We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good boutique hotel 5 - 6 blocks from Union Square”
Review of Hotel Vertigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vertigo
Ranked #75 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chiba Prefecture, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Very good boutique hotel 5 - 6 blocks from Union Square”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Hotel Vertigo is an extensively-renovated hotel about 5 blocks from Union Square, with mixed modern-retro theme. I could explain about the orange leather armchairs and so on, but let's just say that if you look at the various websites offering their rooms, you will get a fair idea.

On that subject, their own website appears to offer very good and cheap deals. I didn't have to pre-pay which was useful from a budgeting point of view. The room was a good size, with a soft but comfortable bed and good bathroom with shower/bath combination.

Wireless Internet was complimentary but when you sign up it offers you faster access for an extra fee. For email and web-browsing, the basic service was perfectly good enough. Note: the username and password are on the little cardboard folder they put your key-cards in. The room has a good-sized electronic safe, I guess it would take any size of laptop.

There isn't a restaurant on-site, so if you get some food from one of the great delis in San Francisco, make sure you buy or bring cutlery etc., although they have a corkscrew at reception.

There's a fridge for your use in the room.

Finally, on check-out, check you get an actual credit card receipt. When I left the hotel the staff member (French? Italian?) just gave me a copy of the bill, so I needed to go back to the front desk and ask for one. Probably just an oversight though.

Excellent value, stylish, and the rate was very good (the days I stayed there, most of San Francisco was very expensive, I suppose there must have been a convention or something in town. I'd return, unless I wanted to pay more for something slightly more central.

Room Tip: If you have a room at the back of the hotel, which is very quiet by the way, there was no cellphone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjb1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear MJB 1001,

Thanks for the comprehensive review. I'm glad you all had such a nice time.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel next time you are in San Francisco!


Luis Morales
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    633
    237
    54
    40
See reviews for
152
734
97
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel Vertigo from 3/8-3/11/13. It is a decent value-for-money boutique hotel with an Alfred Hitchcock theme. Overall, the room (221 specifically) was of decent size with ample storage space and appeared very clean. There was a large window into a utility courtyard with no real direct sunlight. The location however was convenient with quick access to Union Square and Market Street. It is a 15 minute walk from the Moscone convention area.

Here are the negatives that deserve to be highlighted:

1. The temperature control in the room is quite poor. During our time in SF, the temperature would dip into the high 40s at night, and the room constantly felt cold. There was a single small inefficient electric heating element on the wall to the right if the bedwhich we left on constantly. It still failed to adequately heat this room.

2. On the morning of our departure, we needed a taxi for transport to the airport. We called the reception and requested that a cab be called. I was surprised to see that the attendant in reception had called an unmarked, livery car to take us to the airport. No driver identification, no certification, no meter. To make things worse, he charged more money than what we had paid a regular cab the other day and then harassed us that our tip was "just the minimum". When we countered that claim he quickly up and left. I thought this was a sleazy, unprofessional move of the hotel.

Our stay was positive overall-- but please don't let the hotel make transport arrangements for you!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xristinaMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, General Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear XristinaMD,

Thank you for taking the time to offer this review. It is always helpful for us to see our Hotel from a guest’s perspective.

Our goal is to continually address our deficiencies in service and product, and one of them was the heater temperature in your room, which has been addressed and fixed for our next guest.
Our hotel has an agreement with a Limousine company that provides transportation to and from the Airport and other sightseeing tours, I apologize that it was not communicated to you in advance that we were calling them for your transportation to the airport.

Luis Morales

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for six nights at the end of February and beginning of March 2013. We took the BART from the airport and mistakenly got off at the Civic Centre stop. The approach to the hotel from this stop through the Tenderloin area of town is less than welcoming - but we didn't have any trouble.

Check in was very smooth and we were allocated room 601. A large room with two double beds, a fridge, a good sized bathroom and wardrobe which included drawers and ample space for luggage.

The reception staff were very helpful including ringing a restaurant to check whether a booking could be made for dinner. Weekdays between 5.30-6.30 there is a free wine tasting, which is a great way of meeting other residents.

The hotel is well located on or near bus routes for traveling around SF and we took advantage of free MUNI transport on a tourist pass we bought.

The only slight problem was a noisy crowd who stayed on the Saturday night we were there. They made their arrival back at the hotel at 2am very obvious but apart from that we heard nothing from either the adjoining room or the landing outside the room.

Overall, this is a good hotel and we would recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash_Black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Ash_Black,

Thank you for your trip and joining us on your trip to San Francisco. Thanks so much for mentioning our team and how helpful they were in booking a restaurant for you. They’re a great group and they’ll be pleased to read your thoughts. Enjoy the rest of your journey and we look forward to your return back to San Francisco!

Warm Regards,

Jaime Gonzalez
Front Office Manager
Hotel Vertigo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 4 nights whilst on our honeymoon. Bit of a difficult location for car-parking but there is a parking garage very close by. The last upon check in was very helpful & provided us with a map of San Francisco & different activities. Found our room to be a good size but only a double bed. My husband is over 6 foot so he didn't really fit, so the next morning I asked reception & they said they'd do what they could buy we were fully booked. The following few times I dealt with reception was with a man named Sean who was really helpful. He assisted with moving us into a different room & also helped book us an airport shuttle bus & gave other helpful information. Only negative aside from the size of the bed in the original room was that you could here the next room being serviced/vacuumed sometimes & there was no nice city view from either of the rooms we were in - one view looked into the block at the back and the other view looked into a courtyard. Great location though with plenty of bus stops around for easy transport around the city.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bd0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear bd0808,

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to assist in a positive manner the celebrating of your honeymoon. Recognizing our wonderful employees in this public way is much appreciated by our entire team and will definitely pass on your compliments to Sean. We look forward to your next trip to San Francisco and Congratulations once again!!!

Best regards,

Jaime Gonzalez
Front Office Manager
Hotel Vertigo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have stayed in Vertigo hotel this summer. Location was great, walking distance to the center and some nice restaurants around as well. Room was very new and nice, bathroom tide and modern. One of the hotels you stay, get a nice impression but probably wont go to be there again, because there is always something better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenka V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Lenka V,

Thank you for taking the time to offer this review. I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be convenient, that the rooms were nice with a modern bathroom. We hope you try us again in the future.

Jaime Gonzalez
Front Office Manager
Hotel Vertigo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Rooms are very clean and comfortable, but you had only a tiny bit of space - a problem if you have a lot of luggage. We only had large backpacks and felt cramped. However, the size of neither the bed nor the bathroom suffers from this lack of space. The bathroom actually felt proportionally large compared the the room itself.

We had a room facing the back, which faces other buildings with courtyards, so it has the potential of being noisy in the even of parties, but we had no such issues during our stay.

Staff was professional, well-informed, and friendly. You would expect them to get jaded about the whole film history, but they were proud and happy to share all they knew about it.

The best thing about the hotel for us was the location - you can walk to all parts downtown easily enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderkinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Wanderkinder,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and wanted to let you know how much we appreciate your taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest on your next visit to San Francisco!

Best regards,
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at the end of February loved the place very helpful staff good location,walking distance to Union Square,Chinatown and cable cars but is just the style of this place just makes you smile. Would recommend

Room Tip: the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jameshunter005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear jameshunter005,

Your comments about your stay with us are much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations and that our hotel made you smile; knowing this just makes us glisten with happiness! We hope to welcome you back to San Francisco on your next visit.

Best regards,
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,328 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 229 in San Francisco
2,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#77 of 229 in San Francisco
1,158 reviews
Queen Anne Hotel
#81 of 229 in San Francisco
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vertigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vertigo

Property: Hotel Vertigo
Address: 940 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-6025 (Formerly York Hotel)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vertigo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vertigo is a 102-room boutique hotel that is renowned for its simplicity and admired for its unique character. Recently renovated, this non-smoking hotel playfully feeds off the Hitchcock's classic movie, "Vertigo." With rich wood furnishings highlighted with cream and orange accents, it is well suited for vacationers, families, and business travellers alike.Situated in the lower Nob Hill pocket of downtown San Francisco, the convenient location provides easy access to many of the city's top attractions and destinations. Just steps away from Cable Cars, Union Square and the major shopping and theater districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vertigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vertigo Hotel San Francisco
York Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing