We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Parking?!!!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #153 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Hanford, California
1 review
“Parking?!!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I love how old and quaint this hotel is! The transportation right out side the door is a major plus because I'll never drive there again! Train for me from now on! The staff was so helpful and friendly,starting with talking me through where to park over the phone! I had a major panic attack over parking and the young lady at the desk saved the day! The staff had lots of good suggestions on where to eat and how to get around. I would defiantly recommend this old world charmer but if you value your sanity, take the train and leave your car at home! Oh, and thanks for the use of the fan! Love my white noise!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    94
    45
    35
    57
See reviews for
19
124
55
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed here with my partner for two nights in early October. We drove there and it was relatively easy to park nearby to check in. The person at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a smallish room with queen bed. The room was very nice. Nice bedding and decor. The price was also quite reasonable - $150.

Unfortunately it was hot and noisy at night. There was no air conditioning and there appeared to be some sort of bar/club right near the hotel. I slept very poorly the first night. Second night was a bit better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drew_sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

I love to try quirky & less branded places. This had all of that, but on the first morning it took over 10mins to get hot water & on the second over 20mins and then it disappeared after 5 mins. Not ok in my book. For the price, hot water should be a given. Having to run the water for this long is an absolute waste!! Not impressed!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
72 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

It was just ok. The staff was really very friendly and helpful.
The location could be better as you need to walk 40 minutes to get downtown.
Three things have bothered me a lot.
Firstly, I could not sleep at night as the noise from the Market street was very annoying.
There were police cars with the sirens on or worse fire department cars really make a LOT of noise.
Secondly, I had to wait for 15-20 minutes for the hot water. When I called the front desk the answer was " It is an old building it needs time for the hot water"
Thirdly, I was a bit cold the first night and the next day I asked the front desk how can I open the heater and he told me that he had to open it and that he will open it that night.
Well, he did not and I am sure he forgot I do not want to make a big deal about it.
The room was small, but ok and clean.
The bed was GREAT. Very comfortable but too sad I could not sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michalakis-cy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Edwardian for a San Francisco vacation and enjoyed our stay but it wasn't without its problems.

First thing you should know is that the hotel is located in the Tenderloin district which is currently attempting to become gentrified, but at the moment is EXTREMELY shady!! San Francisco in general is home to lots of homelessness and drug addicts but most of them seem to flock to this particular neighborhood. We arrived at night and were taken aback at the amount of crazies running around. Thankfully during the day it gets much better once the commuters come out.

We stayed for three nights and for our entire stay, the staff was extremely helpful and kind. The hotel is European style so you can expect the rooms to be very tiny. The building is very old from its manually closing elevator door to its old school gas heaters but they've done a really nice job of restoring and modernizing it while still maintaining its classic feel.

The bed was comfy and the modern artistic room was cute, but the room was not without its issues. There's no AC in the room, which honestly you don't need cause the nights are very cool, but if you open the windows you'll be bombarded by the sounds of traffic, garbage trucks and busses directly out front all night! Our sink drain stopper was broken along with the shower door and drain and the most unfortunate part was that it took 10 minutes for the hot water to come up.

Overall our stay was alright but there needs to be lots of improvements to make the stay a more enjoyable one for the future. They certainly can't help the shadiness of the neighborhood, but hopefully it'll be better in a few years. And since the building is so old, you can expect dated plumbing and structure. European style is certainly the best way to describe this place because I likened it to staying in a hostel.

It's definitely great for the price, just be warned of the neighborhood. We're from NYC so we're used to lots of homelessness, but this neighborhood was a bit much.

Overall we love San Francisco and did love the potential of staying here, but it'd be great to see it improve in the future.

Pro's: Friendly staff, convenient location, easy access to public transit (bus stops literally out front), modernized classic feel

Con's: Shady neighborhood at night, old plumbing and structure, really noisy!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Solo0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Hotel advertised as a b&b but this is NOT. Coffee at the front door but cold 99% of the time. But I would stay here again, but only for the staff. Even if you put a kettle in the room that would've a great improvement.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bigsweat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

A very nice boutique hotel. It is conveniently located on Market Street. It is reasonably priced for San Francisco. The staff are very friendly. The rooms are clean. Good WiFi. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Niall D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Encore Express Hotel
#130 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#83 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,106 reviews
Calista Hotel
#191 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#97 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,146 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#140 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#105 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edwardian San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Property: Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
Address: 1668 Market St, San Francisco, CA 94102-5949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Edwardian San Francisco Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Edwardian San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edwardian Hotel San Francisco
Edwardian San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing