We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of W San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W San Francisco
Ranked #69 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 9, 2013

If you've never stayed at a W, you are in for a possible surprise. I don't mind the W Hotels but my parents would hate it. The lobby/bar area becomes a "night club" at night. They had a dj and such. Doesn't bother me and ever though its loud, you cannot hear it in your room. That's nice.

Service was polite and helpful. The rooms were comfortable yet trendy. We had a corner room and the view was amazing. Quiet too and no street noise.

Not far from the financial district. A walk to the trolley and there are taxis everywhere so that's helpful. I would stay again.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us in San Francisco!
Our Living Room Bar is definitely a prime spot to grab a drink, especially on weekends. It is great to hear that you would return, I know we are looking forward to it.

Have a great day,

Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,217 - 1,223 of 2,191 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

I spent 4 nights in W Hotel, which is situated almost in the center of San Francisco, CA. First impression was very good - personnel was friendly and smilling and the decor was tasteful and inspiring. Standard rooms with tv, bar and clean bathroom are also a big plus. The best was the view of the downtown and the Bay you could watch day and night sitting on large windowsill. Food served in restaurant was delicious and portions were big enough.

Room Tip: Rooms on the downtown-side of the building, the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artur K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Hello, and thank you for staying with us for four nights! It sounds like you had a great visit, and we hope to welcome you back next time.

TRACE, our farm to table restaurant, is definitely a guest favorite, and I am pleased to see you had the chance to dine there. We are currently featured local Rooftop Honey straight from our beehives on the roof, and I hope you had the chance to try some!

Thank you again,
Brad W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Still one of the best if you need to be near the Moscone Center. The rooms are very well designed, internet access is free, the staff are exceptionally helpful and there are always taxis available. This is also as close to the Moscone Center as it gets. Rates may vary depending on the conference arrangements.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHK44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thanks for the kind review! We do see a ton of conference guests at W San Francisco, and I am glad you enjoyed your time with us!

With our location right across the street from Moscone, it is very convenient for guests to walk over. I hope we can welcome you back for a leisure trip at some point in the future as well!

Sincerely,
Brad W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was a return visit to W San Francisco. The first stay was in 2000... The first stay in 2000 was great. I was not disappointed this time either.

The location is great in the Financial District South. I got a great room on the 30th floor view of MOMA.

It's a design hotel, with a nice reception, lobby, bar etc. The room are great etc. But the best thing as at other W's is the bed. Can it be better beds? I don't think so.

The restaurant is good, and you have several options in walking distance.

The only negative thing - why do I need to pay for internet connection in the room but not in the lobby and restaurant?

Room Tip: High floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PEI-Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia N, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Hi PEI - Sweden,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to hear that you had a good time with us and that you have enjoyed everything from our convenient location to our room decor and the delicious food we serve at Trace. I'm sorry to know that you were inconvenienced by our in-room internet fee - please feel free to contact me directly next time you visit and I will make sure we make it up to you. I'd also like to mention that we have recently updated our comfortable beds with even more comfortable mattresses so we are looking forward to welcome you back!
Kind Regards,
Claudia Nuta
claudia.nuta@whotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Loved the ambiance and experience. The room was a little small, but that was expected of SF hotels. They do charge a parking fee of $50 if you park in the hotel. Anyone with family should consider going there.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank markymarkeecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Hello, and thank you for sharing your review of W San Francisco! Our WHEELS valet offers a convenient way to park in the city, and is very competitive with our neighboring properties. While there are self-park options available near the hotel, including the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art parking lot just around the corner, parking can be challenging at times in the electric heart of downtown San Francisco.

I do hope we can welcome you back to San Francisco soon.

Sincerely,
Brad W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed here in January and had a great time. Located in downtown San Francisco, this hotel has a live bar and rooms clean and relaxing. Get a room with a view. We stayed on the 30th floor and had a beautiful view of downtown San Francisco.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia N, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Hi Travelbug650,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the W San Francisco. It's so great to hear that you had a good time with us and that you enjoyed our fabulous rooms and views!
We appreciate your kind feedback and we are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back!
Kind Regards,
Claudia Nuta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Staying at a W is always a plesant experience,and this downtown stay didnt fail to delight.
I got a corner room with a gorgeous city view, and ate room service for a few meals and was not disapointed.
Stay for the excellent customer service, prompt attention to detail and issues, and to have great access to some interesting eye candy drinking in the lobby.
The easy access to the Sony Metreon complex and SF Moma makes this hotel a great location.
Claudia at the front desk made the checkin fast and enjoyable too!
Make sure to request a corner room high up, because there is a fire station around the corner that can get loud and busy with sirens at times.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shivaswrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to provide us with this review of your recent stay!

The Cool Corner rooms are one of my favorites, and I am glad you enjoyed them too. Thank you for the compliments regarding Claudia, we will be sure to let her know!

I hope we can see you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Brad W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
2,986 reviews
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#6 of 230 in San Francisco
1,321 reviews
SoMa
The Park Central San Francisco
The Park Central San Francisco
#63 of 230 in San Francisco
3,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#23 of 230 in San Francisco
1,316 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
882 reviews
SoMa
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
#14 of 230 in San Francisco
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W San Francisco

Address: 181 3rd St, San Francisco, CA 94103-3107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $222 - $757 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the SoMa district, and neighbors with the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, W San Francisco faces the beautiful Yerba Buena gardens and is a short walk to Union Square's shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your W San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
w Hotels San Francisco
w Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing