We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #145 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Terrible Stay”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Hello Dear Community!
This Hotel is aweful! really. Rooms smell very very bad due to smoke caused by the steak house grill downstairs. All my clothes was stinking so much that people have turned around and started talking about me. even in stores small kids were saying: mommy it smells like barbecue!

I really recommend you to check other hotels in SF. After 2 days i canceled the stay and went to another Hotel. If you need a good hotel check out my second review for a good clean and cheep hotel in SF. Greetings guys!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intl_hotel_tester_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    111
    53
    37
    58
See reviews for
20
143
58
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Visited SF for the first time with a friend and were hesitant about booking here because we didn't know the neighborhood and saw that many of the comparable hotels (as far as price) seemed less than pleasant. First off, the location turned out to be great! We were overwhelmed by the size of the city and just started exploring near the hotel and ended up following Market down to the Castro without really trying. Walking in, the lobby is small and nicely designed. Sal greeted us and made sure to answer any questions that we had and explained the elevator was out of order (only downside), but then offered to carry our bags up four flights for us. We're young so we could handle it ourselves, but appreciated the offer! The room was small, decent sized bathroom, and overall simple. The room clearly had new beds (ridiculously comfortable. best you'll find in any hotel), new paintjob (pink), and a fashionable lamp hanging over the bed. It was comfortable and had the amenities we needed, which isn't much when you just need a place to rest, sleep, and shower. Sal was amazing. He helped recommend places, showed a genuine interest in our plans for the day, and gave us directions so that we weren't so nervous about traveling the city. Note to anyone staying here: there's a restaurant on the first floor, so if you leave your window open, your room might smell like barbeque food... but wasn't a huge problem. The F line ran right in front of the hotel and you could take it all the way to the wharf or the other way to Castro, so that was convenient. Would certainly stay there again, and hopefully Sal is still there!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at Edwardian Hotel for four nights. Our room was cozy and the toilet is big. We weren't bothered by the noise even if our room was fronting the street. Very accessible to the different places, streetcar station was just in front and it can take you all the way to Fisherman's wharf. Staff is very friendly and helpful. There was something wrong with our phone line and the staff made sure that we received our calls with no problems. I would definitely go back and recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: If you need peace and quiet, request a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentville, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here for three nights while in SF. The room was clean and the place has obviously just had a refurbishment, it is really nicely finished, however our room had the 'used to be smoking room' kind of smell. Although small, it was adequate and the bathroom was great. In terms of location it is perfect, as the cable car stops out the front. We did however find the room incredibly noisy, to the point where we couldnt sleep...it sounded like every morning at 2am someone was washing a bus with a high pressure hose outside our window! The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The only other thing that made it difficult for us was that the (vintage) elevator was out of action for the duration of our stay...hard to lug two huge suitcases up four flights of stairs!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouSaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed here a while ago and the whole experience was delightful. The staff are friendly, informative and really nice and certainly went out of their way to make my stay as pleasant as possible. I had a room on the front and it was modern and clean and comfortable bed. I was warned by reception that there might be a bit of street noise from the trolley cars and the fire department, but that made it even more atmospheric. The #19 stops outside the door and it is easy to get downtown or to the Castro in a matter of minutes. The complimentary coffee and chocolates are also a thoughtful touch. I can't wait to stay here again.
Richard Kennedy

Room Tip: One at the front for the street view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

It was a pleasure to stay in this hotel. Although small, the room was very comfy and clean. The bathroom was beautiful and spacious. But the most important was very nice and helpful stuff. Greetings for all the people working in the Edwardian hotel. Thank you for your help in finding a delicious food and advices in how to explore the city during the day and night. Best wishes!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great spot - only 15 min walk from the bottom of Powell st, and only 5-10 mins from all the Cafes and shops in Mission. The service is great, the team are super friendly and helpful. No parking, but they will recommend a lot nearby that you can pay for at the hotel.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#88 of 228 in San Francisco
694 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#79 of 228 in San Francisco
1,309 reviews
Hotel EPIK
#132 of 228 in San Francisco
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#174 of 228 in San Francisco
56 reviews
Union Square
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
#142 of 228 in San Francisco
378 reviews
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#150 of 228 in San Francisco
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edwardian San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Property: Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
Address: 1668 Market St, San Francisco, CA 94102-5949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Edwardian San Francisco Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Edwardian San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edwardian Hotel San Francisco
Edwardian San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing