We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Vertigo
Nearby Hotels
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$223
$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$279
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$336
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kimpton Buchanan(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$197
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$223
$198
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$274
$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$299
$254
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$416
$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
$205
$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,502)
Filter reviews
1,502 results
Traveler rating
446
698
255
60
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
446
698
255
60
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshitchcock filmunion squaresutter streettenderloinceiling fanfew blocksboutique hotelwalk in closetfront desk staffan older buildingdecent sizenob hilltea and coffeeour honeymoonstayed here for nightsvalet parkingpublic transport
Filter
Updating list...
409 - 414 of 1,502 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Vertigo for 4 nights in March.
The bedroom was really modern and quirky and kept immaculate. Same deal with the bathroom, very modern, clean and really nice complimentary products!
The location of the hotel is pretty central (in the Nob Hill area) which suited us. We walked to Fishermans Wharf a couple of times (took about 45 mins) its a nice walk but very hilly so be warned, if you don't feel you can cope with the walk take the tram - there is a stop really nearby.
Union Square was only about a 10/15 min walk away.
Reception staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FiFiFouad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear FiFiFouad,

We are so pleased we could welcome you and your husband and to our hotel and we appreciate your kind review. It's always great when we can turn new guests into fans of our hotel. We hope you enjoyed your visit to San Francisco and we look forward to your visits in the future.


Luis Morales
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This was my 3rd time staying at Hotel Vertigo... 1st time I went with my family and had a fantastic time. The 2nd and 3rd time, I went with friends while we were there to race Nike Woman's 1/2 Marathon and Rock & Roll 1/2. Not only is this Hotel very unique by the trendy decor the staff is always helpful and available 24 hours. The location is within walking distance of all the trendy shops downtown San Francisco as well as only minutes away front the Bay. Based on my experience I highly recommend this Hotel for a business stay or vacation.

Room Tip: upper and corner rooms are the best!!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polaki97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Polaki97,

We thank you for being a return guest of ours. It's so great for us to hear from guests who enjoy our hotel and location so much they choose to return. We appreciate you sharing your review with us and we look forward to your next stay and best of luck on your next marathon.

Luis Morales
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

As above, I was really pleased with this hotel as it was clean, comfortable, quiet, characterful and in a great location. No issues with walking home at night from Bart stations (about 15 mins walk) as long as you didn't go through Tenderloin.

Loads of nice, cool cafes and bars close by serving good food and breakfasts etc. Also lots of Academy of Arts Institute buildings around which means plenty of harmless students around at most times of the day and night.

Cool place, glad I picked it, I would recommend and would stay here again. (I'd also check out The Mosser which I think is owned by the same people and is in an even more central location).

Wifi worked pretty well too - was able to manage Skype video calls.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Chris S,

Thank you for being a guest of ours and for taking time to leave us your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay while with us including our great location, the cool cafes, restaurants and the local bars. We hope you will have a chance to join us again in the future visit to San Francisco.

Luis Morales
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Placed in a strategical position, although the only place of interest reachable by feet is Union Square, the hotel is very close to Cable Car and bus stoppes (do not try to visit San Francisco by car, it could being a dramatic experience…).
Rooms are alright, clean and nice, with free Wi-Fi. Shuttle service to Airport, cheaper than taxi, may be booked at reception (staff could be unfriendly). Charges are 150 € (~200 USD) / night, without breakfast.
Breakfast is poor but there are several places to get it near there, I suggest Cup-A-Joe Coffee House.
Just one advice for whom intend to have shopping in San Francisco: Clothing shops are really affordable, but stay away from stores that do not show the selling prices (ESPECIALLY Photographic good stores).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AEmiliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I was booked here by a client. While it may be ok for budget tourism, I would strongly encourage business travelers to avoid this hotel. You would probably be better off getting away from the city center than staying here. It is one of these shabby old properties someone tried to spin into a "boutique" hotel by putting some decent-looking furniture that make nice photos, while touching nothing else. Well, don't be fooled by the photos -- it is nothing more than a dishonest attempt at cool on the cheap, and lacks the most basic amenities. .

Pros --
Staff is generally nice and attentive

Cons --
- no air conditioning in rooms -- this one was really hard to believe, but there is a ceiling fan as climate control
- no restaurant or kitchen on premise, very limited dining options around
- analog TV with 10 channels -- why bother to have LCD?
- valet parking requires 30 minutes notice (not operated by the hotel)
- unpleasant neighborhood

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yoh972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews