We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was "wowed" at the W hotel in SF”
Review of W San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W San Francisco
Ranked #66 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
berkeley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I was "wowed" at the W hotel in SF”
Reviewed February 24, 2010

I stayed at the "W" for my birthday weekend and I happen to mention it was my birthday to my pleasant surprise a patisserie plate (slice of cake, fruit and delicious truffles, with chocolate inscription of "happy birthday") was delivered to my room and I was upgraded to a suite. I am a starwood platinum member and I am proud to be one as the visit was nothing short of perfection and I was thrilled to be treated as VIP. It is a place to have a great time and at the same time you can enjoy and relax in Bliss Spa, have I mentioned there's a pool and a jacuzzi, it is rare to find a hotel with a pool in the city. Amazing, amazing service, love, love, the "W" hotel. Never a dull moment in this hotel, offers serenity, upbeat atmosphere and gotta love those cocktails...

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank violet219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wsanfrancisco, Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, March 19, 2010
Well hello there, Violet!
Thanks for your wonderful review... we are so happy that we were able to WOW you!
Can't wait til next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    867
    724
    321
    135
    78
See reviews for
247
606
152
736
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northeastern US
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2010

I stayed at the W for business. Staff was great, accomodations very hip, good food, nice location. The only issue I had with my hotel room was a poor quality hairdryer and a lack of the room being dusted (on the i-pod stand/clock). It takes a little 'getting used to' the poshness of the hotel (seems like you're in a club all the time!) but it sets this place apart from the others. PS. Love the Bliss amenities!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harriman, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Centrally located in downtown. Excellent staff who always seek to provide the very best service to their customers.

Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kenmcnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2010

I did not actually stay at the W but went to their bar/lounge. I have to say I was very disappointed. When you first walk in it seems ok, nice lounge music playing, however you realize how small it is and that all the seats are filled up by 9:00 and there is nowhere to sit. The space was designed very strange so that you end up having to sit over where people check in at which is totally away from the actual bar. Then they have upstairs a "club" that they wanted to charge $20 for. Once they start playing the "club" music which is awful it is so loud that you can't hear the lounge music down in the bar area. I would never go back that is for sure. The set-up is just weird.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank detroityeager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2010

I love this hotel for many reasons, it has a great location away from the crazy Union Square area and is in the hip SOMA area. It has a outstanding restaurant with great service and food which is a ideal place for a business meeting..., great cozy lobby so when you meet with folks you can always find them. I LOVE the W bed which is the best in the business, room service rocks, great gym and pool and the Bliss Spa is great to have as well.....just make a appointment in advance on the 800#.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlguyUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2010

I stayed at the W for 5 days with coworkers. I got a chance to see different rooms other than mine and they varied in size depending on where you were in the hotel. I was in a corner room, 2901, which was much smaller than other rooms, but being up higher, I had a double set of windows which looked over the SF Bay. Drawbacks to the '01 rooms are that they are smaller and backup to the elevators. I could hear the operation of the elevators.

The XYZ restaurant/bar is a nice spot to hang out at night. The bar gets crowded. I didn't eat at the restaurant.

It still baffles me why hotels charge for internet for anymore, and why they charge so much.

Another thing, the gym here is not very big, so don't expect to get a full workout. There is a "lap-pool" according the to W, but its about 15 yards long.

Overall a nice stay, like the title says. I've stayed at the Westin a few blocks away, and they are comparable. If you want a more hip and modern atmosphere, go to the W...if you want more of a low-key traditional hotel atmosphere, go to the Westin a block away.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2010

My best friend and I stayed in the "spectacular room" for 4 nightsand must stay... The experience was just that. The room was a little small and the somewhat see through sliding bathroom door was a little annoying, but the view was amazing. The XYZ during the day was delicious and during the night was so a blast. Over all the experience was fantastic, the staff treat you like royalty! Definately looking forward to my next stay!!

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddys0great
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wsanfrancisco, Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, February 2, 2010
Well hello there, Eddys0great!

Thanks for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We think your pretty spectacular too! I've taken the liberty of passing on your comments to the entire team at W SF and we really appreciate you spreading the word of our fabulous services to the virtual world.

Come back to play soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#33 of 228 in San Francisco
2,876 reviews
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#8 of 228 in San Francisco
1,277 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 228 in San Francisco
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#61 of 228 in San Francisco
3,511 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
830 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#27 of 228 in San Francisco
4,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W San Francisco

Property: W San Francisco
Address: 181 3rd St, San Francisco, CA 94103-3107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the SoMa district, and neighbors with the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, W San Francisco faces the beautiful Yerba Buena gardens and is a short walk to Union Square's shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
w Hotels San Francisco
w Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing