We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good for money, but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Ranked #103 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
473 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
“Very Good for money, but.....”
Reviewed January 26, 2011

I went back to this quaint hotel on Bush because I lived there for a month about 15 years ago and found it perfect for my needs and I could walk to work.

The room I had this time was on 6th floor. It was fine and bed was comfortable, but it was small and suited only for one person.

During cold weather, the room was cold and it took me two nights to figure out how to get the baseboard heaters to work,.

Flat screen TV was great.

Hotel has new management and isn't what it once was, at least not to me.

It is still a good buy and in a good location.

However, the building is old and creaky. I was worried about fire as there are no fire escapes.

The floors above and below me creaked when anyone walked on them.

My only window was on an alley that apparently had trash pickup at 5 or 6 a.m and it was noisy and continued for a long time.

One elevator isn't enough for six floors.

Front desk service was excellent.

Parking arrangement with nearby garage was okay, but $30/nite, which is more than the city garage a block away.

Internet service was fine.

Nearby cafe had good breakfasts and just a two minute walk across the street.

At check out they refused to give me a reciept to show that I had paid for the room, saying that I had to go to the third party that I booked through. This is annoying and makes any issues I might have had impossible to resolve on the spot. I still don't know what it cost me other than parking.

I guess the bottom line is that nothing is ever the same.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjstives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvcsf, General Manager at Executive Hotel Vintage Court, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
As the General Manager of the hotel I thank you for your review. And, although everything was not all that you remember from your stay 15 years ago, it seems like you enjoyed your stay. I would however just like to comment that the hotel is VERY SAFE and has both a front fire escape exterior walkway as well as a back of hallway staircase that exits to our alley. The hotel is also current with San Francisco's Fire Department Codes and Regulations. Fire sprinklers and an very modern fire life safety emergency call panel has also been installed, so if there ever was a fire, it would be extinguished with the fire department automatically notified at the same time to be at the hotel with minutes.

Regarding the heaters, I apologize that you were not informed of the heat controls earlier in your stay. I will note this for our staff to inform guests on chilly nights "how to" turn on the heaters.

Parking rates are a premium in the city and our hotel parking fee is among the lowest in the city. Parking can range well above $40 a day at most Union Square Hotels. Parking in self park public garages may be ok for some at a bit lower cost but they are not secured, insured or surveyed by security. Hence, if something happened to your vehicle under our parking garage we would make sure the incident was covered through insurance.

Noise from local garbage pick up is unfortunately the process of city life and city dump truck. Our evening staff does take the garbage to the street curb, but the garbage process the two nearby buildings as well as the hotel can be long and unfortunately never quiet with metal dumpsters.

Lastly, yes unfortunately booking through most On-Line Internet Travel Agent companies the guest is the only one that is able to get the receipt for the payment of the room. The hotel is only paid by these companies after a guest stays and the rates are suppressed and only reconciled through an exchange account. In the future, if you would like a complete bill for all room and tax as well as incidental fees on one receipt it is best to book directly with the hotel.

Most hotel direct bookings are now cheaper than a third party internet company. So, if you take the time to call the hotel direct to reserve a room you can save BIG. Hotels have been known to pay up to 35% of your room rate to these online travel companies.

Save 25% to 35% and book direct from now on!

Thank you again for your stay and comments, it helps everyone understand a bit more of what to expect too.

Sincerely,

The General Manager
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    469
    230
    102
    63
See reviews for
137
485
73
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

I found this hotel be an excellent value for the price point. It is within walking distance of public transportation, shopping and restaurants. I would definitely stay there again. For more information on this hotel and travel to San Francisco go to: http://www.suite101.com/content/san-francisco--travel-tips-a333599

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cspoltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvcsf, General Manager at Executive Hotel Vintage Court, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Thank you for the great feedback, and issuing a link to local blog from a travel writer’s website! It is great to know and share that our Executive Hotel Experience met your expectations! We look forward to hosting your stay once again when you travel to San Francisco!

Sincerely,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2011

As others have stated, this is a great location--on the cusp of Chinatown and just a few easy blocks from Union Square. The price is decent, about $50 below what we normally would otherwise pay. When my wife stay in SF, we usually choose another hotel (which, to be decent, will remain unnamed). The only reason we choose Executive was that it's close to the Ritz-Carlton (we were meeting up with someone who was there for a week; we were there for only one night and wanted something as close as possible).

If we had to do it again, we would've gone back to the usual hotel in Union Square area. The walk to Ritz would've been a bit farther, but would've made up for the uncomfortableness of Executive. The bedroom didn't have central heating, the bathroom was tiny (I mean, TINY!) and gave the room a musty smell. My wife and I were given a room with two fulls (which isn't a problem) but each bed came with only two pillows. We used the pillows from the other bed but all four were extremely soft. Stacking one pillow on the other still felt like sleeping on one.

And the noise. We could clearly here people across the hall and the street noise was very loud. It was impossible to sleep.

I have to say: the towels were nice and soft.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmvu13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Isle, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Got a great deal on Travelzoo for this boutique hotel. Wonderful location, clean comfortable room, excellent service. Noise not a problem. Will come here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blwtrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvcsf, General Manager at Executive Hotel Vintage Court, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Great to know the Executive Hotel Vintage Court was perfectly fitted for your travel needs! I thank you for your feedback and the hotel looks forward to hosting your stay once again when your ready to visit San Francisco! Also, be sure to check directly with the hotel for our best value return guest rate too!

Sincerely,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

This hotel is two blocks from Union Sqaure - so a great location if you want to be right near the shops. The rooms are not huge but are clean and fresh and nicely decorated. On the day of check-in, and with a migraine making my life a misery, the manager noticed my illness and put us straight into a room three hours before scheduled check-in. The few other occasions we interacted with the front desk the service was excellent.. I could hear little noise from the other patrons or traffic from my room - but I was not on the street side or near the stairwell. The nightly wine-tasting is a very nice touch. I would highly recommend this hotel to people who want to be in the hub of the shopping district. ps Check out the small Japanese restaurant just up Bush St. Excellent food and price!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uqshinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Not a bad hotel, nothing special but ideal for location for getting about San fransisco. Stayed in room near stairs and all could hear was peoples footsteps all night plus every night was awoken at 4.30am with the bins being collected outside, and they don't do that quietly I tell ya. Room pretty cold too as can feel the cold coming through windows and gaps around air con unit, lus heating not really too good either. Rooms are clean as maids do great job and really pleasant too, bathroom bit outdated but it's just a bathroom, bed is fine but bottled water sold at 6.50 dollars when just 1.50 dollars in shop around corner. If are heavy sleeper hotel will be fine, if not try somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazzadanazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for the AGU meeting for 8 days in the "executive room" with a king-size bed. The room was very clean and bed was very comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helped with directions, maps and public transportations. Location is ideal, just within 10 minutes to Union square. The famous Cable car / China town are just in front of the door. Then only thing bad was the WIFI internet connection in the room. It is not usable, which means you can expect interruptions every 2 minutes and it will take you forever to just send out an email. For those who needs Internet connection in their rooms not recommended. For those who doesn't, it is a great place to stay, although a bit expensive :)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xinxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#87 of 227 in San Francisco
567 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#66 of 227 in San Francisco
1,655 reviews
Union Square
Hotel 32One
Hotel 32One
#156 of 227 in San Francisco
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#84 of 227 in San Francisco
1,392 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#79 of 227 in San Francisco
1,119 reviews
Union Square
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
#88 of 227 in San Francisco
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Hotel Vintage Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Hotel Vintage Court

Property: Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Address: 650 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3509
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Hotel Vintage Court 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMBIANCE- Elegant, European-style AAA three diamond hotel, reminiscent of an inviting Napa Valley Inn - Intimate setting providing a high level of personalized service by a friendly and knowledgeable staff- Wine-themed hotel with each of the guestrooms adorned with names and artwork from California wineries- Warm and welcoming "living room" style lobby with fireplace and comfortable seating areas LOCATION- Historic 1912 building located on the Nob Hill side of Union Square - Two blocks from Union Square, San Francisco's finest shopping district- Less than one block from the Powell Street cable car line to Fisherman's Wharf- Two blocks from the ornate gate entrance of Chinatown and three blocks to the Financial District- Neighboring a wide variety of bistros, cafes and restaurants GUEST ROOMS - 106 spacious nonsmoking guestrooms on eight floors decorated to enrich the hotel's connection with the wine country- Penthouse suite with wood burning fireplace, view of city lights, original 1912 stained glass ceiling, and Jacuzzi tub - Writing desks, inlaid with outlets, in each guestroom - Telephone with extra-long cord, voice mail and data-port - Wireless Internet ( Wi-Fi )available throughout the hotel complimentary. Fully stocked honor bar in each guestroom - Hairdryers, irons and ironing boards in each guestroom - LCD Hi-Definition television with full cable, Nintendo and pay-per-view movies GUEST SERVICES - Wine reception by the fireplace in the lobby from 5 p.M. To 6 p.M. Each evening- Valet parking with in and out privileges for $48 plus tax per day, self parking for $35 plus tax per day- Concierge services available, offering preferred reservations at restaurants- Fitness room, open daily 6AM - 10PM, San Francisco Chronicle and USA TODAY newspaper. MEETING FACILITY - Private Boardroom with original stained glass ceiling with skylight from 1912 - Conference seating for 12 people or reception for 25 people - Drop projection screen in room, audiovisual equipment available upon request- Windows providing natural light and expansive city views Dining Room offers a Neo American Bistro and Bar. A new experience with dining is coming this summer for Evening Dinners. Our dining room also offers a light breakfast service is available daily from 6:30am to 10am in our dining room for hotel guests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Executive Hotel Vintage Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel San Francisco
Vintage Court San Francisco
Hotel Vintage Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing