We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing but good things to day.”
Review of Hotel Vertigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vertigo
Ranked #73 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
N Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nothing but good things to day.”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Husband and I started and ended our California holiday here in May and June. I had been slightly apprehensive as the travel agent who booked our holiday had choosen the hotel and hadn't told us it was 3 star - we normally stay in 4 star holidays after having an appalling experience in a 3 star hotel a few years ago. After booking we had read some reviews that the neighbourhood was not so good, that it was right in the middle of Tenderloin - it's not. We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel and the area around it was fine.
Checkin was painless for our 3 night stay at the start of our holiday. The guy who checked us in provided a map of SF and told us useful things like where the nearest cable car stop was, and how to get the the boat for Alcatraz. Anytime we spoke with the front desk staff we found them helpful. They contacted our tour companies for us, and sorted out transfers to the airport to pick up our hire car.
Our room was clean and definitely not small. There was space beside the bed to keep both suitcases out on the floor (which we weren't unpacking as we were on a flydrive holiday and i had better things to do with my holiday time than repack every couple of days) and not run the risk of tripping over them. The bed itself was just right in terms of comfort, probably medium support. Not sure if american bed sizes are different than Euorpean but it was definitely bigger than the king size we have at home, so queen? 3 star hotel rooms in Europe would normally be a lot smaller than this room.
Bathroom was fine, we had a bath with a shower over it in our first room. The toilettries supplied smelt of green tea and were nice. We were upgraded to an executive room on our second stay and the bathroom only had a shower but it was brand new so no complaints. The executive room had two large beds. Yes, some noise from rooms next door in both the rooms we stayed in, but not late at night and not so loud as to be annoying. Trust me, if it had been loud I wouldn't have been able to sleep, I had air plugs with me and didn't need to use them.
I personally liked the orange and brown decor, and the horses heads were funny! Coffee machine most welcome, large fridge, TV although I don't think we had it switched on at all during our stay, an electronic safe. Some snacks etc supplied for purchase in the room. Good gym in the building which unfortunately we didn't have time to use. Free coffee in the mornings in the lobby very welcome before setting out on a trip. There was free wine in the evenings too. I like the fact Vertigo is on constantly in the reception.
There is a large mini market selling snacks and drinks a few doors down from the hotel, which also sells the bus and cable car passes. We normally used either the bus (from Post Street, although return journey goes along Sutter Street) to get to Union Square, or the cable car three (I think) blocks up from Sutter Street to get to China Town and the financial district, but we did walk down Sutter Street one night to Union Square and felt it was a safe walk. Took about 10 to 15 mins, downhill pretty much the whole way there.
There was a lovely cafe Jin's across the road from the hotel and we got a few breakfasts there. We got a pizza from the pizza place beside the hotel on our first night and took it back to the room; the pizza place was not the most upmarket but the pizza was good. There was another cafe on the same block as the hotel but we didn't try it.
We intend to go back to SF in a few years time and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneUNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear SuzanneUnreland,

Hello! Your California Holiday sounds like it was amazing and we are happy we could be a small part of it.
We are glad you got to experience our excellent City. Thank you for taking a moment to leave us such a nice review.
We are happy to hear that you found our staff very helpful, in addition they were able to arrange your transportation to the airport. And happy to hear that you found your room very clean, will definitely share your comments with our cleaning staff, since they take pride at very room they service.
We hope you return to San Francisco and stay with us again soon

Luis Morales
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    644
    237
    54
    40
See reviews for
156
742
98
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed in SF for 3 nights and had a good time in the hotel. The room was clean and the furniture was quite modern. The TV had only a few channels and these were not well sorted.
Location was o, but next time we would choose a hotel nearer to the piers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Linda T,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a nice note about your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you room was very clean, I will share your comments with our cleaning staff since they take pride in every room they service. Again thank you and we hope to see you again on a future visit.

Luis Morales
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We appreciate that the hotel market in San Francisco is competetive, particularly in the week when Oracle and the America's Cup were in town, but this was not quite what we expected. As other reviewers have said, the hotel plays a lot on having been a location for the Hitchcock film, Vertigo. It is clearly an old hotel that has had a bit of a remodel - lots and lots and lots of white paint and orange furniture that does not fit the style of the building. The most bizarre thing in the rooms are the horse's head bedside lamps - so Godfather.

The elevator broke down a lot in the three days we were there. We were on the 7th floor so this was an issue. If you have difficulty using stairs, you should enquire about this before booking. We got a reduction on our final bill to acknowledge the inconvenience of the elevator being out of action so often. Thank you for this.

The room was a good size and very clean. Shelf space in the bathroom was virtually non existent. Getting in and out of the shower/tub was a challenge, very narrow space to do this and you have to partly climb over the toilet - particularly if you do not want to slip on the floor. Bed was ok. Windows are very old, very cheap and we were very glad not to be there when it was cold; it would have been VERY draughty. The poor windows also mean that sound from other rooms travels very easily. We overlooked the inner courtyard and you had to draw curtains to ensure you were not overlooked from other rooms.

Well located to walk downtown and for buses downtown and for the Powell/Hyde/Mason cable car.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmills55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Mrsmills55,

Hi, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your expectations of the look of our hotel were not met, but we are pleased you got to enjoy our great location and that you found our rooms spacious and very clean. You are correct; our windows are a little outdated, which we will replace them in the near future. We are very sorry for the inconvenience you had with the elevators, it was very unfortunate that it happen while you were our guest.
We appreciate your stay and hope your travels bring you to San Francisco again.

Luis Morales
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willis, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I spent 3 nights at the Hotel Vertigo. Overall it was fine experience, but not spectacular. There is no air conditioning and I found it a little too hot even with the fan on. I was on the 2nd floor which had a courtyard right outside. If I opened my window, someone from the other 2nd floor rooms that opened to the courtyard could have walked over and entered my room, so I left it closed.There isn't a restaurant, but there are plenty of restaurants a few steps away so that really wasn't an issue. They provided free wine at 5:30 which was a nice touch. The room was pretty standard, the bathroom only had a shower (no tub), and the space around the sink for makeup/toiletries was extremely limited. It worked out fine for my business trip, but I wasn't overly impressed except that I liked the location. Aces Bar two doors down from the hotel, was nice - the locals hang out there and they are very friendly.

Room Tip: Get a room higher than the 2nd floor so you can open the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friofrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Friofrio,

Hi, thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking a moment to leave us a review. We hope you enjoyed your time in the great city of San Francisco and we are happy to hear that your experience overall was fine.
We are sorry to hear that your room was a little hot and unfortunately we have no air conditioning in our guest rooms.
Should you travel to San Francisco for another visit, we'd love to have you as a guest again.

Luis Morales
Hotel Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerleon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had a large and spacious room,which was equipped with coffee and tea making facilities with a huge walk in shower.The room fronted the main road and was opposite the lift,despite this we had untroubled sleep.The only drawback was the absence of a restaurant or bar within the hotel, which meant that we had to eat out,or eat before we returned to the hotel,this wasn't always possible.For breakfast there are several eating places close to hand,turn left out of the hotel at the end of the block there is a cafe and one on the corner opposite.We preferred the little cafe directly opposite the hotel run by a chinese family.We choose the Vertigo because of its proximity to Union Square.It takes about 10/15 minutes to walk to the square,on the way and about 5 blocks down is the Sutter Arms,blink and you will miss it.If you want a good welcome,wholesome food at reasonable prices, give it a try.We walked from Union Square via China Town to Pier 39 several times.It's a bit of a hike but it is enjoyable with so much to see

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank WalesShadwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Wales Shadwell,

Hello, we are so pleased you had a great stay with us. We thank you for being a guest and for taking a moment to leave us your kind review. Glad you got a chance to have that great walk, from our Hotel to Pier 39, and like you said, it was a bit of a hike but you are right! It is enjoyable.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again should you return to San Francisco.

Luis Morales
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hotel Vertigo plays heavily on the fact that it appeared in Hitchcock's thriller, Vertigo. The decor is a homage to the early 1950s and there is a copy of the film playing (in silent mode) on what seems to be a continuous loop. We were booked in for five nights at the start of our Californian holiday and two nights at its end. The rooms were not bad - queen sized bed and a desk with coffee machine (though just two coffee sachets of both sorts, decaffeinated and full roast, which if the pair of you fancy a second cup of one sort then you've got to trek to Reception to do a swap - perhaps a short questionnaire for guests staying more than one night to alert housekeeping to the guest's requirements might be in order). There's also a fridge with drinks and chocolate available (but at ridiculous prices). Two good things - the safe located in the linen cupboard, which came free of charge, and the shower which was rather powerful.

There is free coffee in reception first thing in the morning, and a wine reception late afternoon. And all guests can help themselves to a free copy of the SF Chronicle.

Location on Sutter Street is good - a 10 minute walk from Union Square and the 2 and 3 bus routes drop you off virtually outside the door (you have to walk down a block to catch the bus downtown or to the Embarcadero). Good cafes nearby - Cup A Joes great for coffee, limited range of food but the cafe on the opposite corner is really good and very reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deryck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Deryck H,

Hi, we are so glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a thoughtful review. We are happy you were able to benefit from our great location and the coffee places nearby in addition the easy public transportation such bus 2 and 3.

We are very sorry to hear that you were not happy with the coffee we provide in the guest room, but I am happy to hear that you experienced the coffee in the lobby early morning.

We thank you for being a guest and look forward to seeing you in the future should you return.

Luis Morales
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel lacks a laundry facility for guests and a restaurant. It is quite a distance to the downtown wharf area where all the tourist activity is found. If you are of an older age group or have difficulty walking on streets that go up and down like a roller coaster I would not recommend staying here unless you have your own transport. The neighbourhood has very little to offer in terms of food outlets and the constant begging of ciggarettes /money became tiresome also.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Lesly L,

Hi, thank you for your recent stay with us. We apologize that it did not meet your expectations. We hope you were able to enjoy the City Of San Francisco, but we are sorry you were not more satisfied with the location of our hotel and the facilities around it. We do appreciate your feedback.

Luis Morales
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,340 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#77 of 229 in San Francisco
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Queen Anne Hotel
#82 of 229 in San Francisco
643 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#90 of 229 in San Francisco
2,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vertigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vertigo

Property: Hotel Vertigo
Address: 940 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-6025 (Formerly York Hotel)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vertigo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vertigo is a 102-room boutique hotel that is renowned for its simplicity and admired for its unique character. Recently renovated, this non-smoking hotel playfully feeds off the Hitchcock's classic movie, "Vertigo." With rich wood furnishings highlighted with cream and orange accents, it is well suited for vacationers, families, and business travellers alike.Situated in the lower Nob Hill pocket of downtown San Francisco, the convenient location provides easy access to many of the city's top attractions and destinations. Just steps away from Cable Cars, Union Square and the major shopping and theater districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vertigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vertigo Hotel San Francisco
York Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing