We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“head for the penthouse!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Vertigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vertigo
Ranked #75 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“head for the penthouse!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

fun, stylish and conveniently located, this place has everything you need for a short stay in San Fran. We had the top room, which was really roomy and just really comfy. Decor is cool, a bit funky and conventional. There are a few nice busy bars further up the street, check them out!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallySpider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear SallySpider

Thank you for the raving 5 star review! I'm thrilled that you enjoyed our penthouse and we would certainly love to have you back as guests in our hotel again. Thank you!

Sincerely,

Jaime Gonzalez
Front Office Manager
Hotel Vertigo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    615
    230
    51
    38
See reviews for
145
709
94
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

When staying in San Francisco the natural choice is for one of the many very nice boutique hotels in town. My experiment was to see whether this would hold true even if one travels with the family (and relatively young children)! Hotel Vertigo really appealed to me with its movie heritage, so this was going to be the site of my little field experiment. And it worked (sort of)! The staff, generally one of the main obstacles to a happy boutique hotel family combo, were excellent and didn't flinch when we arrived with our brood. They even managed to squeeze in an additional bed into a room that wasn't exactly large (another potential problem of boutique hotels for families). Thankfully, the kids didn't wreck any of the nice furniture so a pleasant stay was had! Little hint: while there is no breakfast available, if you are staying here, there is the most gorgeous little cafe right across the street - Thad's Cafe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PuffleIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear PuffleIreland,

Thank you so much for the fantastic reviews! We are so honored to be a part of your family's unique memories together and that we exceeded your expectations during your family vacation.. It is such a pleasure to have you and your family in our hotel and that you provided us with the opportunity that boutique hotels can be family friendly!

We look forward to your next visit!

Jaime Gonzalez
Hotel Vertigo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Vertigo last week (July 17-18th) and were really pleased. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. I liked that this was an older building, it had a cool vibe. On the 18th we returned earlier to change and they had wine out so we sat and had a glass, we really liked that. My only complaint is that our drain in the room was a little slow but overall it gets 5 stars from me.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Sarah T,

Thank you for the fantastic review - I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! I'm delighted that you were able to enjoy a glass of wine during our wine hour. If you could please reach out to me directly so I may rectify the issue of the slow drain in your room I would highly appreciate.We look forward to your return.

Jaime Gonzalez
Hotel Vertigo
415-885-6800
jgonzalez@haiyi-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed here 6 nights.The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Handy for buses to save walking up and down the hills. Laundromat a few doors away useful for me on an 8 week trip. The room was a decent size and being at the back and on the 7th floor no street noise. The modern shower phased me and I had to go down and ask how to use it. The clerk produced an outlet from under the desk to show me how to use it so I obviously wasn't the first person who didn't know what to do! The Vertigo chair and poster was a nice touch. The only thing spoiling the effect was the spider web crack in the sink - room 706. Apart from that it was fine and I had a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: An upper floor away from the street is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 643Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear 643Anne,

Thank you for the excellent review! It makes us feel so good that you enjoyed our accommodations and location so much! Thank you for taking the time to mention our staff; and we have passed your compliments to them. In addition, thank you for mentioning the crack that was in the sink as we are currently replacing it. We look forward to having you back as our guest!

Jaime Gonzalez
Hotel Vertigo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Fantastic boutique hotel in a great location. Very close to Union square at the cable cars. Everyone was very lovely and it was a very reasonable price for 5 nights. Great history to the hotel and really funky ambiance. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Grace B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us an excellent 5 star review! We are so enthused that you enjoyed our lovely staff, hotel location and the Hitchcockian history of the Hotel Vertigo! We are so happy to have had you as our guest and we certainly hope that you will return during your next visit.

Jaime Gonzalez
Hotel Vertigo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights on honeymoon in June 2013. The hotel has character and the staff are friendly, and we were given a free upgrade which was nice.

The location is ideal, less than a ten minute walk to union square. There is free wifi, and wine and coffee on an evening. There is a fridge in the room which is useful, and we thought the hotel was good for the price. The rooms are a decent size, and we would definately return

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Sophie M,

Thank you for the raving review! We are glad that your honeymoon went great at the Hotel Vertigo and that you thoroughly enjoyed your upgraded room. Again, we appreciate the kind feedback and we hope to see you again at our hotel in the future. Please come again soon!

Best Wishes,

Jaime Gonzalez
Hotel Vertigo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Montana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had an extremely great stay at Hotel Vertigo when in San Francisco for our anniversary. The staff was very friendly from Luis the General Manager to the houskeepers, everyone went out of their way to make sure we knew where to go and how to get there. The rooms were very clean with great style and very comfortable. My wife and I would recommend this hotel to ANYONE traveling to San Francisco.

Also a nice thing was it was walking distance (a few blocks) to most of the attractions we were looking for and if we couldn't walk the public transportation was close and very easy to figure out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Bryce B,

Thank you for the wonderful 5 star review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your romantic getaway! Luis Morales the General Manager along with our friendly staff was delighted to help you throughout your stay. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Warm Regards,

Jaime Gonzalez
Hotel Vertigo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#67 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#17 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#90 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vertigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vertigo

Property: Hotel Vertigo
Address: 940 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-6025 (Formerly York Hotel)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vertigo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vertigo is a 102-room boutique hotel that is renowned for its simplicity and admired for its unique character. Recently renovated, this non-smoking hotel playfully feeds off the Hitchcock's classic movie, "Vertigo." With rich wood furnishings highlighted with cream and orange accents, it is well suited for vacationers, families, and business travellers alike.Situated in the lower Nob Hill pocket of downtown San Francisco, the convenient location provides easy access to many of the city's top attractions and destinations. Just steps away from Cable Cars, Union Square and the major shopping and theater districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vertigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vertigo Hotel San Francisco
York Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing