We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfectly adequate for the price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #155 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfectly adequate for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

The good:

Cheap, clean, comfortable

Easily accessible from San Francisco international airport. 5 to 10 minute walk from the "BART" train from the airport. Just need to drag the bags over the paving stones.

Walking distance to good eating places.

Trolley cars stops, to the main sights, just outside the hotel

The bad

The hotel is located on Market St, which is a main street, so the rooms facing the street are noisy. The convenient trolley cars can be noisy

The hotel is located at the un-fashionable seedy end of Market St

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street, Market street is a bit seedy at this end of town, but we sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelYfromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    97
    46
    36
    57
See reviews for
19
127
56
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

The Whom This May Concern,
I would like to thank all of the staff that works at this lovely establishment! Truly made my stay in SF welcomed! I would to thank Matthew, for recommending me to all the local bars in the area. I was traveling alone for the first time and he was very warm and welcoming when I first checked in. I would like to thank Wes, the manger for helping me with the transit system and his generous hospitality. But, and big extra HUGE kodos goes to Dawn, she was by far the most generous staff member. My flight booking was changed and I had no place to stay, and she graciously helped me get a room at the Hayes Vally Inn, without her help I might have had to slept at the airport. She is truly a gem and I can not express how lucky you are to have her as an employee. And thank you again to all your staff for making my stay so enjoyable, I would recommend this hotel to anyone I know who is looking to travel to SF. God Bless!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Edwardian hotel was pretty much what i expected. Its a clean place to sleep in downtown San Francisco for a decent price compared to others in the area. The Hotel is located right on market street which makes for a loud night trying to sleep. All night all we heard where cars, buses, and bums yelling. It was like watching a movie, lol. People were yelling out the window for people to shut up. When i asked to switched rooms there was nothing available so they gave me ear plugs. Also we had to walk through many clusters of homeless people who hangout in that area to get to any type of food, shopping, ect.

Room Tip: Do not let them book a room towards the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VinnyH21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a great place and just what is says it is. It is located on MARKET St near Castro and Mission. Uber convenient to transportation. An INEXPENSIVE hotel under new ownership and undergoing renovations. The staff is among the best I have come across in my travels.

Please do your own homework and research the reviews with an open mind. People staying in San Francisco that choose a 2 star and expect a 5 star should compare what they would be paying for that 5 star in San Francisco.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I liked this place. It was clean and very well-located, if a little rundown. Understand that it's undergoing some renovations and I think I got an un-renovated room but it was still clean and comfortable.

I had no problems sleeping though my window was next to some exhaust... So, there were fumes from cooking for a while but it didn't disturb me that much. I was just a bit surprised that the room didn't have AC. Oh well.

Nonetheless, the location is amazing. It's literally 5 min walk from the quirky Hayes Valley neighbourhood. The trolley stop is literally in front of the hotel. You'll find that the F Trolley goes EVERYWHERE that a tourist probably wants to go. The metro is less than 5 min walk. Super convenient.

Will definitely stay here again but will ask for a room that's been renovated, with AC and not next to an exhaust :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ViandeFumee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is the first time I've ever written a trip advisor review. Even a motel 6 that looked like it had been the scene of a violent murder (i.e., blood all over the floor) avoided a poor review but this place takes the cake. The difference between this place and that blood splattered motel 6 is that it charges in excess of $100 for what are essentially very basic and dirty dorm rooms. I will try to take some pictures. First, the hotel is NOT in a nice area. Sitting in bed I can hear the homeless shouting outside my door. I was approached by a man and then followed back to the hotel by him at 5pm... I didn't bother venturing out after dark. Second, they have no parking, you have to drive to a lot a few hundred meters down the road. The lot is unmanned and stinks of urine; homeless people have made little tented sleeping areas in it.

The room is almost totally bare, with an uncovered duvet on the bed. There's two tiny end tables, one with a TV perched on it with all the wires lying around, another with a phone barely managing to fit on it. There's no side light, only the overhead light, which is exactly the same one they had in my fresher dorms at college (and trust me... I didn't pay $130 per night for that room). There's a plastic chair in one corner. The carpet looks ancient and is heavily soiled. The room is little larger than a prison cell and similarly decorated. My bedroom door didn't lock and I had to be taught the "art" of locking it by the front desk staff. I'm a single female traveller travelling alone; it is critical that my door locks without me having to jiggle it and wiggle it to get it to work.

Outside my room there's what appears to be a roof of air conditioning units that periodically fire up and sound like a massive semi rumbling over for about 5 minutes, other than that the sound of cars passing on a busy road is constant. The door is hung really badly and you can hear every word of people walking past the creaky corridor at night. I had to sleep with earplugs in. The bathroom is on such a camber/slant that if you put anything on the floor it will roll downhill to the bath. the soap dish is cracked and filthy.

Please avoid at all costs. The pictures on their website are a complete lie. I don't have pretty stripey painted walls, i have cracking white emulsion paint. I don't have a fancy frilly light, I have a grubby dorm, anti-suicide light. I don't have a modern, grey bathroom; I have a grubby cracking faux brown tile affair. The area is not nice. I don't know who the hell wrote that this place is "beautiful, clean [and] stylish" I can only imagine it was the crooked owner because this place is anything but.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Celia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#84 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#139 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Encore Express Hotel
#127 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#181 of 230 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#152 of 230 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edwardian San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Property: Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
Address: 1668 Market St, San Francisco, CA 94102-5949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Edwardian San Francisco Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Edwardian San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edwardian Hotel San Francisco
Edwardian San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing