We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel near to Union Square”
Review of Hotel Vertigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vertigo
Ranked #70 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've stayed at some shockers in San Francisco - mainly due to the age of most of the buildings. This hotel has very nice, light and bright rooms which have been refurbished. Furnishing is new, if a little quirky. Staff mostly were good but had an issue when we first arrived. Had booked our room 10mths in advance - aside from sending through confirmation, no reply was made to a couple of other emails I sent. Our flight was delayed, so we arrived about 4 hrs later than scheduled. The room we were given was not what we had booked - no bath in bathroom and a couple of other features not there. When I questioned it the next morning, they insisted that the room was correct, but I was under the impression that it had been a first-come-first-serve situation. That said, they did move us and the rest of our stay was in a room per our booking.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Vertigo on a future visit to San Francisco. I'm glad that we were able to accommodate you in the room of your preference and that we were part of your experience.

Jaime Gonzalez
Front Office Manager
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

550 - 556 of 1,448 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for 10 days in San Fran. The hotel is decked out in a quirky orange colour that really reflects the beautiful Californian sunshine. The reception staff were a mixed bag. The foreign girls seemed to be more knowledgeable than the locals. We got some great advice from one receptionist which led us to taking the train out to Ocean Beach for sunset...amazing. The hotel didn't serve food so we Tried Sears down the street which had the most amazing breakfast.

The hotel was good value, clean and in an excellent location for exploring the city. Also the fridge in our room was a real bonus.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oddsoxrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you had a memorable sunset at Ocean Beach. I hope your travels lead you back to San Francisco!

Jaime Gonzalez
Front Office Manager
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

First time visitor to USA, starting a road-trip in San Fran. Hotel Vertigo is nicely located in a good part of the city. The whole city seemed pretty safe. Be prepared to either walk loads of steep hills, or get a $14 weekly pass for public transport. That's the best option. A single ticket to the touristy area at Fisherman's Wharf is a pricey $6.

Also be prepared for the enormous number of unfortunate homeless people. Not many in the area around Vertigo, but lots in other areas including the main shopping district. It's quite a sad situation for them, and I can't help thinking in a UK city of 800,000 residents we'd do a better job of looking after those below the poverty line.

Back to Vertigo. My friend and I each had standard rooms. Out of the 4 hotels we stayed in, this was the only one with a ceiling fan. Everyone we met on the front desk was very friendly, talkative, responsive, helpful and took time to answer our queries as newbies to USA.

Thanks to some of that advice, we watched the baseball playoffs in the local sports bar about 100 yards down the road. It was an electric but friendly atmosphere as San Fran won the World Series. A genuinely mixed demographic of men and women, young and middle-aged.

And upon another recommendation we had dinner in Chinatown at House of Nanking. The best food in town.

My room was on the 2nd floor, my friend's on the 4th. Both very quiet with zero noise outside or in. Seems Vertigo has a good clientele! My bed was soft and comfortable. Plenty of space to move around with a desk and 2 chairs. The shower seemed pretty new, and was good. The room safe was big enough to store my 17" laptop - unlike most.

Just 2 very small things - these are observations rather than complaints - that Vertigo might consider. The cold tap in the bathroom had very little pressure. Whilst brushing teeth it wasn't enough to wash away spit, so I took to brushing in the shower. And the free wifi had a poor signal (1 or 2 bars) and frequently dropped out. Maybe 1 or 2 wireless access points on higher levels could solve?

Overall a fantastic, comfortable and welcoming place. My first choice if I ever return to San Fran.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boz-Maidstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay and for taking advantage of our great location. I am so happy that you found our staff engaging, knowledgeable and helpful! You definitely happen to be in San Francisco at an amazing time with the Giants winning the World Series! We hope to see you next year when they do it again.

Jaime Gonzalez
Front Office Manager
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a nice hotel with nice rooms in a pretty good location for sight-seeing the major landmarks of San Francisco. The hotel is a few blocks from union square. It is also a few blocks from a neighborhood you won't want to walk alone in at night.

When we arrived late at night from Boston, tired and cold we were greeted at the front desk by a person who seemed rather annoyed that we arrived. They didnt say hello or welcome and just asked for our voucher from our travel agent. While we were checking in, a group of foreigners got stuck in the hotel elevator and instead of assisting them (they were stuck in there for about 5 minutes) continued to check people in. It was a really odd scene and we were kind of shocked about the service level considering the hotel itself is rather upscale and nice.

The room was modern, comfortable, and a decent size so no complaints there. We would probably not stay here again and would try and find something of comparable price is a slightly better neighborhood where they also hopefully have a friendly staff that appreciates their guests.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JarredA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

I'm disappointed upon reading your review that the staff was not able to provide the great service and kindness which we are known for. It seems that we fell short of expectations and do apologize that we were not able attend to you in our signature manner. I would really appreciate the opportunity to understand your concerns in more detail and hope that you will reach out to me directly.

Jaime Gonzalez
Front Office Manager
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
415 885-6800
jgonzalez@haiyi-hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Vertigo for 5 nights on October and we loved the querky decoration, great location (about 10min walk from Union Square), and staff really helpfull.
We were late for a trip and the concierge contacted the tour company to confir pick up time and then arranged a taxi to get there on time (Thanks!!!)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DurhamRob71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear DurhamRob71,

Your comments about your stay with us are much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations and the service of our team, not to mention, we're happy to hear that our Concierge was able to take care of things with your scheduled tour! We hope to welcome you back to San Francisco in the near future!

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

What a great find! We stayed at this hotel lateJuly 2012, the staff were very friendly and helpful and advised us on things to do in San Francisco. The room was very clean and modern. the hotel was only 4 blocks from Union Square and situated in a safe area of the city. We walked everyday to Union Square and Fisherman's Wharf so location was fantastic.Highly recommend this hotel for value and reasonable rates compared to hotels in Union Square and Fisherman's Wharf.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear woden,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and wanted to let you know how much we appreciate your taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed the service of our team and that they were able to assist in making your time in the city a very fun filled and memorable experience! We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest on your next trip to San Francisco!

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

stayed for four nights at this hotel and did not have a bad thing to say about it. The staff could not be any more helpfullnothing seemed to be a problem for them. The location was great, not in the busy center but not to far from it to be a problem

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thanks for letting everyone know about our great location, close to downtown but just far enough to enjoy a good night's rest. I’m really glad you enjoyed yourself and that our staff was able to assist you with all your inquiries, I hope you’ll have a chance to visit again soon.

Jaime Gonzalez
Front Office Manager
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#88 of 231 in San Francisco
1,931 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Cova Hotel
#96 of 231 in San Francisco
1,208 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#72 of 231 in San Francisco
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vertigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vertigo

Address: 940 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-6025 (Formerly York Hotel)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $145 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vertigo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vertigo is a 102-room boutique hotel that is renowned for its simplicity and admired for its unique character. Recently renovated, this non-smoking hotel playfully feeds off the Hitchcock's classic movie, "Vertigo." With rich wood furnishings highlighted with cream and orange accents, it is well suited for vacationers, families, and business travellers alike.Situated in the lower Nob Hill pocket of downtown San Francisco, the convenient location provides easy access to many of the city's top attractions and destinations. Just steps away from Cable Cars, Union Square and the major shopping and theater districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Vertigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vertigo Hotel San Francisco
York Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing