We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for price (if a bit "sterile modern" for my taste)”
Review of Hotel Vertigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vertigo
Ranked #75 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Santa Monica, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great value for price (if a bit "sterile modern" for my taste)”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I went to San Francisco on business and needed a reasonably priced place to stay near Union Square. Hotel Vertigo fit the bill - it's decor is not to my taste (a bit too "sterile modern") but I won't hold that against them. The bed was very comfortable, the room was spotless, there is a flat screen TV and upscale bathroom with a rain type shower-head. (No bathtub).

The front desk staff person was terrific - quickly took care of one minor problem that happens on occasion in the summer in SF. She changed my room when the one assigned was bathed in hot sunlight (did I mention there is no air conditioning in most SF hotels - because it rarely gets hot enough to need it). The replacement room was on the back of the building - very quiet and cool.

My only real gripe is a small one. Nice desk, good desk chair and free internet - which is all great - but no desk lamp! Just a useless light way up in the ceiling and bedside lamps that I couldn't figure out how to turn on (seriously).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaGirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear CaliforniaGirl54,

Your comments about your stay with us are much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community!

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations and the service of our staff during your stay with us. I will however be sure to make a note to our management team regarding your suggestion of a desk lamp, as I can understand how imperative it can be especially when trying to get some work done.

We hope to welcome you back to on your next trip to San Francisco!

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    634
    237
    54
    40
See reviews for
152
734
98
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We have been at the Vertigo about seven times over the past three or four years and find the location perfect for visits to downtown and outlying city areas. Away from the traffic and noise of downtown, it is located in a neighborhood of apartments and many small cafes. The remodeled rooms are much better than before and the service at the front desk has been very good. Parking is available nearby but we have found spaces on the street in the late afternoon.

Nearby are lots of mom and pop restaurants for breakfast and lunch and lots of small markets. The walk downtown is about six or seven blocks and Nob Hill is about five blocks away to the northeast. A fine location and a most pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flextravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear flextravel,

We certainly appreciate that you took the time to share your review about your recent stay with us and the Trip Advisor community, especially being a frequent guest over the past few years, which certainly speaks of first-hand guest experience and for that, we are deeply grateful for your loyalty!

I am pleased that time and time again you continue to enjoy accommodations and service! Your overview of the location helps tremendously for our future guests who may not be completely aware of our area; as you mentioned, there are quite a few sidewalk cafes, breakfast and lunch spots within walking distance. We'd love to know what your favorite spots are!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to San Francisco, thanks again!


Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We found this quaint, boutique hotel quite by accident and we couldn't have been happier. It's conveniently located near Union Square, busses and trolley cars. The room was charming and comfortable - had everything we wanted, wi-fi, refrigerator, two chairs, a desk and a wonderfully comfortable bed. The hotel staff was very helpful in giving us directions and suggestions for meals, attractions etc.

Room Tip: Only saw ours, it was on the 7th floor but I would assume all of them are equally comfortable and qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gingerita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Gingerita,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our hotel during your recent stay with us, even if it was found by accident! ;)

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to San Francisco!

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I went to San Fran with a number of friends and stayed at the hotel Vertigo which was a perfectly nice hotel. Good clean rooms, great location so there didn't seem much to complain about until we met Greg. He was quite possibly the rudest, most arrogant man I have met. Quite unusual for the level of service you usually receive in the States.
I spoke to a few other guests who had also had the 'Greg' treatment. Short of just being unhelpful he was just unpleasant to deal with. It's a shame as he spoils it for the hotel which is all in all very nice place but sadly there are plenty of other hotels in San Fran with great location, great price and nice staff so sort it out HOtel Vertigo.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nic0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, General Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Nic0909,

At Hotel Vertigo, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations during your stay. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced in respect to the treatment you received by one of our staff members.

We are constantly working towards improving both our facilities and service standards. Hopefully you will give us another chance in the future so we can prove to you that we are better than your first impression. And on behalf of the staff member and the entire staff at Hotel Vertigo, again we apologize.

We deeply value your patronage of the Hotel Vertigo and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service, simply because our customers deserve the very best. If you have any further questions or comments regarding this matter, please feel free to discuss it with me at: lmorales@haiyi-hotels.com or by calling me directly at 415-885-6800 Ext. 1111.

Yours in service,

Luis Morales
Hotel Manager
Hotel Vertigo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Pros (too many to mention)
- location location location
- super quirky and original decor
- large bedroom
- not a chain
- lots of restaurants, bars and shops in the vicinity so these things not in-house are not an issue (in fact it makes you connect with the local community)
- easy transport links
- knowledgeable helpful staff
- icing on the cake they ordered in a lovely sunny weekend as well

Cons (but really not an issue)
- no restaurant
- no bar
- no mini bar

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SlinkyGin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear SlinkyGin,

Your comments about your stay with us are much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your recent trip into San Francisco. Location is certainly key and I am glad that you enjoyed our close proximity to the various restaurants, shops and attractions.

Unfortunately, the hotel does not currently feature a restaurant or bar but we are currently working with a company to fill the connecting "Plush Room" to hopefully serve fine cuisine and delicious libations in the very near future.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to San Francisco!

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon. The hotel is conveniently located just a short walk from Union Sqaure and we received a couple of great restaurant recommendations from the front desk. The room was large and very clean. I liked the decor and the overall feeling of the hotel and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to my family and friends. Also, front desk were great in helping us arrange a shuttle transfer back to the airport with a local company who picks up guests from the hotel on the last stop before heading to the airport - means you don't have to drive around for an hour picking everybody else up first! Was only about USD30 for both of us which was cheaper than a taxi - thanks Hotel Vertigo!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whereareweg0ingnext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear whereareweg0ingnext,

First and foremost, congratulations to you and your husband! Best wishes for a wonderful future ahead together!

We certainly appreciate that you took the time to share your review about your recent stay with us and the Trip Advisor community. I am pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations and service!

We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to San Francisco, perhaps on an anniversary? Let us know and we will make your next stay just as special as the first! Thanks again!

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Apparently Hitchcocks film Vertigo was filmed here and it's plain to see the hotel was once of grand decor. However, it's been given a modern contemporary face lift whilst still keeping some of the original charm.

Rooms are basic and modern but well equipped and apart from the overgrown tree branch tapping on the window, no complaints what so ever.........at least I hope it was a branch!!

Staff seemed helpfully especially the night staff, and its impossible to walk past the Italian cafe just two doors down without buying a slice of pizza pie!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkshirelad52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Yorkshirelad52,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and wanted to let you know how much we appreciate your taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. I will be sure to let our Hotel Manager know about the landscape surrounding the area and keep a look out for trees that need to be trimmed.

And yes, I will agree, walking past Belissimo Pizza on your way back to the hotel is very difficult to pass up and doesn't make it any easier that it's right next door!

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back as our guest very soon!

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 229 in San Francisco
1,326 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#95 of 229 in San Francisco
2,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,157 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#54 of 229 in San Francisco
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vertigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vertigo

Property: Hotel Vertigo
Address: 940 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-6025 (Formerly York Hotel)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vertigo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vertigo is a 102-room boutique hotel that is renowned for its simplicity and admired for its unique character. Recently renovated, this non-smoking hotel playfully feeds off the Hitchcock's classic movie, "Vertigo." With rich wood furnishings highlighted with cream and orange accents, it is well suited for vacationers, families, and business travellers alike.Situated in the lower Nob Hill pocket of downtown San Francisco, the convenient location provides easy access to many of the city's top attractions and destinations. Just steps away from Cable Cars, Union Square and the major shopping and theater districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vertigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vertigo Hotel San Francisco
York Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing