We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chic and great location”
Review of W San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W San Francisco
Ranked #66 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“chic and great location”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Although we were here during the remodel of the lobby, it did not affect our perception. All the W hotels are modern and have very thoughtful amenities. Great location to MOMA and the convention center. You can walk (if a few blocks don't bother you) to Union Square and many great restaurants. We travel to SF at least once a year and if we find a good deal, we always choose to stay here. It's often booked though and the rates are higher than most of the hotels of this caliber. Would not recommend for families...this is more of an adult hotel. Beware parking is $$$.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willtravelwithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia N, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Hello Willtravelwithkids,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent W experience. It's great to hear that you are a W brand fan and that here at the W San Francisco we successfully met your expectations. Thank you kindly for your understanding as we were working on improving a few areas of our Living Room space. I am glad that you enjoy our location and that you stay with us as often as possible - we are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back!
Kind Regards,
Claudia Nuta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    867
    724
    321
    135
    78
See reviews for
247
606
152
736
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed recently at the W Hotel in SF. The location is super in particular for shopping on 3rd avenue. Its decorated in modern glitzy style, with friendly staff and not so in your face which I like but, excellent service when needed. Gordon in concierge provided great restauarant advise. The rooms are spacious, well equipped and cleaning was adequote. Breakfast is good but, must be independently run as you had to present $50 vouchers which i thought was odd. It is expensive I thought but, if you get a good rate id recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay high up I think this place has around 24 stories.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keevin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia N, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Hello Keevin66,
We really appreciate your kind review! I am pleased to hear that you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed our convenient location and our modern chic decor. Thank you so very much for your compliments on the excellent customer service we provide; I passed your comments on to Gordon and he was extremely thankful for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed our delicious Trace breakfast and I am sorry that you found the vouchers inconvenient - they are only provided when breakfast comes included in your rate package, as opposed to not being part of the package in which case it may be either served at Trace or in your room by ordering from your In-Room Service Dining menu. We hope you come back soon and thank you for choosing W!
Warm Wishes,
Claudia Nuta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed one night for business...Alex at the front desk checked me in and out and he was friendly and helpful. The lobby and the rooms had a 'modern look' with mood lighting and unique artwork. The room itself had the usual features as well as a set of device chargers which was nice.

I got a room on the lower floors which was surprising b/c for all of my business trips with SPG (they're a preferred provider to my employer), I usually get a high floor room or at least one of their better rooms (e.g. one of my co-workers got a 30th floor room). Normally, it wouldn't matter but because it's in the city, I heard a good bit of street noise overnight (I can't say if it would have been fully mitigated on the 30th floor but it might have been less noisy). Also, I would say that it's possible any d/t hotel would have this issue so I don't necessarily blame the hotel for this, just pointing it out.

[minor] I like reading the morning paper but nothing was there on my floor except for a few WSJ in front of a couple of rooms. I asked and was told I needed to come downstairs to get any of the papers (not sure why a couple of people had it and not everyone else).

Room Tip: High floor room to get less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deal_H0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia N, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Hello Deal_H0und,
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you had a delightful Welcome experience at check in and that you enjoyed our modern urban look. I am however sad to know that you disliked the low floor location of your room because of the overnight street noise and I wish this situation had been avoided; I am not sure if you mentioned your high floor preference, but we normally grant any floor/view requests at check in based on availability. As for the newspaper delivery, we only deliver them to the guests that express their newspaper preference at check in or that already have it added on their SPG membership profile. Aside from that, as you've been informed, we offer complimentary newspapers at the Concierge desk which you can pick up yourself or call our Whatever/Whenever line to get them delivered to your room. Please feel free to email me directly and I'll be happy to add your newspaper preference in your guest profile for the future. Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to your next visit!
Kind Regards,
Claudia Nuta
claudia.nuta@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbury, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip from March 31 - April 3, The decor was fabulous, the service was wonderful and the room was really nice. I enjoyed staying and would do so again on a business trip. It is close to the BART (about 2 blocks) and is close to where I had to go for work. Thanks W. I will recommend you to all who travel to SF.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of towards the Bay Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMags66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia N, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hi JMags66,
Thank you so very much for your kind review! I am so delighted to hear that you had a good time with us and that we succeeded at meeting your expectations. It's great to know that you enjoyed our urban chic decor, our modern colorful rooms, the convenient location and the quality of our service. Thank you for recommending us to other travelers and we are certainly looking forward to your next visit!
Warm Wishes,
Claudia Nuta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

- check in smooth but nobody to remove the luggage from the car
- not child friendly at all
- evenings lobby is lousy
- 5 counters for check out but it took 15-20 mins to check out
- this is my 3rd W experience, after Hong Kong and Bali but this was the worst
Highly not recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayant1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia N, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hi Jayant1999,
We appreciate your feedback and we take all criticism very seriously as it is very important to know what our guests think and what are the areas we need to work on improving. It saddens me to hear that we failed to meet your expectations as it is so uncommon for our front of the house team to receive such negative comments. Our property is probably not best known for its child friendly side - even though we have had a lot of families that took home amazing memories from the W SF. I hope you do give us another chance and please feel free to contact me directly whenever you plan your next stay with us!
Kind Regards,
Claudia Nuta
claudia.nuta@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I admit I am having a difficult time articulating my opinion of the W San Francisco. In some ways, it was exactly what I expected: a hip, trendy hotel in a big, exciting city. But in other ways it wasn’t what I expected: that the room size felt tight. Beyond the quirky, but appealing design, it was easy to see that was an ordinary room on which I spent too much money.

Don’t get me wrong. I love the playfulness of the hotel. Heck, the first thing you see when you walk in the corner revolving door is the swanky bar. The normally front desk is located towards the rear, a design I assume to get hotel guests to order a cocktail on the way to check-in.

The location is great. You can walk to BART, museums, the convention center, shopping, strip clubs, the ballpark, and lots bars and restaurants.

As to getting a good night’s sleep, the primary function of staying in a hotel, the W succeeds greatly. The beds are comfortable, the HVAC is silent and there is no noise typical of an urban environment.

You should stay at the W San Francisco Hotel at least once. It is a lot of fun. Get slizzard in the lobby bar while listening to the DJ. One you’ve had enough, ride the elevator as you admire the lenticular mural, stumble into your room and behold the glowing Buddha. Then collapse on the bed with your clothes on and sleep off the booze.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DonJulioAnejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia N, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hello DonJulioAnejo,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent W experience. It sounds like you had a fun and relaxing stay with us! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed our chic urban designs, the artworks, our comfortable beds and our convenient location (close to MoMA, the Ferry Building, Union Square, bars, restaurants and shopping). I know it can be a little confusing sometimes especially when being dropped off by a taxi on 3rd St, but I'd like to mention that we do have two entrances, one on 3rd St intended mostly for non-guests and locals that visit our bars and restaurant and a second one on Howard St - it's considered the main entrance and that is where our reception area is located. Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to your return!
Kind Regards,
Claudia Nuta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norten-Hardenberg, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been there from 1st until 4th of April 2013 due to an IBC conference. My room was on Level 9 and it was spacy, which means entrance area, bath room, combined bed room with a seat area in the Windows corner were nicely sized. But... No free wLan, no coffee machine (One could Order One for free at the lobby, Morning coffee at the Lobby was free) and this for round about 290 $US.
The Location itself was well positioned and One can easily Walk to China town, Little italy(where we have taken Irish coffee from the jar, yes from the jar !,,i have Never made such an experience. From there we took a Streich limousine for 7 $US each, Not that expensive.
The hotel has a Good Kirchen and the breakfast was excellence, but again Not Chess which means 30$US inclusive tip (coffee, freshly squeezed Orange Juice \ delicious and egg Benedict on two Toasts inclusive potatoes).
The Gym was nice as well and the SPA too.
So ist Dependance on you and on your Budget to decide.
Have a Good Time

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noerten40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia N, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hi Noerten40,
We really appreciate your feedback! I'm pleased to know that overall you had a good time with us and I'm sorry for the little things that you didn't find as expected. There is a fee for in-room internet access, but in the Living Room area and on the Second Level, you can access the internet at no cost. We also provide complimentary coffee makers upon request and we are actually in the process of getting all of our rooms equipped with the latest models of coffee makers on the market. As you mentioned too, the hotel is conveniently located and I'm glad that you enjoyed our rooms, our delicious breakfast as well as our gym facility and our famous Bliss Spa. Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back!
Kind Regards,
Claudia Nuta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#34 of 228 in San Francisco
2,874 reviews
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#61 of 228 in San Francisco
3,509 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 228 in San Francisco
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#8 of 228 in San Francisco
1,275 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
830 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#27 of 228 in San Francisco
4,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W San Francisco

Property: W San Francisco
Address: 181 3rd St, San Francisco, CA 94103-3107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the SoMa district, and neighbors with the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, W San Francisco faces the beautiful Yerba Buena gardens and is a short walk to Union Square's shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
w Hotels San Francisco
w Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing