We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, good room service, good location”
Review of W San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W San Francisco
Ranked #66 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great room, good room service, good location”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Booked a Sun nite at this hotel at a great AAA "hot deals" rate of < $200. Stayed in a Fabulous Room on the 22nd floor, which turned out to be a corner room with a corner nook-style sitting area. Had a good night's stay and I plan to stay here again on future visits to the area.

Room
---
Loved the room -- like most Ws, modest in size (but not cramped) yet stylish, with an excellent bed, and a sitting area under the corner windows that was flooded with light. The corner windows had Charleston-style shutters, as did the large window in the hallway from the front door into the BR. The room was bathed in natural light -- I'll def. try to get a corner room again in the future.

Had a great night's sleep in the king bed.

The BA was in good shape, though the water pressure in the shower was fairly weak. (I really enjoy a high pressure shower so perhaps my standards don't apply to others.) Usual Bliss toiletries and an abundance of towels.

Service
---
I didn't require much on the way of service from the hotel. I ordered room service for dinner, which arrived in a timely manner and was delicious. I used the Acura car service for a lift to the Ferry Building. That's about it. Check in and check out were smooth and were devoid of the bad attitude that sometimes infects the staff at the Ws in NY.

Hotel facilities
---
I didn't use any facilities but will comment on what I saw. The Living Room area is right by the hotel elevators and has lots of seating for conversation. There is a large bar beside the Living Room and beyond that is the hotel restaurant Trace. There is also a mezzanine area above the Living Room; I didn't venture up there.

Location
---
A great SoMa location, beside the SFMOMA, the Moscone Center, very short walks to Market St, Union Sq, AT&T park, the Embarcadero. An easy 10 min walk from the Montgomery BART stop on Market St. Several other hotels are nearby -- the St Regis is practically next door on 3rd and the Four Seasons, Marriott Marquis and Palace Hotel are within 5 min walks.

Misc
---
This hotel is primarily geared to business travelers or the typical W client (singles and childless couples). I think it would work fine w/older children, w/kids 9-10 and above.

Room Tip: High floor corner rooms have good views over SoMa and receive lots of natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjeev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia N, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hi Cantab Cambridge_MA,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed, nicely organized review. I'm sure a lot of travelers will find it useful. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed our convenient location, our stylish room decor and all of our amenities. I'm glad to hear that you'll be back and we are looking forward to your next visit!
Warm Wishes,
Claudia Nuta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    867
    723
    321
    134
    78
See reviews for
246
606
152
736
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Last week I stayed at the W for one night. I checked in and they took my debit card, per the usual, for any incidentals that may have been charged to the room. During check-in however, they forgot (or overlooked) to mention a tiny little caveat-- that $200 would be taken out of my bank account automatically and would not be reimbursed for 5-7 business days....seemingly called a "Pending Authorization". That's funny-- because I never authorized it! I've stayed at plenty of hotels and have never had this happen. I think it's a very shady way to do business and incredibly deceptive. I pay my fair share for the room-- $260 + tax AND they take $200 on top of that. Just want to also mention that there were no room charges. Very sketchy IMHO. Needless to say I'm still waiting to be reimbursed!

With regard to the hotel, it was fine I guess. Our room was located on the upper floors facing south-east, so there were great views of the Bay Bridge and the bay. But the room itself was really small. I can't imagine that it was more than 200 sf, even though advertised between 300-400 sf. The design is very trendy/hipster-- it's not for everyone. I did appreciate that the hotel is LEED certified and very eco-conscious. Bar scene downstairs on a Friday night was hopping. I didn't have enough time to check out the spa, restaurant or workout room. The location itself is right downtown business district and next to the SFMOMA, so it's a great location if that's where you want to be.

All in all, a decent enough stay-- I'm just pissed about having my debit card charged $200 without me even knowing about it.

Room Tip: I prefer views of the Bay rather than views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lydia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia N, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hi Lydia F,
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay at the W. I sincerely apologize for the big inconvenience caused by your debit card funds being blocked due to our authorization request. It is specifically required for that aspect to be communicated to our guests upon check in especially when using a debit card for incidentals as it does work differently than a credit card to the extent that the system takes an actual hold of the funds. I am so sorry for the miscommunication, I have already informed our Welcome Office managers of this incident and they will make sure all agents are communicating the right information to our guests. On a positive note, I am very glad that you have enjoyed our amazing views of the Bay Bridge and thank you for the appreciation shown towards our LEED certification. I hope you do give us another shot in the future and please don't hesitate to contact me directly if you plan to come back as I would like to personally make sure that your next stay with us is memorable!
Thank you for choosing W!
Warmest Wishes,
Claudia Nuta
claudia.nuta@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
258 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My favorite thing about staying at W Hotels is the customer service. These people really take care of you, everything from handing us water bottles when we picked up our car in Valet to recommendations for dining & directions, the W Concierge service is like no other I've ever seen. I also love the large seating areas on the first and second floors of this hotel. There's plenty of comfortable places to sit and plan your day, and there's always coffee, water, cocoa, or tea available for guests. The rooms are spacious, clean, and modern without being stuffy. I'm a big fan of the W San Francisco!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of the bay bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia N, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hi Melody B,
What an amazing review! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are so proud and thankful for your compliments on our level of customer service as it is so important for us to treat our guests to the best of our abilities. I am so glad to know that you enjoyed our rooms, the decor and all of our amenities. Thank you for choosing W and we are looking forward to welcoming you back!
Kind Regards,
Claudia Nuta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

We are a family with two kids, and always stay at other big hotels when in San Francisco, but this time we tried W since it's across from Yorba Buena Garden (lots of kids stuff), next to SFMOMA, and has a swimming pool. I think for a major city hotel in US, having a pool is not only luxury, but also a rarity but it helps tremendously when traveling with kids.
Location was not too bad, but their main entrance has almost nonexistence, our limo driver had hard time pulling the car in and getting help for our luggages upon arrival.
Room was good. Thoughtfully designed and decorated, and had a nice little nook for naps, reading... with amazing view of the city.
Dining was okay. Only had breakfast each mornings, menu is limited, and food was okay. Nothing to rave about though. Service at the restaurant was very good.
On our last night, we had some serious noise problem coming from our neighboring room. We waited for about 20 minutes, then had to call front desk, and the issue was resolved, but it was horrible and extremely uncomfortable experience. No one wants to stay at a hotel where inconsiderate, rude, and loud guest stays. I will less likely to recommand this hotel to close friends and family, we definitely will not return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IVsystem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline F, Guest Relations Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hello, and thank you for writing a review on your recent stay! I am glad you took advantage of our pool facilities! We love having a unique feature like an indoor pool right in the heart of San Francisco. Also happy to see that you enjoyed our guestrooms and the view!

I am sorry to read about your experience with noise from the neighboring rooms, our downtown urban location can make for a very busy hotel, but glad that our team resolved the issue for you. If you do come back to San Francisco, we hope you will reconsider choosing to stay with us, and will do everything we can to ensure your stay is enjoyable and relaxing.

Thanks again,
Caroline F, W San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed at the W for one night and had a wonderful view from a corner room. We liked the up tempo design. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The food and drinks at the bar exceeded our expectations. All and all we had a good time.

Room Tip: conner rooms have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george91206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia N, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hi George91206,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your W experience and that you found everything up to your expectations or exceeding your expectations in some cases. Here at the W, we really do have amazing views, modern rooms, delicious food, unique drinks and of course the friendliest most accommodating staff. We always impress our guests by going above and beyond to grant their wishes! Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back!
Kind Regards,
Claudia Nuta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I recently spent our 41st wedding anniversary at the W in San Francisco (have stayed at this hotel before). We love San Francisco and the staff at the W make it even more pleasurable. Both times we stayed in the corner room with a beautiful view. The special attention given to us from the W staff because of our special day made it very memorable. Even when it is not a special day, the staff is always outstanding. We are planning to go back this summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Happy Anniversary! Thank you for spending it with us in San Francisco! We love sharing special moments, and it sounds like it went great!

Can’t wait to welcome you back again this summer, we appreciate the continued visits!

Have a fantastic day,
Brad W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Having been to SF many times, I have stayed at this property on several occasions and it never disappoints. This time around, I took my family to SF during Superbowl weekend and stayed at the W for a couple of days. The service and cleanliness was excellent and the location is perfect ( close enough to Union Sq but not smack dab in the middle of it ).

We will be back :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia N, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hi Gman M,
It's always so wonderful to hear from our returning guests with such amazing comments! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a good time with us during the SuperBowl and that you have enjoyed everything - from our convenient location to our top-notch service and flawless rooms. Thank you for your loyalty and we are certainly looking forward to welcoming you and your family back to the W SF!
Warm Regards,
Claudia Nuta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#34 of 228 in San Francisco
2,872 reviews
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#61 of 228 in San Francisco
3,505 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 228 in San Francisco
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#8 of 228 in San Francisco
1,274 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#22 of 228 in San Francisco
829 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#27 of 228 in San Francisco
4,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W San Francisco

Property: W San Francisco
Address: 181 3rd St, San Francisco, CA 94103-3107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the SoMa district, and neighbors with the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, W San Francisco faces the beautiful Yerba Buena gardens and is a short walk to Union Square's shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
w Hotels San Francisco
w Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing