We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, great staff”
Review of Hotel Vertigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vertigo
Ranked #75 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location, great staff”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This was our first visit to SF and not really sure what to expect. Room was a good size, with walk-in wardrobe. We upgraded to this hotel as an optional extra for our trip, and very glad we did as the original hotel was a few blocks down and in the "tenderloin" area! The stay was good, it was peaceful at night and slept well. It was close to union square and a great base to explore the city. The staff also saved our bacon on departure day, we were badly let down by super shuttle - and would have missed our flight had it not been for the swift actions of the hotel staff. We managed to get into another transfer that happened to be at the hotel and made our flight on time!! We cannot thank the hotel staff enough! They were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. We would recommend this hotel and would chose to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Gemma A,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your kind words and we will make sure to pass your compliments on to our team. Guest satisfaction is our top priority, so we are happy to go above and beyond to make our guests' stay a comfortable one.We are happy to hear our staff exceeded expectations and that we were able to help you catch your flight!

Thank you for your stay and we hope to have you as a guest again in the future.

Regards,

Luis Morales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    634
    237
    54
    40
See reviews for
152
734
98
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Very nice and quiet hotel, good for short trips. Standard room is not so spacious but cozy and clean, for two it's enough. Close to city centre, Union square and China town. 10 minutes walk from financial district. Free coffee and tea mornings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrenePav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hi IrenePav,

We thank you for being a guest and for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you enjoyed our great location and enjoyed your time in San Francisco. We welcome you back should your future travel ever bring you back this way.

Warm Regards,

Luis Morales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Hotel is within walking distance to lots of great restaurants etc and within a few blocks of a cable car stop. We loved Flour & Co. for breakfast.

The hotel quickly brought up a roll away when they realized we had booked a room with 2 dbl beds and were very apologetic. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Rooms and bathrooms were clean. Elevator and stairs available. Good mini bar!

Free wine on Friday nights in the lobby! Parking is expensive so be prepared...though it can't be avoided in San Fran.

Room Tip: Hotel vacuums hallways pretty early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hi Maggie B,

We thank you for being a guest and for taking the time to leave us a High marking review! More importantly, we are glad our staff made you feel so welcome and that you enjoyed our great location! We hope your travels lead you back to San Francisco sometime soon!

Regards,

Luis Morales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Our 1st visit to San Francisco and what a great experience! Hotel Vertigo is a quirky hotel with good sized rooms that are clean and tidy. Huge walk in closet only wish the bathroom was a little bigger with more bench space. The location is very close to Union Square but a bit close to Tenderloin too. No restaurant in the hotel but loads within walking distance. Friendly staff added to the overall good experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou73f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Lou73f,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a thoughtful review. We are happy you enjoyed your 1st time in San Francisco and that we got to be a part of that great experience. We truly appreciate your feedback of our hotel and we hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Thanks,

Luis Morales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Nice stylishly designed hotel. As others said - you get what you pay for. This isn't a flashy hotel but it is trendy, comfortable and in a great location. The customer service is pretty average but if there was a good deal going at the time, I would stay again next time.
Loved the animal statues in the foyer and the horse head lamps in the room!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank an0n13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear an0n13,

Thank you very much for your review and high marks for the Hotel Vertigo! I'm glad that you enjoyed our location, comfort and trendy property. We look forward to your next return to San Francisco and the Hotel Vertigo!

Regards,

Luis Morales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Liked the art-deco feel of the rooms, huge walk in wardrobe and great shower. Lobby looks great and staff were v efficient (although not particularly friendly!) Good value for an SF hotel having researched a heap of places before discovering this little gem. Had read reviews re the lack of breakfast options, but for tourists there are plenty of places 5mins walk away. Try heading up Hyde St a block or two.

First visit to SF so wasn't sure which area to opt for. Didn't feel this was the best area in the end and if I were to go again I'd opt to stay a few blocks further north. The lift broke down repeatedly which wasn't ideal when we were staying on the 7th floor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat110601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Kat110601,

Thank you for your feedback and review of your stay at the Hotel Vertigo. I do apologize for the inconvenience that the lift did cause during your stay and we resolved the problem as quick as the elevator company came out. I am delighted that you did find our staff to be great and efficient and that you found our Hitchcockian decor to be trendy.

We look forward to having you again as our guest.

Regards,

Luis Morales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Most of the people who love this hotel seem to be from Europe where AC isn't that common. As a US business traveler I've come to expect AC in any hotel room. Having to keep the window open and using a ceiling fan to try to stay cool wasn't exactly my idea of a good time. With the window open you could hear various noises coming from partying in the courtyard or street well into the night and early morning. I was there with some co-workers and every day we would joke about what we heard the night before. While not far from Union Square, the neighborhood isn't the best. There are definitely some questionable people nearby. Before somebody thinks I'm hating on SF culture, I'll mention that I've been to SF enough times to know the difference between "artistic" and "I think this person may harm or rob me" Near the hotel I felt the latter.

There's one small elevator that kept breaking down when we were there.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean but if you're traveling for business you're probably going to be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whedrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Whedrick,

Thank you for your feeback and suggestions on ways that we may improve to further enhance each guests experience at the Hotel Vertigo. Given San Francisco's cool year round temperature our boutique hotel is not equipped with air conditioners, however in the case of rare heat waves we can provide fans to our guests. I apologize that your stay was less than perfect due to not having AC, the noise pollution, and the elevator issue that we resolved.

On a bright note I am delighted that you found our rooms to be clean and our staff to be friendly and helpful! We hope your travels lead you back to San Francisco and you provide us with another chance to exceed your expectations.

Warm Regards,

Jaime Gonzalez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 229 in San Francisco
1,326 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#95 of 229 in San Francisco
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,157 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#54 of 229 in San Francisco
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vertigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vertigo

Property: Hotel Vertigo
Address: 940 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-6025 (Formerly York Hotel)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vertigo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vertigo is a 102-room boutique hotel that is renowned for its simplicity and admired for its unique character. Recently renovated, this non-smoking hotel playfully feeds off the Hitchcock's classic movie, "Vertigo." With rich wood furnishings highlighted with cream and orange accents, it is well suited for vacationers, families, and business travellers alike.Situated in the lower Nob Hill pocket of downtown San Francisco, the convenient location provides easy access to many of the city's top attractions and destinations. Just steps away from Cable Cars, Union Square and the major shopping and theater districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vertigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vertigo Hotel San Francisco
York Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing