We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant Destination and a BRILLIANT hotel!”
Review of The Good Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Good Hotel
Ranked #187 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The good hotel is exactly what its called! GOOD! but it should be the GREAT hotel, everything is great! the staff are friendly, the loaction is brilliant, its very clean, not noisy, Great rooms and overall a great addition to your stay in one of the best destinations in the world! theres also free bike hire in reception which is an astonashing accompliment to the already great hotel! (although you have to get up early to get them), The wifi conncetion was okay, could easily run nearly all software including movies streaming live and skype to the united kingdom was clear, the sister hotel opposite (best western) was also lovely, friendly staff, free Imac Acess with fast internet, food was superb for a small cafe/bar, sports tv area, lovely swimming pool and all of this free for THE GOOD HOTEL customers! ( of course you must pay for the food or you will be arrested)

Overall it is much much much much better than all these negative reviews by people who clearly cannot see the posatives! its a great hotel! more than i could of wished for! at first the location seems a bit dodgy but in the end is close to the biggest mall ive ever seen ( by UK standards) and its a short walk down to fishermans wharf at a calm sightseeing pase.

I reccommend this hotel to older families ( Kids-15+) due to the very busy road outside which was a deathtrap!

P.S THE HOTEL IS RIGHT NEXT TO SAN FRANCISCO FEDERAL BUILDING WHICH MAKES YOU FEEL SAFE FOR YOU OVERALLY DEPRESSING AND NEGATIVE PEOPLE !

Alex Murray
15 year old - THE GOOD HOTEL - "OUTSTANDING"

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be great! BUT the courtyard one which i stayed in was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Supervisor at The Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Alex M,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at the Good Hotel. It's fantastic to hear that you were able to enjoy the hotel amenities including our free bike rentals and free wireless internet.

Thank you again for all the kind words, we look forward to having you back with us the next time you travel to San Francisco.

Cheers,

James Charles
Front Office Supervisor
Good Hotel
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 651 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel should be judged on exactly what it promotes itself to be. It is a 2 and a half star hotel, which was formally a motel, located in a pretty low at heel part of town. It is aimed at youngish travellers who like the 'boutique' feel but can't afford the real thing.

I have read all the reviews posted previously and it amazes me that people don't do their research first, then criticise the hotel for not being something different. In this information age there is no excuse at all for not doing your homework first.

The hotel is small and clean. The rooms are very basic and low end boutique with small funky touches in the art work or furniture; as if Ikea designed budget hotels. There are white wooden blinds at the windows and big ceiling fans (our worked fine) the lighting is good. The bed was firm, yes there are only 2 pillows and only one extra cover but unless you are a princess and need a 5 star luxury bed with 8 pillows and 500 count cotton sheets, then what they offer is just fine. The wifi worked, there was a bath and a powerful shower, the parking is a bit pricey (but i had called ahead and asked about it so it wasn't a shock)

The staff are professional but not overly chatty. Again, it is worth remembering that this is a low end hotel and that is what you pay for. if you want a concierge to tell you where to go and what to do then you should check into a tourist trap chintzy hotel where they spoon feed you over priced tourist trap restaurants, things to do and places to see. This hotel is for people who want a cool base in town, and who know what they are doing and where they are going.

The sfmoma, yerba buena, contemporary jewish museum and the california historical museum are all 10-15 mins walk away.

The 'big name' shops are 10-15 mins walk away

The BART is 5 mins walk away

The buses from Market and the neighbouring streets are 5-10 mins walk away

Chinatown and then North Beach are 15-25 mins walk away

The Neighbourhood: When I booked this hotel I already knew a little about the exact neighbourhood as this is my 3rd visit to the city and my boyfriend's 10th. However I still did lots of research. On local forums and general websites about the city they tell you exactly what streets have the good bars or restaurants and where to avoid. It shouldn't be massive surprise to you that it is located in a dodgy part of town. Mission (the main street next to the hotel) is always busy and brightly lit, there are loads of taxis to jump into, the other forms of transport are also 5 mins away. However common sense should tell you not to go wandering around aimlessly looking for a restaurant or bar in a bad area, as if you wander onto 6th for example, you will find yourself in the middle of crack-head central.

if you want safe and middle aged hotel then check into somewhere generic and boring.

If you want to spend your time in SF actually out in the city having fun and your hotel is a cool little place to rest your head then this is the hotel for you.

We spent the majority of the time in Mission (for the day of the dead celebrations) and the BART will take you straight to 16th or 24th, right into the heart of the best bars and restaurants in the city.

Amazing burgers on the other side of the street at Gourmet Burgers

Amazing coffee 2 blocks down at SightGlass

Room Tip: We had a courtyard room which was quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Supervisor at The Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear s p,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share a detailed and thorough review with the Trip Advisor community.

We appreciate all of the comments and reviews made by all of our guests. It sounds like you enjoyed your trip and stay with us while in San Francisco.

It would be a pleasure to have you back with us any time you make it back to San Francisco.

Kind Regards,

James Charles
Front Office Supervisor
Good Hotel
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was my first time in San Francisco and it was a great trip except for this hotel. We waited over 30 minutes to check in and finally left before checking in because we had dinner reservations. The concierge never once looked up to even acknowledge we were there. I thought maybe that was an anomaly but when we came back from dinner we continued to wait. It also took 45 minutes to check out. The same goes for checking out. Also, the walls are paper thing. I could hear EVERYTHING (and I mean, things I really didn't want to hear) the people next to us were doing. The street noise doesn't bother me, I like it, but I don't think I should be able to hear intimate details of someone else's conversation. Also, there was no AC in the room which isn't a big deal except that the fan was motion sensored so when we went to sleep it would turn off and I would wake up sweating. Oh, and add to all of that, the WiFi wouldn't work in our room. We ended up checking out early because we weren't getting any sleep. Overall, this place isn't worth what they're charging.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBGann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear LBGann,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff you have my apologies for the situations you encountered. I truly regret that we didn’t handle things better and have followed up with my team to ensure such situations does not recur.

As we have entered a digital age we have become accustomed to an uninterrupted high speed internet signal available everywhere we go. To provide additional amenities to our guests our hotel provides free internet. We do apologize that the Wifi signal did not meet your standards.

If you are ever in San Francisco again we hope that you would provide us another opportunity to offer the service that you would expect from us.

Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Good Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed in a room that faced 7th St. Pretty loud if you are a light sleeper, so request a courtyard room away from the street. WiFi did not work in the room, had to go out in the hallway to get connected. The room was larger than expected, but the bathrrom was pretty small. Shower stall, no bath, was about the size of a refrigerator. $25 to park, no breakfast, but a Subway is across the street and a restaurant is also across the street at the Americania Hotel. Walking distance to many forms of transportation, so no need to drive around town. Not the best part of town at night, but did not have an issue with anyone while walking back to the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose one away from the street, costs more, but may allow for better shut eye.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ganderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at The Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear ganderson,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that overall, you had a pleasant stay with us despite the room change, which ended up being satisfactory to your needs and I'm sure our future guests appreciate that tip! Regarding our parking, the hotel is pleased to offer affordable overnight parking rates compared to our neighboring hotels in the Financial District, Union Square and Fisherman's Wharf charging in excess of $62.00 per night.

As you mentioned, our location does provide quite easy access to all points within the city and is very close to all methods of public transportation. Our neighborhood of SoMA (South of Market) area is an eclectic and diverse area which contributes to the overall makeup of the city of San Francisco. Although not necessarily the most luxurious part of town, SoMA is continually thriving with planned restaurant openings as well as major corporations moving into our neighborhood. Again, your feedback is much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back to SoMA in the very near future!

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I urge anybody visiting San Francisco not to stay in The Good Hotel it's claims of an eco hotel fall short of the reality, it charges 30 dollars per night for parking you are not told this at the time of booking, the policy in relation to a holding on your credit card for incidentals and deposit is not communicated at the time of checking in so be very careful as extra money will be held against your credit/debit card, staff in general are not very helpful and in fairness after speaking with the manager I can see why as it doesnt seem like a happy working environment for them. There is no bathroom in the reception area you have to use their sister hotel accross the road. I witnessed many rude interactions between staff and guests if you want a positive experience don't stay here. Also our room 131 was damp it's disguised by non environmentaly friendly airfreshner, dark and the safe was broken we did highlight all of these issues but they fell o n deaf ears.In all of two weeks travelling on the west coast of the USA it was the only disappointing stay that we had, I understand that city prices are more expensive but value for money was very lacking here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank felilx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Felilx,

Thank you for providing your opinion it is greatly valued. We apologize that you feel we did not fully communicate the incidental and deposit policy to you at check in. We understand the confusion and frustration this may have caused you which is why our front desk agents mention this at check in and for all of our guest's convenience we do have a posted sign at the front desk explaining the incidental and deposit policy. To further assist our guests the incidental and deposit policy is stated on the registration card that all of our guests initial and sign at check in.

We further apologize that we are unable to provide a restroom in our main lobby. With the lack of available space we strive to provide additional amenities and facilities for our valued guests. Our in and out parking prices are one of the lowest in the city and are comparatively priced with parking establishments in our area.

The Good hotel staff are here to serve and assist all of our patrons. We truly appreciate and respect all of our patrons and regret that this was not your impression and offer our apologies. Our continued efforts to provide superior customer service will be guided in part by your comments.

For further clarification please don’t hesitate to contact me directly at 415-621-7001

Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Good Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My friend from Montreal here for Oracle Convention and his first visit to SF was underwhelmed by this hotel. The dodgy neighborhood and lack of proximity to anything that provides a comfortable experience for a first time visitor makes this place a poor choice for anyone but someone who has business in the Tenderloin or SOMA or needs 24/7 access to certain ' services '.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nhukri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear Nhukri,

We apologize that our SOMA neighborhood was not what you had expected. Our neighborhood of "SoMA" (South of Market) is an eclectic and diverse area which contributes to the overall makeup of the city of San Francisco. Although not necessarily the most luxurious part of town, SoMA is continually thriving with planned restaurant openings as well as major corporations moving into our neighborhood, not to mention, within a very short distance to major San Francisco attractions.

We thank you for the feedback you have provided and hope you will consider our ever changing SoMA neighborhood and our hotel again on your next visit to San Francisco.

Kindest regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Good Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

A modern renovation of an old building, with a real boutique feel - neat reception & meeting area, small but clean rooms with lively, non-corporate decor. Coffee making facilities in the room, but much better free coffee for breakfast in reception. No views through the shuttered windows, but you're not going to San Fran to looks out of the windows.

However, the district where the hotel is situated, just of Market Street is horrendous; with very little in terms of Cafes, Burger Bars, Restaurants or even shops. The nearest 'touristy' areas are a good 15 minutes walk through a derelect, run-down, & seedy area with drunks, trolley-people and unemployed littering every street corner - and that's during the day; at night-time, although not dangerous, it certainly is not what a long distance traveveller needs after a 10 flight from Europe.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saltyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear Saltyre,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you found your accommodations satisfactory. We are sympathetic to hear that you had a less than stellar impression of our neighborhood. The SOMA neighborhood is in the process of reinventing itself with new businesses and restaurants establishing themselves near our hotel.

We appreciate the feedback you have provided and hope to warmly welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to San Francisco.

Kindest regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Good Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Music City Hotel
#117 of 230 in San Francisco
419 reviews
Htl 587
#161 of 230 in San Francisco
30 reviews
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#139 of 230 in San Francisco
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#183 of 230 in San Francisco
779 reviews
SoMa
Best Western Plus Americania
Best Western Plus Americania
#135 of 230 in San Francisco
1,103 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#88 of 230 in San Francisco
2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Good Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Good Hotel

Address: 112 7th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-2809 (Formerly Hotel Britton)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $108 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Good Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the vibrant South of Market (SoMA) district of downtown San Francisco, the Good Hotel has 117-rooms and is intended to be the first hotel with a conscience by taking a green approach to design that inspires the "good in us all." Renew, Reuse, Relax!Guest rooms feature sustainable products and materials such as 100% reclaimed wood bed frames, bed linens and light fixtures made from recycled water bottles, and our "sink positive" installations; all designed to be environmentally friendly.The convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions and destinations including Civic Center Plaza, Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Westfield Shopping Centre, the Theater District, and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Good Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing