We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Comfortable, Quiet, Characterful, Great location”
Review of Hotel Vertigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vertigo
Ranked #75 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Juan-les-Pins, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, Comfortable, Quiet, Characterful, Great location”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

As above, I was really pleased with this hotel as it was clean, comfortable, quiet, characterful and in a great location. No issues with walking home at night from Bart stations (about 15 mins walk) as long as you didn't go through Tenderloin.

Loads of nice, cool cafes and bars close by serving good food and breakfasts etc. Also lots of Academy of Arts Institute buildings around which means plenty of harmless students around at most times of the day and night.

Cool place, glad I picked it, I would recommend and would stay here again. (I'd also check out The Mosser which I think is owned by the same people and is in an even more central location).

Wifi worked pretty well too - was able to manage Skype video calls.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Chris S,

Thank you for being a guest of ours and for taking time to leave us your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay while with us including our great location, the cool cafes, restaurants and the local bars. We hope you will have a chance to join us again in the future visit to San Francisco.

Luis Morales
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    619
    231
    52
    39
See reviews for
147
716
95
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Placed in a strategical position, although the only place of interest reachable by feet is Union Square, the hotel is very close to Cable Car and bus stoppes (do not try to visit San Francisco by car, it could being a dramatic experience…).
Rooms are alright, clean and nice, with free Wi-Fi. Shuttle service to Airport, cheaper than taxi, may be booked at reception (staff could be unfriendly). Charges are 150 € (~200 USD) / night, without breakfast.
Breakfast is poor but there are several places to get it near there, I suggest Cup-A-Joe Coffee House.
Just one advice for whom intend to have shopping in San Francisco: Clothing shops are really affordable, but stay away from stores that do not show the selling prices (ESPECIALLY Photographic good stores).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AEmiliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I was booked here by a client. While it may be ok for budget tourism, I would strongly encourage business travelers to avoid this hotel. You would probably be better off getting away from the city center than staying here. It is one of these shabby old properties someone tried to spin into a "boutique" hotel by putting some decent-looking furniture that make nice photos, while touching nothing else. Well, don't be fooled by the photos -- it is nothing more than a dishonest attempt at cool on the cheap, and lacks the most basic amenities. .

Pros --
Staff is generally nice and attentive

Cons --
- no air conditioning in rooms -- this one was really hard to believe, but there is a ceiling fan as climate control
- no restaurant or kitchen on premise, very limited dining options around
- analog TV with 10 channels -- why bother to have LCD?
- valet parking requires 30 minutes notice (not operated by the hotel)
- unpleasant neighborhood

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yoh972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights during a conference. It was basic and functional and a bit cheaper than many SF hotels. The room size was decent and the bed clean and comfortable. Front desk staff was really friendly and the location is great. The negatives are the lack of TV channels-only 5 odd channels like Bloomberg and CNBC but no local. The minibar is stocked with V8 juice and such, but not much else. Overall a decent place in SF, 3.5 stars.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I stayed here with two girlfriends when we were travelling America in November 2013. We stayed in a room that had two queen bed's in it. We arrived at about 11am - prior to the stated check in- but as our room was ready we were able to head up there and get settled. I loved the look of the hotel, it had a nice boutique feel to it. The receptionists were so very helpful with ordering Taxi's and giving us recommendations of where to look around etc. The Room was small, but we had more than enough space for the 3 of us. The Bed's were nice and comfy - although some of the bedding looked a little worn. The wardrobe was huge and spacious and as was the bathroom. The free wine tasting in the Lobby of an evening and a bonus! It was nice to come back after a busy day and sit down to a couple of free glasses of wine before heading out for the evening. My only thought, was that it was slightly on the expensive side. I would definitely stay at Hotel Vertigo again and would recommend it to my friends/family!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smithers888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had so much fun at Hotel Vertigo. I loved the boutique feel and the location. The theme sets it apart (watch the move first!). I wouldn't stay anywhere else in San Francisco--you can't beat the deal you are getting for the price!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaleigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Not sure where to start. I endured this hotel for 4 long nights. The reception staff are rude and indifferent. The front desk looks like a garage sale wi plastic tubs and food wrappers all over. The rooms are seemingly clean - but that's where it goes downhill. threadbare towels (they were so bad one ripped after the shower) no ac (my room had no climate control or cooling option), the television had 3 channels (not even free to air). Location less than 2 blocks from a very sketchy part of tenderloin. Avoid this place.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kabulpickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#70 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#19 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#89 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vertigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vertigo

Property: Hotel Vertigo
Address: 940 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-6025 (Formerly York Hotel)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vertigo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vertigo is a 102-room boutique hotel that is renowned for its simplicity and admired for its unique character. Recently renovated, this non-smoking hotel playfully feeds off the Hitchcock's classic movie, "Vertigo." With rich wood furnishings highlighted with cream and orange accents, it is well suited for vacationers, families, and business travellers alike.Situated in the lower Nob Hill pocket of downtown San Francisco, the convenient location provides easy access to many of the city's top attractions and destinations. Just steps away from Cable Cars, Union Square and the major shopping and theater districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hotel Vertigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vertigo Hotel San Francisco
York Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing