco.


Kindest regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Good Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was appalling.
We hated every minute in this place and could not wait to get out of the place... The neighbourhood is really bad, full of drug dealers, drug addicts and homeless people.. Right on the corner the was a lady making a big fuss when she was purchasing a needle to inject herself with drugs on the corner, she almost got hit by a car.. Do not walk this neighbourhood at night, it is bad. It is so noisy outside at night because of all the crime going on outside.. The place is run down, and it didn't have a clean feel about it.. I wish I had of paid the extra money and stayed around Fishermans wharf.. You will see homeless people everywhere just like any other place but this neighborhood was so unsafe and dirty.. My kids literally said that they hated the place.. Do not stay here.. I came across 3 seperate people staying in the hotel who were not happy with thier stay either.. $30 for parking your car every night. Rip off it's $10 to park your car across the road..

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Livvy_ella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Dear Livvy_ella,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. We are sympathetic to hear that you had a less than stellar impression of our neighborhood. The SOMA neighborhood is filled with eclectic characters as well as families and is in the process of reinventing itself with new businesses and restaurants.

Our parking pricing is comparable to similar properties in the area and we feel we provide good value given our in and out privileges. The difference in pricing you suggested is the standard sized vehicle overnight parking compared to the daily parking rate. We regret that this was not your impression and offer our apologies.

We do hope that you are able to give our property and the SOMA neighborhood a second chance when you return to San Francisco.

Kindest regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Good Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Decent location, but I don't suggest wandering around after dark! The neighborhood is sketch, the hotel is okay. Stayed in a room with two twins. The bed was stiff and you could feel ever spring. The bathroom was attached a private which is rare for this price of a hotel in San Francisco. The room faced the road and was loud during the day, but quieted down at night thankfully. I only suggest this if you need a cheap hotel with parking in the city!

Room Tip: Converted motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raevaughn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at The Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear raevaughn,

We certainly appreciate that you took the time to share your review about your recent stay with us and the Trip Advisor community. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations, with the exception of the bed, which we're sorry to hear was too firm for you comfort. Our little neighborhood of SoMA (South of Market) is slightly off the beaten path but is up and coming with several new and planned restaurants and cafe as well as new high-tech neighbors moving in such as Twitter, Dolby and Pintrest! We look forward to welcoming you back to San Francisco and SoMA in the future!

Best regards,
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Music City Hotel
#117 of 230 in San Francisco
426 reviews
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#172 of 230 in San Francisco
880 reviews
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#141 of 230 in San Francisco
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#183 of 230 in San Francisco
786 reviews
Htl 587
#160 of 230 in San Francisco
30 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#87 of 230 in San Francisco
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Good Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Good Hotel

Address: 112 7th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-2809 (Formerly Hotel Britton)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $113 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Good Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the vibrant South of Market (SoMA) district of downtown San Francisco, the Good Hotel has 117-rooms and is intended to be the first hotel with a conscience by taking a green approach to design that inspires the "good in us all." Renew, Reuse, Relax!Guest rooms feature sustainable products and materials such as 100% reclaimed wood bed frames, bed linens and light fixtures made from recycled water bottles, and our "sink positive" installations; all designed to be environmentally friendly.The convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions and destinations including Civic Center Plaza, Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Westfield Shopping Centre, the Theater District, and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Good Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing